Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Volta a Catalunya 2015 - General Thread ** Spoiler Tags Required **

• 23-03-2015 4:20pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,458 ✭✭✭✭

I haven't seen a thread for this....

2015 edition of the Volta a Catalunya starts today.

The startlist includes: Chris Froome (Sky), Alberto Contador (Tinkoff-Saxo), Alejandro Valverde (Movistar), Dan Martin (Cannondale-Garmin), Tejay Van Garderen (BMC Racing), Fabio Aru (Astana), Rigoberto Urán (Etixx-Quick Step), Romain Bardet (Ag2r-La Mondiale), Ryder Hesjedal (Cannondale-Garmin) and Warren Barguil (Giant-Alpecin).

Nico Roche is riding this as well.

There are 10-6-4 bonus seconds to the first three riders on each stage. The intermediate sprints each offer 3-2-1 bonus seconds.

7 stages in total, none are flat, but there is only one mountain summit finish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,458 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

Stage 1: Calella - Calella (191.1km)

Stage-1426531686.jpg

Completely bizarre situation going on at the moment. A three-man breakaway of Pierre Rolland (Europcar), Maciej Paterski (CCC) and Bart De Clercq (Lotto Soudal) have a 7 min 56 sec lead with 22km to go!!!

This pretty much means that the three-man breakaway will contest the overall GC for this race..... Pierre Rolland will probably win overall, followed by De Clercq.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,068 ✭✭✭✭neris

Stage 1: Calella - Calella (191.1km)

Stage-1426531686.jpg

Completely bizarre situation going on at the moment. A three-man breakaway of Pierre Rolland (Europcar), Maciej Paterski (CCC) and Bart De Clercq (Lotto Soudal) have a 7 min 56 sec lead with 22km to go!!!
    6 minutes back @14km.

commentator saying froome & contador be happy if they can have a gap of 4 minutes at the end of this stage :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,308 ✭✭✭quozl

Why does the breakaway have such a big lead?

quozl wrote: »
    Why does the breakaway have such a big lead?
    Basically all the other teams in the peloton didn't bother their arses to keep the gap down. And then when the lead became so big, no one wanted to do all the work to try and catch them. They have really cocked up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,235 ✭✭✭Solobally8

Thanks for the updates lads. Spoilers suck though! I bet I burn extra calories having to highlight them :D

Paterski wins the sprint. Start the clock now.

2 mins 40 gap

So Rolland has over 2min 40sec gap ahead of the other GC contenders

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,991 ✭✭✭el tel

Barring some bad luck oh his part, is it a foregone conclusion that Rolland has the race in the bag
    ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,526 ✭✭✭✭Darkglasses

el tel wrote: »
    Barring some bad luck oh his part, is it a foregone conclusion that Rolland has the race in the bag
    ?
    In my humble opinion, not at all. 2'40 is a decent head start but if Contador, Froome, Valverde, Uran or even Barguil are in top form and in the mood for it, they can make up the 2'40 and then some. Literally every stage has potential time losses for Rolland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,452 ✭✭✭TheBlaaMan

Paterski wins the sprint.

Wow. After finishing in the higher order in MSR yesterday that's an.........er..............em...........unbelieveable performance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,606 ✭✭✭MPFG

Well what a cock that was ...The parcour is not mountainous enough...the coverage with time gaps was dreadful (One camera on 3 leaders only relaying) , the comms was bad too ..(Kirby talk pish about Rolland and of course Roman Bardet who is his current obsession and continued to report the wrong time gap even though live online text was different ) and the teams made major mistake...SKY site saying the time went out to 14mins as teams fought about who should chase. I would have thought Movistar & Cannondale should have contributed , given Valverde& Dan Martin...serve them right if Rolland holds on to lead bit I doubt he will

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭pelevin

For what it's worth I hope Rolland manages to hold on for the win.

pelevin wrote: »
    For what it's worth I hope Rolland manages to hold on for the win.

Me too! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 673 ✭✭✭blobbie

Solobally8 wrote: »
    Thanks for the updates lads. Spoilers suck though! I bet I burn extra calories having to highlight them :D

Hit CTRL+A to highlight all and voila

Hard to predict who'll win today. It should be too hard for sprinters, but not hard enough for the big GC guys. Pierre Rolland and Bart De Clercq shouldn't lose any time here.

From cyclingquotes.com:
    ..... the stage has a nasty sting in its tail as the finale is a lot hillier. First the riders do a small climb before they reach the category 3 Alt de Montagut (2.1km, 4.5%, max. 7%) which summits 14.7km from the finish. After a short descent, the roads are gradually rising and the roadbook indicates that there will be a 3.8km section with an average gradient of 5.2%.
    The summit comes with 6.2km to go and then there’s a short descent before the riders hit a long, mainly flat section. The final 500m are slightly descending at an average of 2%. The finale is pretty uncomplicated with just two small turns between the 3km and 2km to go marks. The final left-hand turn comes with 1300m to go and from there it is a long, straight road to the finish.

Stage-1426531603.jpg

Dan Martin today or OGE rider ....but breakaway may do it also

Could be just the job for Caleb Ewan

MPFG wrote: »
    Dan Martin today or OGE rider ....but breakaway may do it also

Quite close to Girona so it would be great if Dan gave it a bash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,235 ✭✭✭Solobally8

blobbie wrote: »
    Hit CTRL+A to highlight all and voila

Great thanks, I never knew :D

Seemingly there will be no live TV coverage :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 591 ✭✭✭NBar

Seemingly there will be no live TV coverage :mad:

Why what's happened

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,762 ✭✭✭✭Inquitus

This race is always a shambles.

what the feck is going on? they pulled this stunt aswell last year. fortunatly then it was a friday and the E3 was on the other channel

NBar wrote: »
    Why what's happened
    Due to bad weather conditions we are unable to live broadcast the stage.

I think they will have coverage soon. On Eurosport player, one of the non commentary channels has coverage.

40kms to go with a group of 4 out front by 2'45".

Will add names when I see them.

117- GRmay,
    148 - Stamsnidjer,
    175 - Mas Bonet,
    138 - Bewley

31kms left

TV back now on Eurosport

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 523 ✭✭✭Mugser

Live coverage back on now.

Live coverage back.

Gone again?

Yup - and gone for the day as they go back to the live pictures ? ! ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,426 ✭✭✭wirelessdude01

And back again.

So it looks like we will just have the cameras at the finish line only.

Coming & going on Spanish TV...shambles

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,585 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

Is anyone else watching a South African gentleman talking about a sportive?

they/them/theirs

And so on, and so on …. - Slavoj Žižek

8km to go.

Peloton preet big is strung out...8KM to go

6km to go.

Where are ye watching this?

they/them/theirs

Brian? wrote: »
    Where are ye watching this?

Myself and MPFG just happen to be in Spain at the moment ;)

Valverde won (I think)

Most random collection of riders for a bunch sprint ever (bar Valverde and Rojas)

blobbie wrote: »
    Valverde won (I think)
    He did, in sprint finish! Seriously what the feck? How did Valverde just win a flat spint?

they/them/theirs

Their petrol is cheap, 1.139 a litre. 1.189 for diesel at the finish line Carrefour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,928 ✭✭✭letape

Is anyone else watching a South African gentleman talking about a sportive?

Still watching it :-)

GC - https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CA4DVU7VEAAG8g8.png
    Good to see Dan in a good position already. Nico will be working for the team leaders presumably

He did, in sprint finish! Seriously what the feck? How did Valverde just win a flat spint?
    He's actually really good in sprints if the pure sprinters (Cav, Kittel etc.) have been dropped. He's won a lot of one-day races and he's probably the best GC rider at sprinting.