Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Primetime on Taxis

• 16-05-2011 10:14pm
    Registered Users Posts: 796 ✭✭✭

Scary stuff. I knew there was some element of dodgyness...but jaysus this is eye opening.
    I saw a 98 focus outside Connolly today and thought there could be no way that could take 3 passengers comfortably. But that is just me!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Corsendonk

Trust an Irishguy to be the dodgy NCT inspector.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭omahaid

That's shocking stuff, I'd hate to be working in that NCT centre tomorrow...

• Registered Users Posts: 796 ✭✭✭Johnnio13

You can fairly work out who they are too.

• Registered Users Posts: 199 ✭✭mystique150

I'm so mad watching this - considering how much we honest people pay to get our cars tested and retested and the testers will just pass it for a hundred quid! There will be a lot of questions to be asked after this...

• Registered Users Posts: 642 ✭✭✭salad dodger

Watching the NCT fiasco I dont know whether I'm disappointed or livid!!!!

omahaid wrote: »
    That's shocking stuff, I'd hate to be working in that NCT centre tomorrow...

Every centre it seems.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

Johnnio13 wrote: »
    Scary stuff. I knew there was some element of dodgyness...but jaysus this is eye opening.
    I saw a 98 focus outside Connolly today and thought there could be no way that could take 3 passengers comfortably. But that is just me!

Focus ain't that bad as a taxi. In Liverpool every second taxi is an old focus. Not as nice as a fine big merc, but capable of taking 4 passengers across town.

(what they call taxis are what we would call hackneys and vice versa)

WTF is Noel Brett on about "confidence in the system", full of ****e

P45 for that guy in the Roads Authoriaty, you can see it in his face.

Dont worry everyone, we've enough layers of bureaucracy so that no one will be held accountable.

He might get a job in AIB. 8 yes to pay back cash...system failures...?

• Registered Users Posts: 575 ✭✭✭irish147

that was shcking.,... the ntc

Waste of a fine carina2e. He could have used it as a taxi!

I'm walking from now on!!

• Registered Users Posts: 267 ✭✭rorymcgrory

This isn't really new news I'm afraid. I heard of 2 centers doing it in louth. Digusting carry on for a few quid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

Pretty bad stuff,feel sorry for the lad who was working as a bus driver and then driving a taxi afterwards,I'd say he has a lot of mouths to feed to be working that many hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,637 ✭✭✭Show Time

Pretty bad stuff,feel sorry for the lad who was working as a bus driver and then driving a taxi afterwards,I'd say he has a lot of mouths to feed to be working that many hours.
    I would be more worried he could fall asleep at the wheel of a bus after driving his cab all night.

• Registered Users Posts: 189 ✭✭LaBaguette

I didnt catch the first part of it, but what I saw was awful enough.

Also, I'm new to Ireland, and I can't figure what's with the massive amout of taxis in Dublin. During the day every other car is a taxi, and past 10pm you don't see anything else. Not how things are outside of Dublin, but that's just insane.

My guess is either they are here because of the massive amount of tourists, or some Celtic tiger thing where people have enough cash not to care about paying for it. Maybe ?

Also, love the casual racism of the first woman in Frontline.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,535 ✭✭✭Silentcorner

You have to remember that this is another "Primetime Investigates" even if they are telling the truth I refuse to believe any of it....such is my distain for their integrity...by all means watch the points that are made but ALWAYS question a "Primetime Special"!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

And if an Irish immigrant was doing this in New York his hard working spirit would be praised!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

And if an Irish immigrant was doing this in New York his hard working spirit would be praised!

Are you seriously condoning what that man did/is doing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,765 ✭✭✭Diddler1977

What went on in the NCT centre?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,126 ✭✭✭✭calex71

What went on in the NCT centre?

100 euro got a guy a pass for his fit for scap banger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,488 ✭✭✭✭Exclamation Marc

It's why I'm not arsed getting an NCT for my car, (2006 car).

I keep my car in great condition but that NCT "document" is not worth the paper its printed on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,126 ✭✭✭✭calex71

It's why I'm not arsed getting an NCT for my car, (2006 car).

I keep my car in great condition but that NCT "document" is not worth the paper its printed on.

Tell that to the judge :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,873 ✭✭✭Skid

No, I'm completely egalitarian on this.

I don't care where my bus driver is from - I don't want him or her driving a taxi all night and then falling asleep at the wheel the next morning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,156 ✭✭✭Iwannahurl

At least the Irish language is safe with the NCT. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,273 ✭✭✭Morlar

I watched some of the programme but not the whole thing. Did they mention the amount of ringer cars floating around ? ie same plate number on identical cars ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

This isn't really new news I'm afraid. I heard of 2 centers doing it in louth. Digusting carry on for a few quid.

Lad in the centre in Naas was fired for the same.. Seems to be rampant..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 Buscuits

The woman in Louth doing the school run in Louth.
    She took 13 children and only licenced ( not updated) to take 8 ( only 8 seatbelts ) in a 1997 hiace bus.
    Her excuse " im trying to save for a better bus"
    Cue big boat / yacht in driveway.

just out of curiosity im just wondering why the majority of the programmes' investigations occurred in dublin / north east? and yes, i have to agree with a previous poster who stated the first lady to speak on the frontline had a mildly racist opinion, you could tell she was holding herself back from saying what she actually wanted to say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭giant_midget

Buscuits wrote: »
    She took 13 children and only licenced ( not updated) to take 8 ( only 8 seatbelts ) in a 1997 hiace bus.

I was thinking the same thing! why not just sell the boat and buy a decent bus for yourself..stupid woman...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭giant_midget

...And who was that mutant of a man on the front line afterwards that made no sence and blinked really quickly...The taxi driver.

Then freak number 2 with the red hair and his eyes about 2mm apart from each other...:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

Corsendonk wrote: »
    Trust an Irishguy to be the dodgy NCT inspector.

:rolleyes:bribery is international, the MOT in the UK is rife with it

a few quid? €100 a car the guy last night was getting a tidy sum wouldn't you agree?

• Registered Users Posts: 980 ✭✭✭gabbo is coming

I was thinking the same thing! why not just sell the boat and buy a decent bus for yourself..stupid woman...

Priceless. She was a very stupid person. Surely she should be on some state benefit though??

fryup wrote: »
    :rolleyes:bribery is international, the MOT in the UK is rife with it

Source?

I've done a quick search online, and the most compelling media report dates from 1993: Illegal MoT trade '£7m a year'.

Priceless. She was a very stupid person. Surely she should be on some state benefit though??

In fairness she did have the decency to look extremely embarrassed and uncomfortable.

Our cultural of non-compliance with the law in this country has a direct relationship with our culture of non-enforcement, IMO.

We may not have the laziest and most useless regulators and enforcers in the world, but we're serious competitors in that league.

Just heard a taxi association rep speaking on the radio. He said he made repeated submissions to a succession of ministers (Harney, Cullen, Brennan...) about the problems identified on PrimeTime, and of course nothing was done.

AGS also have powers in this area, and could exercise them if they chose to do so. Garda officers strolling around on the beat could have a closer look at taxis if they wanted to.

Here's an example of a barely-regulated taxi rank. It's on Bridge Street in Galway City, where the taxi rank was a free-for-all for years. Lots of Garda officers passed by the mayhem every day, because Bridge Street was on their route to the city centre from Mill Street Garda Station. I lost count of the number of times I saw them sauntering and driving by blatant illegality, without so much as glancing at the offenders.

The Council's response to the rampant illegal parking was to install railings along one side. Then they created another taxi rank on the opposite side of the road. The messing and chaos goes on. Eyre Square/Kennedy Park, another location for taxi chaos, is frequently attended by traffic wardens and Gardai. I've seen both sets of enforcers standing, strolling and chatting there when they could be scrutinising taxis much more closely.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Worse than that, that vehicle was "licenced" for 5 plus a wheelchair. Even the smallest crash/collision would have injured those children who where standing up.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭philstar

You have to remember that this is another "Primetime Investigates" even if they are telling the truth I refuse to believe any of it....such is my distain for their integrity...by all means watch the points that are made but ALWAYS question a "Primetime Special"!!!!!

their integrity? when has their integrity been brought into question? please tell

i applaud programmes like this, the people who make this and esp the reporter show alot of backbone tackling these issues and its a pity there aren't more people like them in this country

philstar wrote: »
    their integrity? when has their integrity been brought into question? please tell

i applaud programmes like this, the people who make this and esp the reporter show alot of backbone tackling these issues its a pity there aren't more people like them in this country

Eddie Hobbs has made the point that regulators and enforcers typically ignore such problems until a media investigation forces them to take notice.

Hurray for the Fourth Estate, I say.

• Registered Users Posts: 40 ei8dqb

Kathleen Doyle has to go.
    1st She issue's Taxi Places but does not know how Taxi rank places are avalible.
    2nd She sets the agenda of metings to suit herand wont discuss worries of the Taxi Drivers if she does not like the agenda.

And with all the people on the dole. Why only 9 inspectors for 45.000 drivers.
    Its a joke
    Well done Paul Maguire

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,637 ✭✭✭Show Time

I would not be to shocked if she was.

Do you mean Kathleen Doyle should be sacked and put on the dole?

She's already in receipt of state payments, of course, though she has in the past refused to say how much.
    Commission for Taxi Regulation

Commissioner: Kathleen Doyle

Salary: "I am not at liberty to disclose such information."

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 92,470 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

No sympathy

First of a all a bus driver makes more than someone on social welfare.

Second he was in breech of contract by not informing DB of his other activities

As for mouths to feed, if they are in a western country then there is social welfare, if they are in a sub-saharan african country, then you have to understand that someone there who can drive is middle class and far from the breadline ( as an aside in africa taxi drivers prefer white customers, they pay better and tourists are far less likely to rob / kill taxi drivers )

considering how tough our immegration laws are I would consider it the height of stupidity to do anything that could get you deported

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 92,470 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

ei8dqb wrote: »
    And with all the people on the dole. Why only 9 inspectors for 45.000 drivers.
    Its a joke
    Well done Paul Maguire
    Compare that to an area where there is a tad more inspection and regulation

http://www.independent.ie/farming/news-features/high-levels-of-inspection-penalties-spurs-teagasc-to-launch-education-drive-2459458.html
    High levels of inspection penalties spurs Teagasc to launch education drive

One-in-five farmers inspected last year were penalised for not complying with nitrates rules last year
    Sheep farmers were the second most likely to be penalised.

Almost one in six were punished for not fully complying with the cross-compliance rules that govern EU farm payments.
    The average penalty imposed on farmers last year was €660, according to Teagasc's environmental specialist, Tim Hyde.

That's the EU taking a close interest, though, isn't it?

Regulation works, and in many ways the EU is our enforcer. I wish they had been more vigilant during the Celtic Casino years.

• Registered Users Posts: 74 ✭✭Medu

calex71 wrote: »
    100 euro got a guy a pass for his fit for scap banger.

Damn, that's expensive! I know someone that 'bribed' the NCT inspector with a few euro's! The person knew the car had 1 defect but decided to do the test to see if it had any other problems. Before going they cleaned the car and found a few euro's in change and put it in the cup-holder. To their surprise the car past the test but when they arrived home they noticed that the money was gone...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭easygoing39

In fairness there was nothing new on that programme that taxidrivers rep's have'nt been saying for the past 4 years.But alas,Mrs Doyle,Ger Deering and that slimey Minister Dempsey (37 taxidriver suicides while he was transport minister!!) have just ignored them.At now with a change in goverment things seem to be moving to make the taxi industry less of a circus.I wonder how much tax that double-jobbing scum Dublin Bus driver is declaring for his extra curriculum taxi earnings??