Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Little woes. Guys and girls opinions appreciated.

• 31-07-2015 3:45pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

So my girlfriend of nearly two years has recently started to go on more girls nights out with her friends, which is fine. I said "maybe now and again I could tag along with her for a few as well" due to lack of drinking friends on my side.

Thats when she told me that she doesn't like going to pubs/clubs with me in group situations and that when I'm there with her, I pretty much get in the way of guys approaching her to chat. "I put them off... "
    No intentions I was assured, but that she just likes the attention and makes her feel better about herself. She said that's how she feels and nothing can change that.

It hurt a lot when she told me that.

She's a good looking girl and would tell me about her adventures on a night out, guys with their arms around her, chancing their luck only for her to tell them she has a boyfriend but they still persist. I do trust her, but I know alcohol and what it can do and then you have overly persistent, drunk guys clawing at her..

I'm 25 and she's 21, living together over a year and tbh everything other than this is near perfect. We both love each other very much and we are both dedicated to the relationship but i can't help feeling a little down about this, am I being silly about this or will I just have to accept it for what it is and trust her 100%?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,916 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

That's the craziest thing I've ever heard - you're not allowed out with your own girlfriend because you're cock-blocking her, essentially?

Jesus Christ. Your girlfriend has a LOT of growing up to do OP. There's serious self-esteem issues there if she needs to be fawned over by randomers in the pub in order to feel good about herself.

You need to sit her down and have a serious talk with her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,394 ✭✭✭ManOfMystery

It's a bit of a crappy thing to tell your partner.

I mean, lots of women (and men!) love getting attention from the opposite sex - but usually when it comes out of the blue. And they certainly don't do it at the cost of excluding their partner.

For her to say she doesn't want you to come along on a night out because you're getting in the way of her flirting or behaving as if she's single, is insulting to say the least. She wants the nice reliable boyfriend at home, but still to go out and lap up the attention from lots of other men - in other words, she wants to have her cake and eat it. To be honest, if I was in the same situation I'd be considering if I still want to be with her at all. She shouldn't be embarrassed by having a boyfriend, most people are happy when their partner is out with them.

Are you 100% sure she's being truthful about being loyal to you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

She doesn't want you there because she wants to appear single so men can hit on her?

Jesus Christ. I really don't know what to say about that. Disrespectful doesn't even cover how disgracefully she's treating you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,693 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

I think most people will like a bit of attention that tells them they've 'still got it', but she'd rather that attention than actually spend time with you? And told you that?

She needs a wake-up call as to how horrible she is being.

To be honest, I'd be gone pretty quickly from that relationship.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,311 ✭✭✭Chemical Byrne

Jesus man , that is outrageous carry on on her part. Doesn't want her bf on a night out because it'll get in the way of other fellas coming up groping her!!!
    That's just bizarre! If my gf was at this craic I'd have a serious problem with it and would tell her to sling her hook if she persisted.

Tbh I don't think someone with these traits is likely to make a good long term partner and are likely to break your melt. I'd advise you to get out.

• Registered Users Posts: 830 ✭✭✭cactusgal

Sillyme? wrote: »
    She's a good looking girl and would tell me about her adventures on a night out, guys with their arms around her, chancing their luck only for her to tell them she has a boyfriend but they still persist.

Bleh, I would absolutely hate this kind of night out. And I wouldn't want to be in a relationship with someone who did this regularly.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,311 ✭✭✭Chemical Byrne

By retelling stories of fellas with their hands on her it sounds like she's going out of her way to make you jealous. Such juvenile behaviour is such a turn off, it's just pathetic.

• Registered Users Posts: 147 ✭✭Thidp

This is absolutely bizarre from her.

Are you sure she is 21!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

You mention girls nights out is she going out with just the girls or is it a mixed group because if it was just the girls I don't know why you'd want to go along.
    I've been in those groups where you get one girl who brings the boyfriend along and they'll either sit in the corner all night long by themselves or in one case the guy didn't like clubbing so he sat in the corner getting **** faced while all the girls were out on the dance floor including his gf who kept going over and checking on him.
    As for her reasons for not wanting to go out with you on nights out - you'll get in the way of all the attention she's getting from blokes !!! Thats just madness. When you do go out as a couple, what do you do ?

Is she very insecure?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 175 ✭✭ihavenoname3

she is trouble man, I would be walking, this will end in her cheating on you id say, if she hasn't already, also you should try and widen your circle of friends and don't be relying on your partner for nights out, she cant substitute for male friends, plus if it ends with her you will find the break up way worse if you don't have friends to hang out with to take your mind off the break up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 667 ✭✭✭OneOfThem

It's not a matter of trust, my friend. It's an issue of respect. And saying to someone you are in a relationship with "I'd rather not spend time with you because it interferes with me flirting with other people to make myself feel better, that's how I feel and nothing can change that" is about as disrespectful as it comes. And if someone doesn't respect you, they don't love you, it just doesn't work like that, it's kind of a package deal.

Sorry, but you really have to walk away from this I think. She knows how you feel and her response was basically, "so what, this is how things are".

Nah, it's not meant to be this way. It normally isn't. Is this your first relationship by any chance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

Jesus. The absolute cheek of her. I don't know how you didn't tell her to sling her hook there and then when she came out with that little gem. How disrespecful to you op. God knows what she gets up to when she's out without you because if she's that desperate for attention I doubt she's just sitting here batting her eyelashes. You need to show her you have more respect for yourself than that and break up with her; that way she can go out and get all the attention her insecure and selfish heart desires.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,572 ✭✭✭Colser

Can I just first say that if a partner of mine ever said that to me that would be the end of it definitely.
    But having said that I wonder if shes just being honest with you.Youve had no problem with her telling you about guys coming up to her ect on nights out so maybe you genuinely have a very mature and trusting relationship.
    Lets face it a lot of people do enjoy the attention when theyre on a night out with their friends but it doesnt mean theyre going to cheat or anything.
    I dont know OP, personally I think its a horrible to say to you but I still think that shes admitting to something that a lot of people do but dont admit to..Im on the fence about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

Dump her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 106 ✭✭vertmann

Thidp wrote: »
    This is absolutely bizarre from her.

Are you sure she is 21!?

Maybe her being 21 has everything to do with this. Look at the ages here. She's 21, he's 25. They're together almost 2 years he says and living together for a year: that means they're an item since she was 19 and living together since she was 20. That's very young to be settling down. A lot of people would say it's too young really. She's going out socialising with friends who probably haven't got steady boyfriends, let alone have moved in with them. There's also a big gap between her and her boyfriend. 4 years is nothing when you're in your late 20s but when you're 21....?

I can understand part 1 of what she said but not part 2. To be fair, a lot of women wouldn't want their boyfriends tagging along if it's a girl's night out. But to then turn around and say he's stopping other men from chatting her up? I hope she's not planning to use her boyfriend as a backup plan while she plays the field.

I am a woman. I am a few years older than you and your girlfriend.
    I would not be impressed to hear this from her. So in effect she is telling you I don't want you to come out with me as I like drunk men chatting me up and groping me.
    I tell them I have a boyfriend.
    Can you be sure she always tells them this?

I watched a freind of mine going out with a girl like this. He is a decent guy. They got engaged but he realised what she was like after she cheated on him and they did not get married. A few years later they got together again and he found out she was in contact with 2 ex and arrangning meetings with both of them. She expected him not to realise what was she was doing and she though he is lucky to have me. The truth was he got proff of what she was up to and showed it to her before telling her that it was over.

You need to decide what to do now. I am being honest your girlfriend sounds very insucure and immature. She might like the thrill of the chase ie trying to meet a man but long term will she always want that thrill. The reality is that she is living with you and she should not need/want other men chatting her up or groping her.
    She is telling you this to build herself up but in reality she is showing her true colours ie the immaturity and insucurity. My feeling this that she is a woman who always has to be in a realtionship but could be quite happy to cheat if she could get away with it.
    Saying this to you shows the lack of respect she has for you. Don't sell yourself short by staying with her.

I would also advise you to get involved with a few groups and build up your circle of friends. See if you can get in contact with friends you have not seen in a while. Don't continue to make this girl your whole life. I have seen friends getting into relationships and losing contact or forgetting there freinds. Then the relationship hits a bad patch or ends and they wonder why they have no one to ask advice from or support them though a brake up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

@ Mr. incognito - one liner posts like yours are not welcome in PI/RI. Please make the effort to post in a constructive manner.

dudara

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭keavebm

I would have ran her a long time ago who knows what she's at.would she like it if u were doing the same??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,736 ✭✭✭✭kylith

She wants the kick of other men coming onto her, and she wants the kick of making you jealous when she tells you about all the men coming onto her. She's blocking you out of her life and then rubbing your nose in how many other men she could have. TBH she sounds like an immature head-wrecker.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,882 ✭✭✭Saipanne

Sillyme? wrote: »
    So my girlfriend of nearly two years has recently started to go on more girls nights out with her friends, which is fine. I said "maybe now and again I could tag along with her for a few as well" due to lack of drinking friends on my side.

Thats when she told me that she doesn't like going to pubs/clubs with me in group situations and that when I'm there with her, I pretty much get in the way of guys approaching her to chat. "I put them off... "
    No intentions I was assured, but that she just likes the attention and makes her feel better about herself. She said that's how she feels and nothing can change that.

It hurt a lot when she told me that.

She's a good looking girl and would tell me about her adventures on a night out, guys with their arms around her, chancing their luck only for her to tell them she has a boyfriend but they still persist. I do trust her, but I know alcohol and what it can do and then you have overly persistent, drunk guys clawing at her..

I'm 25 and she's 21, living together over a year and tbh everything other than this is near perfect. We both love each other very much and we are both dedicated to the relationship but i can't help feeling a little down about this, am I being silly about this or will I just have to accept it for what it is and trust her 100%?

This is exactly the type of woman I avoid, personally. Learnt that the hard way!

I don't think you're silly to feel this way at all.

• Registered Users Posts: 307 ✭✭DukeOfTheSharp

End it before you've to renew a lease. Dump her, get out now. She's incredibly immature and totally disrespectful, and on top of all of that she's a collection of insecurities that will make your life a living hell. After nearly two years she pulls this kind of crap? Nope, no thank you, I couldn't handle that, due to the sheer level of ridiculousness of the situation. If her self-esteem is directly tied to how many people hit on her, she needs therapy, not a boyfriend. She doesn't appreciate or respect her relationship with you, you don't need that sort of behavior in your life and there are plenty of women out there who wouldn't dream of pulling this sort of stunt, because they'd hate it to be done on them. You're glimpsing a side of her that's a lot more unappealing and it's a case of respect - something she's not mature enough to understand.

The relationship is going to end soon, I fear. She's really young and is starting to wonder what else is there. She's using other guys as a way to give herself reassurance that she's still wanted, that guys still want her. Eventually she'll start to feel like she can get more and will break up with the OP.

I say this because it's not a good sign that she doesn't want you out with her as you'd be cockblocking her. I'd be so annoyed if someone I was seeing was saying the exact same thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,695 ✭✭✭December2012

How much time do you spend apart? I wonder is this a reaction to the fact that you live together at a very young age for her.

And maybe she feels that you being there will put off all lads from approaching her group of mates, some of whom might be single. You say you don't have many drinking buddies yourself - so I'm assuming her mates are single or wouldn't be bringing their boyfriends along?

But I wouldn't like it if she's just doing it to massage her own ego while deflating yours.

Get yourself some new drinking and socialising friends.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 685 ✭✭✭FURET

There's no need to dwell on this problem for too long, OP. Your girlfriend is an arrogant narcissist (and her age is not an excuse). You should end the relationship immediately; she is simply not up to your standard. Experiences like this will help you to build character and maturity and will aid you, as a man, to learn how to identify a quality woman when you meet one.

She sounds horrible, that is just a dreadful thing to say to you - and an awful thing to do: leading guys on to get her kick, and telling you about it to try to make you insecure/jealous. I couldn't be with someone who messed around so casually with people's feelings, for her own twisted ego boost.

Having said that, you shouldn't be trying to go on girls nights out. Clue in the name - girls night. You being there would change the dynamic, and undoubtedly irritate her friends. It's very different from going on a group night out with guys & girls. And unfair on her friends & her. It can also come across as quite controlling (which I don't think you're doing, from what you've said, but that's how it might seem - that you don't want her going out without you).

I think you need to make your own friends to go out with - it's not healthy to rely on your GF for all of your social outings, and I think if you had your own friends, they'd have wised you up to your GF's cruel behaviour before now.

She just sounds incredibly immature, like a mid-teens schoolgirl tbh, or maybe just a downright nasty person. I wouldn't pin my hopes on things improving much really, I'm not sure that kind of narcissistic carry on would go away with added years. I'd think very carefully before signing another lease with her or making any future plans. I really think you should get out before she ruins your self esteem further - or pushes her selfish behaviour further. What she's doing isn't funny or cute; it's incredibly disrespectful and mean to you, and not very nice to the guys she leads on either.

Thanks for the replies :)

A little update
    I found out from her friend that she was talking about taking a break, so I said it to her and she confirmed it. She said he didn't tell me because she didn't know how to bring it up or if she was even going to go ahead with it.

Her reason for it is that she isn't young forever and has not being with many guys, so she thinks she is missing out on that stuff by being in a relationship.

She still admits that attention from other guys is a big part of her confidence, which I don't know how to deal with. I obviously don't do that for her anymore, despite my efforts.

She also apologised for the comment about not wanting me to come out with her.

We will be having a proper talk today about it and see where it goes. It will either be a break for 2 or so weeks or she gets past this and focuses on the relationship and me.

Crappy situation :\

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

So, in theory she wants a two week break to go and do whatever she likes/shag whomever she wants and you think you guys can then resume as normal?! Do you honestly think things would then go back to normal once she has it all out of her system? What a shocking way for her to treat someone she supposedly loves. Why you are even entertaining the notion of it is baffling. She is making a fool out of you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

If YOU loving her and finding her attractive isn't enough to make her feel confident and happy, your relationship is doomed.

If she wants time off to shag other people, again it's doomed.

She sounds like a nasty headwreck. You deserve better.

• Registered Users Posts: 280 ✭✭sm213

If it was the other way there would be murder.
    Dump.
    She'll go on a break after doing God knows what with who knows what.
    Get someone more mature.
    I'm not even a guy and I'm saying this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 106 ✭✭vertmann

On a break translates as "I want to sow my wild oats and snog/shäg other blokes. And if I don't find anyone who catches my eye in that time I'll come back to you". It's the soft option, a way to break up but not break up. I go back again to what I said earlier. She's still only 21 which in my opinion is way too early to be settling down. You and her are at vastly different stages in your lives. I can see how you'd want to settle down at 25 but she's still only a kid. Sorry mate but your relationship's doomed.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,051 ✭✭✭keysersoze0330

Everyone is saying this girl is immature and selfish, which is true. But Op is being a bit gullible for his age. Why are you even considering this 2 week break. Dump her cheating ass before she makes an absolute show of you. She has obviously met someone that she wants to date. Harsh but needs to be said. Don't be a doormat any longer. She has you on a string. Good luck with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,119 ✭✭✭Augme

You're being taken for a bit of mug here OP. Be careful you don't go down the road of taking a "break" every so often so she can ride other lads guilt free. A break is nearly always the first step of a break-up. Just tell her you think it's better to break-up and go your seperate ways now.

Given her serious self-confidence issues you should consider breaking up as a blessing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,865 ✭✭✭fancy pigeon

That's some situation :eek: I don't think she is mature enough to sustain a relationship like that. I think you are both on different stages in life, where she wants to head out and meet new people where you want a settled relationship.

In regards a break, usually this means there is someone she wants to hook up with. And when that doesn't work... Comes back to you. Just a headwrecking experience.

My advice, find someone closer to your age. At least you can start on the right wavelength

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

Two weeks is very specific.

Sounds like she has a few lined up to ride.

Get rid of this toxic head wreck.

There are better people out there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,695 ✭✭✭December2012

She's right, she is too young to be settling down. It might be better for you to break up, or if you don't want to do that, then stop living together. It's clearly too much.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3 Gaussianmotion

Break up OP, her ego is more important to her than you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,394 ✭✭✭ManOfMystery

There is no such thing as a break IMO, not when it comes to relationships. You can't treat it like taking a 2 week holiday from work, or deciding you're on temporary sabbatical. Feelings cannot just be switched off, history cannot be erased, emotions cannot be ignored, indiscretions cannot be brushed aside and forgotten.

I've never ever understood people who want a 'break' for xx weeks, with the intention of getting back together. All that says to me is : "I want to sleep around, but would like you to be sitting waiting for me when I finish. Please switch off your feelings for xx weeks". It's insulting.

And if the reason for the 'break' is genuine - as in, their heart isn't in the relationship and they want some time alone to see how they feel - well it's more than likely that the break will probably become a permanent one. When you have that much doubt about things, it's a bad sign.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,500 ✭✭✭✭Exclamation Marc

If you really love this girl, going on a break will probably hurt you quite a bit. As others have said, she sounds like she wants to go off and sleep around which is problematic for a couple of other reasons than mentioned above.

Firstly, you have to think of who she's going to sleep with. If it's complete randomers then you may have serious issues in terms of these guys being absolutely anybody. Can you respect someone who's happy to go out in a two week window for no strings sex? You're not going to be happy sleeping with someone after they've been out sleeping with total strangers. And if it's not a randomer, is it in anyway healthy for her to sleep with someone who's in her life and probably not going to go away. And are there desires there in her for someone already? What if that person turns up on nights out again when you're out with her? Or worse, when she's locked, you're not there and the guys wants a second go?

On top of that, if you're a smart guy you'd be asking her to get STI checks, which isn't going to be a pleasant conversation.

Secondly, are you going to be happy sleeping with your gf in two weeks time knowing that someone else was with her, doing extremely intimate things with her potentially only days previously?

Also, quite crucially, you live together. Is she going to be bringing guys back? Or is she going to go off and be with whoever she wants and traipse back in the door at 5am? And will you be ok with that? And are you going to be ok sitting at home knowing that she's out being with whoever she wants?

I've never seen a break work in any relationship. Also, you mentioned in your first post that you love each other very much and are are dedicated to each other. Whilst you clearly are as you want to make this work, it doesnt sound like she is. The last thing anyone dedicated and in love would ever offer up to their other half is a request to spend two weeks as a single person. It sounds like there's a very high chance she may turn around in two weeks and say she loves single life. And if she comes back to you, you'll spend your days obsessing over what exactly she did during those two weeks, it may consume you.

I really don't like saying it, but it sounds as if the relationship may be doomed. Go with it and you're opening up a massive can of worms, you're not respecting yourself and you're letting yourself be taken for a fool. Don't go with it and it sounds like somewhere down the line she's going to cheat on you. It's clearly embedded in her that she wants to be with someone else.

Sorry OP.

• Registered Users Posts: 377 ✭✭irishdude11

I wouldn't be running her down like alot of other posters here. She's a 21 year old girl who's been in a relationship for two years. She's not ready to settle down at all yet, 99% of people aren't at that stage. She's living like a 35 year old shacked up with a bf who doesn't go out much himself when she wants to be out having fun with her friends and getting some life experience.

Of course she's not going to want OP tagging along on a girls night out. The craic would not be the same. Just like if a bunch of guys is going on a lads night out and one of them brings his gf, it changes the atmosphere. She's handled it badly but sure what do you expect of someone at that age. Moving in with a 19/20 year old who likes heading out with her mates was always going to end in tears.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,500 ✭✭✭✭Exclamation Marc

Of course she's not going to want OP tagging along on a girls night out. The craic would not be the same. Just like if a bunch of guys is going on a lads night out and one of them brings his gf, it changes the atmosphere. She's handled it badly but sure what do you expect of someone at that age. Moving in with a 19/20 year old who likes heading out with her mates was always going to end in tears.

There's a significant difference between giving a girl space to go on a girls night out versus giving a girl space because she willingly and actively wants to have lads all over her, especially when she's suggesting that she (effectively) wants permission to take it further over the space of a few weeks.

• Registered Users Posts: 147 ✭✭Thidp

Well, I think that you really love this girl and don't wanna lose her. That is the only reason that could explain why you didn't tell her do go away.

But I don't think there is anything else for you to do, OP... clearly she is asking time to go out with other men, you know that. How are you gonna feel when in two weeks she comes back like "ok, I had my fun with some guys, now it is your turn again to try"... it is absurd and you deserve better.

One other thing, maybe she does this because she thinks that you will never dump her... so, when you do, make sure you look well in her eyes and enjoy the expression of surprise she will show you.

• Registered Users Posts: 377 ✭✭irishdude11

There's a significant difference between giving a girl space to go on a girls night out versus giving a girl space because she willingly and actively wants to have lads all over her, especially when she's suggesting that she (effectively) wants permission to take it further over the space of a few weeks.

I didn't mean give her space to go on a night out, I meant expecting someone that young to basically settle down and live like someone in their mid 30s is asking for trouble. It's no surprise she wants out. I wouldn't expect a serious relationship (as in moving in together) with someone who is that young especially if they are the type who loves going out and hitting the clubs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,127 ✭✭✭kjl

Why are we even talking about this, the relationship is over. This whole 2 week break bs is only going to make it sting even more in the long run.

OP you have your answer, she enjoys being chatted up by other guys because it gives her confidence. Do you really want to be with someone so insecure that they make you feel bad to make themselves feel better. I know she is only 21, but you are being a bit naive for a 25 year old. Get out now while you still have some dignity.

If you agree to this 'break' then I predict that in 2 weeks time she'll want to extend it a bit more, then a bit more, and so on. OP 'I want a break' usually means either 'I want to break up but I'm to chicken to say it' or 'I want to have my fun and hope you're gullible/desperate/passive/stupid enough to take me back when I've had it'.

Let her have her break, full time.

If you agree to this 'break' then I predict that in 2 weeks time she'll want to extend it a bit more, then a bit more, and so on. OP 'I want a break' usually means either 'I want to break up but I'm to chicken to say it' or 'I want to have my fun and hope you're gullible/desperate/passive/stupid enough to take me back when I've had it'.

Let her have her break, full time.

• Registered Users Posts: 390 ✭✭VisibleGorilla

You need to end this relationship right now, OP. Like as in call her up ASAP and tell her to feck off.

She is taking you as an absolute mug and you are coming across as very naive.

Let's put it straight, your girlfriend wants to have sex with other men, it's as simple as that. Save yourself any form of heartbreak at all and end this asap. Completely cut her out of your life and move on asap. There will be no "break", it will be her going out and having sex with other men while your sitting at home twiddling your thumbs.

Joke of a woman. End ASAP.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

The relationship is over man, it's just that neither of you have said it out loud.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,112 ✭✭✭StripedBoxers

She sounds like an immature, self centered and insecure girl who has serious self confidence issues to the point that she feels strange, (presumably drunk) guys groping her left, right and centre, and that gives her confidence?

Is that really the type of person you want to be in a relationship with? Personally I would be embarrassed for her, if she continues on with that behaviour and sleeps with anything male with a pulse, she'll get a name for herself, that's if she hasn't gotten a name for herself already with that carry on.

Not to mention the risk of STIs, pregnancy (if she has unprotected sex, contraception/condoms fail etc).

I'm in my mid-twenties, with my boyfriend for a good few years now, and I have never, ever had the desire to go off kiss, let alone sleep with anyone else.

For someone who is 25 OP you do come across as naive, and I'm sure your girlfriend knows this and that's why she is taking you for a mug, stand up for yourself, tell her to have her break, but make it a permanent one, you don't need someone like this in your life.

What happens when in six months/a year/further down the road and this happens again? Are you going to say "sure we'll take a months break, shag whoever you want, I'll wait for you".

If the tables were turned - would she entertain you treating her as disgustingly as she is treating you?

Let her off, and let her sleep around, and once its all out of her system, she's might miss having a stable boyfriend, stable relationship, someone to cuddle at night, someone being there for her etc. she will probably miss that, and miss you, but don't take her back, don't be that foolish guy who lets his girlfriend walk all over him and treat him like dirt whenever she wants. You deserve better, and you will find someone better.

When you truly, deeply love someone, you won't want to sleep with other guys, you won't want other guys groping you, you won't mind if your partner comes along on girls nights (girls might mind though) etc.

You're relationship is pretty much doomed and over anyway, given her strong feelings for wanting a break, do both of yourselves a favour, and end it permanently, you go find someone who will love and treat you how you should be treated, and let her go sleep around and get a name for herself, you'll have had a lucky escape.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,059 ✭✭✭gsi300024v

Open relationship, would she mind if you had some flings too during this 2 week break? Maybe you could both have some fun so it wasn't so one sided, or a threesome so you both there and she still gets her fun?