Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Hunger Strike in Maghaberry prison

• 14-09-2012 9:33pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,283 ✭✭✭

Has anyone heard anything about this? I saw this Facebook earlier but there's no media reporting on it?
    At the moment there is an on going hunger strike in Maghaberry prison. The media will not report this despite efforts to bring it to their attention both north and south of the border. Four men Tommy Hammil, Dessie Hammil, Austin Creggan and Mark McGilloway are currently thirty days into a HUNGER STRIKE. They are on HUNGER STRIKE because the prison services will not give them P.O.W. status and place them on a republican landing with fellow republicans. While they have been in prison they have also suffered threats on their lives from loyalist gangs. I have posted this status to create awareness of this situation and to prevent another black day in Irish history were Irish Republicans were left to die on hunger strike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 178 ✭✭Manco

A quick Google throws up this informative thread: http://www.politicalworld.org/showthread.php?t=12567&page=3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭BlaasForRafa

Leave them starve until they cop on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,483 ✭✭✭Fenian Army

afaik there is no hunger strike, but rather they are refusing to eat prison food (ie eating goodies from the tuck shop)

Quite stupid and embarrassing all round tbh... the lads in questions are real sinn fein aligned... RCIRA or some nonsense

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,523 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Anything these people do to reduce their own life expectancy is absolutely fine with me.

Scrap the cap!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,693 ✭✭✭Laminations

From reading the politicalworld thread:

1. They claim they were arrested on political crimes. They were arrested for terrorist activity, weapons possession and robbery.
    http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/ne...-16104573.html Two are on remand for allegedly robbing a filling station i January and weapons charges. Dessie Hamill, Austin Creggan

See also Pair accused of robbery ‘engaged in terrorist activity’, court told http://www.tyronetimes.co.uk/news/lo...told-1-3971108

8 court appearances but case not progressing ......

2. With at least 8 court appearances their time on remand seems to be down to them not recognising the jurisdiction of the courts and frustrating the process.

3. They blame the 'British' prison officers for not moving them when in reality it is fellow 'republicans' CIRA who object to them being placed on the republican landing. Moving to that landing doesn't seem to be an option. Do they want the prison guards to force the other republicans to accept their splinter group and be friends with them?

Just because these men claim to be republicans does not mean SF should have to comment on them or defend them. So terrorist sympathisers will use SFs silence on this as further ammunition to undermine their republican convictions. Feck if the men claimed to be FGers would FG be expected to defend them?

SF, if they feel the need to comment should say 'we don't represent these men and their criminal terrorism. A peace process is in place and common criminals cannot be protected from the consequences of their actions by flying some pseudo- republican flag'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

Real Continuity IRA? Just when you think the current litany of armed groups can't get any thicker...

• Registered Users Posts: 1 CHERNOBY

theres no real continuity ira they are to different groups u gob****e
    you have RIRA AND CIRA WAT R YOU GABBN ON ABOUT REAL CONTINUITY IRA ?:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,541 ✭✭✭Gee Bag

CHERNOBY wrote: »
    theres no real continuity ira they are to different groups u gob****e
    you have RIRA AND CIRA WAT R YOU GABBN ON ABOUT REAL CONTINUITY IRA ?:P

Maybe you didn't get the memo, this is what he means...

http://www.guardian.co.uk/uk/2012/jul/26/ira-northern-ireland-dissident-republican-groups

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,565 ✭✭✭southsiderosie

MOD NOTE:

I would like to remind posters that this forum is not the place for stream-of-consciousness one-liners, personal insults, or text speak. Please be mindful of this before you hit "submit reply".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,486 ✭✭✭Brussels Sprout

afaik there is no hunger strike, but rather they are refusing to eat prison food (ie eating goodies from the tuck shop)

Dying from starvation is so last century-these guys are hoping to get diabetes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 309 ✭✭haulagebasher

Utterly pathetic. These scumbag republican sympathisers can starve for all I or anyone else cares. Still, I guess we'll have the usual suspects like the CSM and Solidarity books here in Cork and every other crack leftist and republican group banging on about "POWs" and they'll be flypostering about it and organising stupid protests and so forth because of this.

Rediculous stuff.