Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Formula 1 2014: Round 19 - Abu Dhabi Grand Prix

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,891 ✭✭✭✭Frank Bullitt

Infoanon wrote: »
    RBR are also claiming that they have been singled out but apparently 4 teams had their wings checked.

Force India, Williams are names that were mentioned, so RB aren't being singled out. Odd though that it only shows its head at the last race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,462 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

I was watching the highlights of FP2 this morning and nose camera footage from the Williams showed clear deflection of the front wings on the straights, and when the driver braked, the wing rose up to resume its original position. I'm surprised this wasn't commented on as I suspect this was boderline in terms of legality.

Scarbsf1 has tweeted footage of the Williams wing deflection. Looks pretty reasonable to me. It would appear the fault is in the rules that don't require a more rigid stricture.
    Redbull on the other hand using some form of hidden spring is very dodgy. Of itself fitting a spring in a linear capacity wouldn't be of benefit over flexing materials. The spring must be working in conjunction with trick components to circumvent the movable aero rules.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,181 ✭✭✭PukkaStukka

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,684 ✭✭✭Charlie-Bravo

Unbelievable, RB are real cheating backstards. They're rotten to the core with that sort of stuff. In fact, fair play to Vettle for jumping ship - that's probably the only decent comment I'll give him!

-. . ...- . .-. / --. --- -. -. .- / --. .. ...- . / -.-- --- ..- / ..- .--.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,181 ✭✭✭PukkaStukka

Found this brilliant quip on Twitter earlier:
    Twitter wrote:
    Red Bull gives you springs!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,522 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

that's just plain cheating rather than probing the boundaries. should be much more severe penalty for that kind of thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,381 ✭✭✭lolie

Adam Parr seems to think Red Bull are in for much bigger punishment.
    https://mobile.twitter.com/adam_s_parr/status/536285223433302016

If they did get thrown out then does it mean vettel still hasn't been beaten at Red Bull by a teammate.

This could be a fairly hefty issue for RB.

Andrew76 wrote: »
    Coincidentally McLaren decided not to run their RBR inspired front wing in quali, was slower than the previous one apparentlly.

Haha, well it was a copy of the RB wing, so it would make sense for them to not run it :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,444 ✭✭✭frostie500

Here's some photos from yesterday at Abu Dhabi....
    bi7o4364.jpg?w=640&h=426

bi7o4128.jpg?w=640&h=425

bi7o4121.jpg?w=640&h=426

d34a9237.jpg?w=640&h=426

bi7o4301.jpg?w=640&h=426

d34a9153.jpg?w=640&h=426

bi7o4068.jpg?w=640&h=426

bi7o3755.jpg?w=640&h=425

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,206 ✭✭✭Zcott

Last race of the year :-(
    Title decider :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,399 ✭✭✭KillerShamrock

I hope hamilton wins. But regardless of the out come i hope its not a dnf that decides it not with how close it is!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Jordan 199

I'm feeling a bit nervy here now. Anyone in the same boat?

Yep...just want the race to get underway now...

Rosberg will no doubt be highly miffed that the Red Bulls are starting from the pitlane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,574 ✭✭✭Slutmonkey57b

More bull**** from Horner on the BBC about being caught cheating again. Always someone else's fault.

It's good to see them doing badly this year.

Equally, I'd like to see Hamilton make a stupid mistake and crash out since he won in 2008 due to luck.

Jordan 191 wrote: »
    I'm feeling a bit nervy here now. Anyone in the same boat?

Yup first time since 2010 , my first real interest in the final race aaaaaaahhhhhhhh lol cant wait for the start but just hope its a god race

Here we go. Let's hope it's a clean one...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,285 ✭✭✭Mike Litoris

Man, I'm bricking it!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Jordan 199

Man, I'm bricking it!! :D

Have some alcohol to calm you. I am :D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,806 ✭✭✭CFlat

Hope its a good race and Lewis wins the WDC. The tension is unreal.

Jordan 191 wrote: »
    Have some alcohol to calm you. I am :D

Rockstar.....isn't a good idea. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭Cool_CM

Here we go! Come on Rosberg!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,378 ✭✭✭HighLine

And that's that. Well done Lewis.... unfortunately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,574 ✭✭✭Slutmonkey57b

Championship over, again due to a mistake by Rosberg. Sad, but typical for the season.

HighLine wrote: »

Ah here first lap long way to go yet. Tunes will change if hamilton makes a mistake or dnf's

Championship over, again due to a mistake by Rosberg. Sad, but typical for the season.
    More the mistake by Bottas that did it tbh, Massa ain't gonna keep up.

Early yet, dude and Rosbergs sticking with him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,378 ✭✭✭HighLine

Richie6904 wrote: »
    Ah here first lap long way to go yet

Ah here nothing. Lewis has had the race pace over his team mate all year and is in a faster car than the rest of the field.

Lewis is going purple fairly regularly. He's controlling it and making Nico do all the work.

Ah here nothing. Lewis has had the race pace over his team mate all year and is in a faster car than the rest of the field.

Still fancy Rosberg with a very good chance of the race win. It's losing Bottas that means it's done.

Ah here nothing.

Carry On Cruising is on UTV.....

• Registered Users Posts: 2,806 ✭✭✭CFlat

What a start from Hamilton.

Zcott wrote: »
    Lewis is going purple fairly regularly. He's controlling it and making Nico do all the work.

Hopefully Rosberg isn't pushing too hard, no need to really.

Come on Ric!!

• Registered Users Posts: 9,292 ✭✭✭Adamocovic

Very disappointed Hamilton overtook him so early. Was hoping for a big tension filled cat and mouse with them, now with Hamilton he's in control and I can't see Rosberg getting into the hunt unless Hamilton makes an error.

Gap up to 2.1.

Really need Bottas to manage to somehow make up a lot of time and get around Massa.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,292 ✭✭✭Adamocovic

Over 3 seconds now...not the battle I think we wanted ha!

Great driving between Ric and Jev there!

That was ****ing fantastic from Vergne and Ricciardo. Vergne could've felt a bit hard done by last year to get overlooked let alone this year. Great stuff.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,585 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

If JEV doesn't get a drive next season, it's a travesty.

Haha, that was beautiful from Ricciardo, Vergne wasn't expecting anything. :P

The guy is a beast when it comes to the overtake!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 592 ✭✭✭hotwhiskey

Alonso angry at Stevens: "Who is this?"
    Stella: "It's the new boy. A lot to learn for him."
    Alonso: "A lot, a lot to learn."

KVY told to stop the car. Was losing power.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 989 ✭✭✭piperh

For a title decider it is a very boring gp so far.

Something wrong with Rosbergs car. Engine losing power.

Lets see how Bottas will go now.

Rosberg in trouble? Game over?

****sake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭Cool_CM

Rosberg losing power, that's that...