Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fiat 110-90 repaint

• Registered Users Posts: 416 ✭✭scudster

thanks lads , stay tuned for more updates soon , i do believe there is black tape around the gear knob surely lol .

i was in ballyhaise ag college in 1989 and they were just after buying a brand new 110-90 and the gear knob was broke off it !!!!!

i also remember them getting a big agitator which had a propeller and it also blew the slurry back down to the back of the tank as well , the salesman recommended a 100hp tractor to run it so the new fiat was hitched up to it and she failed miserably !! a very shook well used ford 7000 turbo was wheeled in hooked up and ran the agitator for two days and nights straight , plumbed her up to a 500gl diesel bowser put a flat rev on her and walked away , she filled the place with black smoke but did the job , i can remember going up to the slatted shed at night and sitting watching her work and the whole manifold and turbo glowing bright red in the dark !!! to be honest i dont think she was any the good after that .

Never had any bother agitating with them. Must have been a beast of an agitator, maybe the salesman got it wrong. Would a 7000 be 90hp even?

• Registered Users Posts: 895 ✭✭✭greendragon3

scudster wrote: »
    Never had any bother agitating with them. Must have been a beast of an agitator, maybe the salesman got it wrong. Would a 7000 be 90hp even?

probably not even judging by how well worn this yoke was , there must have been something wrong with the fiat though because she should have been well able for it !!!:eek::(

so we started the cutting and wire brushing today , the brother is building up some of the areas with weld and then he will grind it back and treat with rust preventer and chemical metal before prepping for paint , any other areas that the rust has gotten through are to be cut out and replaced with new steel , the bits under each wing are really crispy so we ran out of steel today , more updates on Saturday .

padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20103_zpsgr7qco5q.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20104_zpsfadechvj.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20105_zpst6ssb4dj.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20106_zpsk3mqgdyt.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20109_zpsnfatgtkz.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20110_zps3vdsplcp.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20111_zpsiiotmes9.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20112_zpseyc3vhy7.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20113_zpsgjjasala.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20116_zpsdldpfwhs.jpg

padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20117_zpsn4gz1kks.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20118_zpsytd8ipzn.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20119_zps6zkhrgtr.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20120_zpsmi3cxxwo.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20121_zpswgimvhjt.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20122_zpsv3vl83a0.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20123_zpsv2yuazsf.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20124_zpsvrfp7oqr.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20125_zpsdbiffvrh.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20126_zps1jcdpeiw.jpg

just off the phone with john in seatsystems.ie in limerick , very sound man and a pleasure to deal with , after a lot of searching it turns out the grammar seat cushions were discontinued a few years back and are no longer available but fair play to john he has come up with an alternative that will get us out of bother without breaking the bank but will at the same time be very similar to what was originally fitted ,

makes you laugh that they would discontinue something like that with so many fiats still active around the world !! up until now the only other option apart from trying to get it re-upholstered ( which i have tried and failed on numerous occasions to get done and have been told by all upholsterers that it " cant " be done if the sponge is flittered !! ) is to shell out for a new seat and base which would run into savage money .

anyway stay tuned for more pictures and updates .

terry .

so today we had our electrician in to give the wiring a once over , the owner informed us that some of the gauges had stopped working and he traced the problem back to a large clump of wires lurking behind the bonnet , a lot of the joints were full of muck and corroded so i have some new joining blocks order to sort out this problem he is also going to fit a battery isolation switch and rear beacon , we also got stuck in to the rot that was hidden behind the mudguard extensions , we cut it all out and replaced it with new steel an d treated the whole area with rust preventor , this area will also be treated with body shuts and wax oil after painting , some pics .

padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20120_zpsmi3cxxwo.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20119_zps6zkhrgtr.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20118_zpsytd8ipzn.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20117_zpsn4gz1kks.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20116_zpsdldpfwhs.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20102_zpssgfskjf8.jpg

padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20153_zpsu0tqk5ew.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20145_zpsvuj5ffwe.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20143_zpsj0mu0t4p.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20141_zpsf0vygjjw.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20136_zpsjombwis6.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20135_zpssdoe7kln.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20134_zps6ti2ijws.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20133_zpsy2pqga4x.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20131_zpsksss22o1.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20130_zpsntmiv8tr.jpg

sorry the photos are coming up arseways , photobuket seems to be on its time of the month or something .

i got on the roof then and removed the air con pod and the sunroof , wee bit crispy around the rubbers but not bad considering ,

padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20138_zpsihbc9zjw.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20137_zpsfdhp0b0m.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20146_zps2dmrzixb.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20147_zpsuwzdttod.jpg

and a wee shot of the wiring .

padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20129_zpsayv5tfuh.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20129_zpsybe5htte.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20127_zpsedafuanv.jpg

and finally for today i started wire brushing the front axle getting her ready for paint .

padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20149_zpsdhjuncxd.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20155_zpswdb6pa6i.jpg

im missing a load of pictures they just wont load , ill try them again tomorrow

so its Saturday update time again , i got stuck into the rear wheels , wire brushing and sanding down by hand getting them ready for paint soon !!!

padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20175_zpsedogjf0t.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20176_zps9gotzr5a.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20182_zpsuhbbmkff.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20183_zpsbo8jlsaf.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20200_zpswo5iuw4t.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20201_zps6ly3zsbc.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20202_zpsmupfdzb6.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20203_zpsaytwo0sn.jpg

while the brother dragged all the loose bits outside for a good washing .

padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20184_zpsfycnsh8f.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20185_zpsczyxewz9.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20186_zpspotvetqn.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20192_zpszc0ct9zj.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20193_zpsycosqwmc.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20194_zpsuud1ob2s.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20196_zpspipsscot.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20197_zpskwlcslzs.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20198_zpswmo20f8j.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20199_zps5mufwlwp.jpg

we also made a new piece of steel for the battery tray , the old one was shot ! and he welded the frame on the main door that gets most if not all of the use , the frame was cracked at the top where it was getting strained .

padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20177_zpsbrzqijss.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20178_zpspcahxel9.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20179_zpsnih5ciaj.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20180_zps2djmfk0u.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20181_zpsidyosnyw.jpg
    Copy%20of%20padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20172_zpscfalocbu.jpg
    Copy%20of%20padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20173_zps8jlexirt.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20173_zpso8emsges.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20172_zpsvw6njqqv.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20174_zpsltu4u7gk.jpg

and finally for today we put chemical metal where any repairs had been done to the cab , this will be flattened out and a light skim of filler applied before the painting process begins .

padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20187_zps82jfbh5y.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20188_zpstey0tonz.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20189_zpsnz4t9so5.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20190_zpsrt4jacfh.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20191_zpsmx5jbziy.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 160 ✭✭Lazybones

Greendragon I am loving your work as usual!

The Fiat will look stunning when complete.

Looking forward to next weeks installments already! :-)

• Registered Users Posts: 402 ✭✭hawkeye_bmr

is the skull intentional?

padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20180_zps2djmfk0u.jpg

ha ha well spotted hawkeye ............:)

• Registered Users Posts: 11,194 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Another man with a "rescued" hospital bed!
    Got two in Felix Gormleys a few years ago.

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    Another man with a "rescued" hospital had!
    Got two in Felix Gormleys a few years ago.

yep , we have three of them , famous job for all the small bits or the wheels , saves the back .:)

update time , bit behind with this thread due to the site being down , ill try and keep ye up to date ,

so we put chemical metal where any repairs had been done to the cab , this will be flattened out and a light skim of filler applied before the painting process begins .

padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20187_zps82jfbh5y.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20188_zpstey0tonz.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20189_zpsnz4t9so5.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20190_zpsrt4jacfh.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20191_zpsmx5jbziy.jpg

today i spent most of the day prepping the front axle for paint , there was a bucket of grease hiding in all the nooks and crannies but she is all clean now , the electrician has fitted the isolator switch , yes it is upside down but that is for access when the side panel is on , he also fitted a new beacon mount to the rear of the cab

padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20205_zpsb3y9dg3k.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20206_zpsr2tk5k3l.jpg

so now we have most of the rubbing down nearly done so i started masking off the front axle and other bits ready for the chocolate , we also have the cab rubbed down and ready for primer just waiting on a few bits and it should be all systems go for paint on monday hopefully .

few pics .

padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20207_zpsvo5lxxro.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20208_zps5hzqlbhu.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20209_zpsohgskslt.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20209_zpsvzjpokqy.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20210_zps1fkjoc5w.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20211_zps0ipdf6ln.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20212_zpscf2fmg4s.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20213_zps6wj7zokf.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20214_zps4ljul23f.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20215_zpstroxcvjt.jpg

padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20217_zpshncfwlco.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20218_zpslc26dc8x.jpg

so its saturdays update time again and today we got all the panels and " terracotta " bits rubbed down and prepped ready for priming , we also got the back wheels masked off ready for same , some of the more eagle eyed of you will have noticed that i haven't tackled the front wheels yet this is because the owner is waiting on new tyres and we are waiting to break down the rims until the new tyres are fitted to avoid damaging the freshly painted rims afterwards if this makes sense , anyway pictures .

padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20221_zpsrvh09w6r.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20223_zpsxzc2qyjy.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20224_zpstp6svnac.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20225_zpsl8mhvwnw.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20226_zpsubxazazj.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20228_zpserunlhxd.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20232_zpsapkbozsr.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20233_zpsxo7sxzwb.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20234_zpsdrjrxnl9.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20235_zpsw2yja2u8.jpg

padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20236_zpspt6junbm.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20237_zpsw9n7ece7.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20238_zpstqlctmub.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20239_zps7sel3xkk.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20240_zpsyxouabh2.jpg

then when everything got a real good clean with panel wipe and tack cloths it was time to start priming , we use sparex " synthetic primer " all the time and find it great , its very forgiving but really highlights and bumps or blemishes that may have been missed during the rubbing down stage , more pics .
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20241_zpsi98rvb19.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20245_zpsf1gqpxdp.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20246_zpsnxn8kpcv.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20247_zpsn1qucben.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20248_zpsmcpiqxg8.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20249_zpsiolu52jq.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20250_zpsij1y4kvt.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20251_zpsuyrdhzdt.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20252_zpsbap2jysh.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20253_zpsn0c52bgm.jpg

padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20254_zpskhtqz2td.jpg