Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

The Oldskool Appreciation Party - O.A.P's thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭BofaDeezNuhtz

aceberg wrote: »
    and this is a ****ing belter

Union Jack/Platy killed every track they touched man.
    2 full moons and a goldfish ftw :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,283 ✭✭✭Maysa07

jonnny68 wrote: »
    cant cant wait for the red records night in the button factory on the 27th, what set will you be playing Francois a waterfront Techno one:)

loads going to this should be a top night, as i very rarely go clubbing thesedays it'll be time to dust down the dancing shoes lol
    francois wrote: »
    I will indeed! :)

Fancy meeting for Pre-Drinks anyone??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,493 ✭✭✭francois

Maysa07 wrote: »
    Fancy meeting for Pre-Drinks anyone??

Yeah wouldn't mind

we will organize something when it gets closer.

• Registered Users Posts: 141 ✭✭craig_b

Can't believe this thread is still going strong fair play lads havn't been on this in years just thought i'd drop a post lol :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭jonnny68

yeah there's a few of us old skoolers meeting up for a few pints beforehand so will let yiz know lads :)

craig_b wrote: »
    Can't believe this thread is still going strong fair play lads havn't been on this in years just thought i'd drop a post lol :D

old skool not just for xmas mate, it's for life :D

summer of rave,halcyon days :)

hoping to get into oscars in christchurch (used to be called handels years ago) for about 9.30pm for pre club beers if your going let me know mate

set times for tonight, ,looking forward to your UFO classics set Francois, it's been a long time since heard stuff like this.:)

SET TIMES FOR A CELEBRATION OF RED TONIGHT.
    DOORS: 11pm (First 100 in get souvenir CD)
    11pm-11.45pm: LIAM DOLLARD (SIDES DC CLASSICS)
    11.45pm-12.30am: MK (RED RECORDS @ OLYMPIC SET)
    12.30am-1.30am: JK (ASYLUM & ORMOND ANTHEMS)
    1.30am-2.30am: FRANCOIS (ULTIMATE UFO SET)
    2.30am-VERY LATE: MARK KAVANAGH (UNKNOWN PLEASURES @COLUMBIA MILLS SET)

fu*k me what an incredible night that was , right out of the top drawer,im severly paying for it now jaws in bits lol, 20 years ago id still be out and on it lol, age really does catch up with you, take a bow Francois mate you smashed it last night,slamming techno, the whole night was brilliant, the tunes,atmosphere and laser show were all amazing, massive respect to Mark Kavanagh for putting this on.

folks im running a night on 17th January hope some if you can make it along, small intimate atmosphere.

jonnny68 wrote: »
    fu*k me what an incredible night that was , right out of the top drawer,im severly paying for it now jaws in bits lol, 20 years ago id still be out and on it lol, age really does catch up with you, take a bow Francois mate you smashed it last night,slamming techno, the whole night was brilliant, the tunes,atmosphere and laser show were all amazing, massive respect to Mark Kavanagh for putting this on.

Missed it, baby sitting issues and a sore back :(

@francois

are you playing anywhere over the new year?

@francois

are you playing anywhere over the new year?

Nothing on the radar for a while, Button Factory was a great buzz, pity Dollard didn't get much of a set as the band ran a bit late, I slowed things down a bit as the night was mainly trance, threw in a couple of classics-I am ready lifted the roof off the place, also threw on the hypnotist's House is mine at the end, for a bit of cheek :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

Nothing on the radar for a while, Button Factory was a great buzz, pity Dollard didn't get much of a set as the band ran a bit late, I slowed things down a bit as the night was mainly trance, threw in a couple of classics-I am ready lifted the roof off the place, also threw on the hypnotist's House is mine at the end, for a bit of cheek :D

Size 9? What a build up!

BaZmO* wrote: »
    Size 9? What a build up!

Someone stuck a vid of it up on facebook

https://www.facebook.com/video.php?v=948965248464642&set=o.477319682409678&type=2&theater

That looks deadly. Love the lights, especially when the colour lasers kick in.

The lasers were absolutely brilliant and the best I've seen in many years in Dublin.

Liam Dollard looked a bit pissed off alright what was that about?

brilliant night though, that's me for a long long time now, im running my own night in a few weeks but ill be too busy running around on the night between the door,dj's,etc to be on the dancefloor all night.

I have about 5 videos on my phone looks brilliant i must upload them to youtube.

• Subscribers Posts: 8,322 ✭✭✭Scubadevils

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,145 ✭✭✭lolo62

I don't know how to link but guru josh the one with the saxophone...so amazing

I was in temple bar one day and came across a live band playing that tune and some random guy dancing like a madman (totally sober) with a crowd around him
    It restored my faith in the human race

• Registered Users Posts: 85 ✭✭Steo32

lolo62 wrote: »
    I don't know how to link but guru josh the one with the saxophone...so amazing

I was in temple bar one day and came across a live band playing that tune and some random guy dancing like a madman (totally sober) with a crowd around him
    It restored my faith in the human race

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tBxKRrjGWPU

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,145 ✭✭✭lolo62

lolo62 wrote: »
    Thanks but how do you get it to show the video?

I meant this one

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xVJ7KQPoNMM&feature=youtube_gdata_player

i am trying to work that out myself Lolo62 its been a while :)

<iframe width="420" height="315" src="//www.youtube.com/embed/41IMFAhEJs0" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Steo32 wrote: »
    i am trying to work that out myself Lolo62 its been a while :)

<iframe width="420" height="315" src="//www.youtube.com/embed/41IMFAhEJs0" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Ha, what a tune. Haven't heard this in a long time ! Nice one Baz

• Registered Users Posts: 53 ✭✭NameThatTune

Hi all, are there any old skool nights coming up in Dublin? I saw a few advertised intermittently last year but never managed to go

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭abarkie

Hi all, are there any old skool nights coming up in Dublin? I saw a few advertised intermittently last year but never managed to go

You missed this then :mad::

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057351039

• Registered Users Posts: 53 ✭✭NameThatTune

Balls, were you at it? Was it a good night? What sort of age group was at it? I'm nearly 40 so would hate to turn up and it be full of teenagers!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,393 ✭✭✭DarkyHughes

I was happy with this one. Hope others enjoy & give some feedback

http://www44.zippysh...SUW5K/file.html

1. Kaycee - Like This
    2. Taucher - Waters (Jan Driver Remix)
    3. Global Control - Crazy (KGB Energize Mix)
    4. Greenfield - Silence
    5. Team Deep - Morning Light
    6. Justin Garret - There Must Be Music
    7. E. Picard - Get Up (Don Esteban Remix)
    8. JS16 - Love Supreme (Tall Paul Mix)
    9. DJ Quicksilver - I have A Dream (De Donatis Mix)
    10. Moonman - Don't Be Afraid (Original)
    11. Mind To Mind - Music Is My Life
    12. K.K. Systems - House Time is Anytime (Flying Trance Mix)
    13. Top Cat - Chicago (Pulp Victim Mix)
    14. Demonic Emotions - Stuck On A Space Trip
    15. Skinee - Work it
    16. Wild England - Golden (Libido Mix)
    17. Mystique - Senza Voice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭abarkie

Balls, were you at it? Was it a good night? What sort of age group was at it? I'm nearly 40 so would hate to turn up and it be full of teenagers!

Unfortunately not

I live in the UK and been to a few events like this and find that there is an age mix towards older clubbers - no doubt reminiscing :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,253 ✭✭✭Billy Mays

• Registered Users Posts: 360 ✭✭locked 1

I was happy with this one. Hope others enjoy & give some feedback

http://www44.zippysh...SUW5K/file.html

1. Kaycee - Like This
    2. Taucher - Waters (Jan Driver Remix)
    3. Global Control - Crazy (KGB Energize Mix)
    4. Greenfield - Silence
    5. Team Deep - Morning Light
    6. Justin Garret - There Must Be Music
    7. E. Picard - Get Up (Don Esteban Remix)
    8. JS16 - Love Supreme (Tall Paul Mix)
    9. DJ Quicksilver - I have A Dream (De Donatis Mix)
    10. Moonman - Don't Be Afraid (Original)
    11. Mind To Mind - Music Is My Life
    12. K.K. Systems - House Time is Anytime (Flying Trance Mix)
    13. Top Cat - Chicago (Pulp Victim Mix)
    14. Demonic Emotions - Stuck On A Space Trip
    15. Skinee - Work it
    16. Wild England - Golden (Libido Mix)
    17. Mystique - Senza Voice

can ye reload this wony work

it was my night mate and there was a mixture of all ages from 18 to 50, id say it was 75% old skool but some new stuff for the younger folk, brilliant night was had, we'll be having another one in the summer.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8Xh7z6jHmiA

ps i dont know what the **** that photo is in it lol and what happened to the original flyer

aceberg wrote: »
    have it on vinyl meself Paddy

like Gallow tree aswell

love this 1 aswell

Tis on a MW mix somewhere i think

Mixes well after Positive education if u can get it

That's actually not Gallow Tree. I have that record and think Gallow Tree is the best track on it, but for some reason all the videos of it on YouTube have the name but not the actual track. For years I've been saying that I'd put the right track up on YT but never get around to it.

Finally got around to uploading this. It's such a great track. Love the breakdown, especially the last one. Sounds amazing on a big system.

• Subscribers Posts: 8,322 ✭✭✭Scubadevils

Stunning bit of trance... mixed by Oliver Lieb.