Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Freshers Week Gigs.

• 18-09-2009 10:50am
    Registered Users Posts: 244 ✭✭

Since I can't see a thread on it I said I'd start one.
    The Anybodies ,a pop rock 4 piece are playing the UCC old bar at 1pm on monday 21st Sept!
    I haven't the old bar gigs advertised anywhere so if anyone knows any others post them here!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,217 ✭✭✭CantGetNoSleep

So you have Felix da Housecat and Boys Noize playing in UCD, and the Anybodies playing in UCC? More great work from our SU there, well done lads

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,281 ✭✭✭Ricky91t

So you have Felix da Housecat and Boys Noize playing in UCD, and the Anybodies playing in UCC? More great work from our SU there, well done lads

Your point being?

Heard of none of those anyway...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 292 ✭✭quoteunquote

Ricky91t wrote: »

Pop rock/indie/college student-y type music isn't my kind of thing anyway. Might just chance the Cruiscin and see who's playing there instead. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 129 ✭✭baileyjackson

Boys Noize, UCD HERE I COME!!!

Ricky91t wrote: »
    Your point being?

Have you heard of the anybodies? Didnt think so, has anyone here?

But who here would want to go to Felix da Housecat if he played in the Old Bar?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,500 ✭✭✭ReacherCreature

Who the f*ck are those bands?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭itsallaboutheL

Have you heard of the anybodies? Didnt think so, has anyone here?

I have....

• Registered Users Posts: 4,277 ✭✭✭x43r0

Fred are playing the Pavillion on wednesday and Ian Van Dahl is doing the freshers ball

• Registered Users Posts: 606 ✭✭✭captainspeckle

I would love if fight like apes played.

they played in limerick last week..:(

• Registered Users Posts: 4,836 ✭✭✭deisedude

I have....

Yep me too seen them live too.

I would love if fight like apes played.

they played in limerick last week..:(

They always play cyprus avenue a few times a year so you should get a chance to see them. They were due to play in ucc at some stage last year but they pulled out

• Registered Users Posts: 606 ✭✭✭captainspeckle

yeah i heard that. friends had tickets to go and were gutted. i only got into em this summer, so hopefully they might pop up soon!

industry sound good... if they are the band i am thinking of

/edit... looked them up on youtube.

no. not the band i was thinking of!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,281 ✭✭✭Ricky91t

I could of got this totally wrong,But when i was in orientation Shelly from the SU said there'd be a big band playing at UCC,Something to do with the quad and some opera concert every year and they're going to get a gig there?

• Registered Users Posts: 244 ✭✭Brethitmanhart

CantGetNoSleep: Are you just a pessimistic person who twists things to make a point?
    Clearly a young band playing during lunchtime in the UCC old bar is not UCC's attempt to match UCDs main attraction, that's like saying Glastonbury had Bruce Springsteen and all Oxegen had was (Insert new bands stage act here).

I don't even understand why it was necessary to post that.

Anyway if anyone wants to post up gigs then please do!
    Does anyone know what bands are playing the other lunchtime gigs in Old Bar this week?

• Registered Users Posts: 902 ✭✭✭Cows Go µ

x43r0 wrote: »
    Fred are playing the Pavillion on wednesday

Oh oh oh! I love Fred! Will have to pick up tickets

• Registered Users Posts: 4,277 ✭✭✭x43r0

Cows Go µ wrote: »
    Oh oh oh! I love Fred! Will have to pick up tickets

Ya me too. Was at the acoustic gig they did on Fri night and it was fantastic

• Registered Users Posts: 7,046 ✭✭✭eZe^

Boys Noize playing UCC would be the best thing ever... :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 649 ✭✭✭Jeebus

Yeah, yer one from the SU said that they were in between choosing between two big bands for a gig on the quadrangle this year.

• Registered Users Posts: 329 ✭✭samf

Here's the official line up guys:
    MONDAY SEPT 21ST .

1pm – 2pm Gig ‘VIC’ Old College Bar

2pm - 4pm DJ Old College Bar

12pm – 3pm Dunk Tank Amphitheatre

8pm - 11pm Games Night Mardyke Bowling Complex ( Tickets € 5, includes unlimited pool, snooker, bowling, karaeoke, casino games and finger food)

11pm - 2 am Freshers Week UV Party Gorbys

Tuesday 22nd

1pm – 2pm Gig ‘ KEY WEST ‘ Old College Bar

12pm – 3pm Gladiator Amphitheatre

8pm Comedy / Hypnotist Boole IV
    (€ 5 - Michael McCoy )
    11pm – 2am School Uniform Party Gorbys
    11 pm - 2am School Uniform Party Classic

Wednesday Sep 23rd

1pm – 2pm Gig ‘ THE FLAWS ‘ Old College Bar

2pm – 4pm DJ Old College Bar

12pm – 3pm Hammer & Punch Bag Amphitheatre

8PM FRED Gig The Pavilion
    (Tickets € 15)

11pm – 2am Freshers Week ‘ 5th Avenue ‘ The Classic - € 5

11.pm - 2am Freakscene Freshers GORBYS - € 8

Thursday Sep 24th.

1pm - 2 pm Gig ‘ ANNETTE BUCKLEY ‘ Old College Bar

12pm -3pm Bucking Bronco Amphitheatre

8pm Pre Freshers Reception The Bailey

10pm - 2.00am Fancy Dress Freshers Ball @ Gorbys €8

10pm - 2.00am Freshers Ball @ Cubins € 15

( Featuring Ian Van Dahl and Industry )

Friday 26th

1pm – 4pm DJ ( Ken Perrott 96FM ) Old College Bar

Tickets for all SU evening events (games night, hypnotist, fred gig & freshers ball) available from SU Box Office ( next to Bank of Ireland ) Student Centre from Monday morning. As someone already said the daytime gigs are far from headliners, theyre local bands.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 529 ✭✭✭Homicidal_jesus

samf wrote: »
    Here's the official line up guys:
    MONDAY SEPT 21ST .

1pm – 2pm Gig ‘VIC’ Old College Bar

12pm – 3pm Dunk Tank Amphitheatre

8pm - 11pm Games Night Mardyke Bowling Complex ( Tickets € 5, includes unlimited pool, snooker, bowling, karaeoke, casino games and finger food)

11pm - 2 am Freshers Week UV Party Gorbys

Tuesday 22nd

1pm – 2pm Gig ‘ KEY WEST ‘ Old College Bar

1pm – 2pm Gladiator Amphitheatre

8pm Comedy / Hypnotist Boole IV € 5

( Michael McCoy )
    11pm – 2am School Uniform Party Gorbys
    11 pm - 2am School Uniform Party Classic

Tickets on sale SU Box Office ( next to Bank OF Ireland ) Student Centre

Wednesday Sep 23rd

1pm – 2pm Gig ‘ THE FLAWS ‘ Old College Bar

1pm – 2pm Hammer & Punch Bag Amphitheatre

8PM FRED Gig The Pavilion € 15

11pm – 2am Freshers Week ‘ 5th Avenue ‘ The Classic € 5

11.pm - 2am Freakscene Freshers GORBYS € 8

No tickets required. Pay at door.

___________________________________________________________________________________

Thursday Sep 24th.

1pm - 2 pm Gig ‘ ANNETTE BUCKLEY ‘ Old College Bar

1pm -2pm Bucking Bronco Amphitheatre

8pm Pre Freshers Reception The Bailey
    10pm - 2.00am Fancy Dress Freshers Ball @ Gorbys €8

10pm - 2.00am Freshers Ball @ Cubins € 15

( Featuring Ian Van Dahl and Industry )

Tickets on sale SU Box Office ( next to Bank of Ireland ) Student Centre.

__________________________________________________________________________________

Friday 26th

1pm – 4pm DJ ( Ken Perrott 96FM ) Old College Bar

sweet!

ah just wondering will you still get into gorbys and other clubs if your 17?

No its unlikely, all clubs in cork are at least 18+ and they'll be really strict on weeks like freshers week, so unless you look pretty old you'll just have to wait until your 18th birthday im afraid :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 529 ✭✭✭Homicidal_jesus

samf wrote: »
    No its unlikely, all clubs in cork are at least 18+ and they'll be really strict on weeks like freshers week, so unless you look pretty old you'll just have to wait until your 18th birthday im afraid :(

ah thats cool just so i wont waste money buying a ticket!18 in november anyway not to long to wait!

Cool, all afternoon gigs in the old bar aswell as the comedy hypnotist will be all ages events.

As for the gig on the quad that a few of you mentioned, this is a huge event we're hoping to pull off at the end of the year on the quad in ucc with a big name band but theres a lot of work still to be done and obstacles still to be overcome but if it goes ahead it promises to be an incredible gig.

• Registered Users Posts: 244 ✭✭Brethitmanhart

VIC aren't playing monday anymore, it's The Anybodies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 KarlMarx

Not exactly an epic week then!

eZe^ wrote: »
    Boys Noize playing UCC would be the best thing ever... :(
    Would never happen though, too many pr1cks around like the ones on this thread

• Registered Users Posts: 4,500 ✭✭✭ReacherCreature

Christ dude, that's totally uncalled for imo.

Agree with Reacher Creature totally. Just because someone doesnt share your tastes/views doesnt make them a pr1ck. Personally i'd rather eat **** than listen to crappy dance music

• Registered Users Posts: 7,046 ✭✭✭eZe^

It's just a little annoying that UCD can get alot of big names from all around Europe (Digitalism, Boys Noize), and we are stuck with some, albeit famous enough, Irish bands and typical skanger dance dj's.

There's a big difference between electronic music genres, it all isn't 'crappy dance music'.

Hopefully there'll be some good house at the DJ'ing in the oldbar.

eZe^ wrote: »
    It's just a little annoying that UCD can get alot of big names from all around Europe (Digitalism, Boys Noize), and we are stuck with some, albeit famous enough, Irish bands and typical skanger dance dj's.

There's a big difference between electronic music genres, it all isn't 'crappy dance music'.

Hopefully there'll be some good house at the DJ'ing in the oldbar.

Fair enough, just aint my cup of tea to be honest. I just took offence at being labelled a pr1ck for not liking that type of music