Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Gameweek 8 Matchday Thread

• 18-10-2014 5:27am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,251 ✭✭✭✭

The two week break is over so hopefully it'll be a case of back with a bang for most of us. I line out as follows:

Forster
    Duff PVA Taylor
    Fabregas Di Maria Sterling Siggy
    Costa (c) Aguero Pelle
    Subs: Elliott, Moore, Wisdom, Marney.

Hoping for a big week from Aguero.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,827 ✭✭✭✭dahat

Mannone

Clyne Azi. Duff

Sterling Siggy Di Maria Fabregas

Pelle Costa Aguero (c)

12.45 kick off could make or break my gw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,274 ✭✭✭✭FHFC

dahat wrote: »
    Mannone

Clyne Azi. Duff

Pelle Costa Aguero (c)

Very similar team to yis both.

Forster in goal.
    Clyne, Duff, Moore
    Rest identical. Aguero (c).

Boyd first sub if Costa does miss out.

Didn't get Azpi in the end. I'd miscalculated and was 0.2 short of Moore to Azpi so banking my second ft. Might not bother with him now. Could be Hazard in next week instead.

All about Aguero and a Southampton clean sheet for me.

DDG
    Clyne Bertrand Moore
    siggy fab adm sterling
    costa Aguero ulloa

Going with double saints coverage at the back, and going to bank my transfer.

Best of luck, lads, except PARlance.... ;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,568 ✭✭✭thewools

De Gea
    Reid, Wilson, Dummett
    Hazard, Di Maria, Sterling, Siggy
    Aguero (C), Costa, Welbeck

Happy enough... tempted to give the armband to Hazard!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,251 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

DDG
    Clyne Bertrand Moore
    siggy fab adm sterling
    costa Aguero ulloa

Going with double saints coverage at the back, and going to bank my transfer.

Best of luck, lads, except PARlance.... ;-)

Who are you captaining?

Oops, sorry... Costa (C) Aguero (vc).

Fabianski
    Clyne Duff Wilson
    Fab DiM Sterling Sigg
    Costa (c) Aguero Pelle

Would be happy to maintain my 50-60 point average.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,818 ✭✭✭Inspector Coptoor

Krul

Moore Dier Hutton

Siggy Henderson Fab Di Maria (c)

Costa Falcao Aguero

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,254 ✭✭✭✭km79

play Taylor or PVA ?
    team is
    courtois
    Wilson Taylor baines
    tadic di maria siggy sterling
    Costa wellbeck falcao (c)
    sub order is Boyd PVA moore

• Registered Users Posts: 139 ✭✭j timber

Mannone
    chester mee dier
    siggy di maria fab silva chadli
    aguero(c) costa

subs: krul berahino hutton ferdinand

What do ye think guys? Have doubts over costa and chadli..bench not great..

• Registered Users Posts: 17,022 ✭✭✭✭Iused2likebusts

Forster
    Dummett PVA Taylor
    Silva siggy fab adm
    Costa Aguero (c) pelle
    I need a good return from the 1245 game as I have silva over sterling and have the armband on aguero.
    No transfers this week.

j timber wrote: »
    Mannone
    chester mee dier
    siggy di maria fab silva chadli
    aguero(c) costa

subs: krul berahino hutton ferdinand

What do ye think guys? Have doubts over costa and chadli..bench not great..

I'd play berhainho over chadli this week

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

Mannone
    Bertrand, Duff, Taylor
    Sterling, Siggurdsson, Di Maria, Fabregas
    Pellé, Costa, Aguero (c).

Subs: Wisdom, Quinn, Chambers.

Banked my transfer so I'll have 2 free next week and 0.5m in the bank. Planning on Fabregas to Hazard being one of them if he does something this weekend. Chelsea still have a tough couple of weeks coming up before everything loosens up, but they seem fixture proof this year.

• Registered Users Posts: 187 ✭✭O-Deazy

Forster
    Duff Bertrand Baines
    ADM Hazard Sig Henderson
    Aguero (C) Costa Welbeck

New shiny side after using the wildcard! Taking the armband off Costa but decided to stick with him. Was very tempted to get rid but would have been a bit rash!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,654 ✭✭✭✭extra gravy

Schmeichel
    Taylor Bertrand Gibbs
    Fab ADM Sterling Siggy
    Aguero (c) Costa Welbeck

Looking forward to watching Aguero today.

km79 wrote: »
    play Taylor or PVA ?
    team is
    courtois
    Wilson Taylor baines
    tadic di maria siggy sterling
    Costa wellbeck falcao (c)
    sub order is Boyd PVA moore
    Id play taylor as you have tadic up against PVA

• Registered Users Posts: 909 ✭✭✭auldgranny

Just woke this minute to find I have Costa (orange flag) and welbeck (orange flag) Third striker Pelle Siggy fab sterling Silve.

Any advice on captain?
    Costa too risky?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

auldgranny wrote: »
    Just woke this minute to find I have Costa (orange flag) and welbeck (orange flag) Third striker Pelle Siggy fab sterling Silve.

Any advice on captain?
    Costa too risky?

Costa will either start or not play at all. He's low risk if you have a good VC.

And on that note, Welbeck or ADM - who's the best VC?

• Registered Users Posts: 909 ✭✭✭auldgranny

Costa will either start or not play at all. He's low risk if you have a good VC.

And on that note, Welbeck or ADM - who's the best VC?

ADM for me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 644 ✭✭✭Dice75

Will Sterling deffo start?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,675 ✭✭✭HighClass

Mannone
    OShea, Taylor, Blackett
    Silva, Di Maria(c), Sterling, Fabregas, Siggy
    Falcao, Costa

Still not set on my captain, might end up switching it to Falcao before 11.30.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,553 ✭✭✭✭Copper_pipe

Best of luck to Nody today, his first big day in the new position.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,855 ✭✭✭The Wild Bunch

2nd time I've captained Welbeck

He did the business against Villa so heres hoping

• Registered Users Posts: 1,252 ✭✭✭harpstilidie

Foster or Mannone guys?

Have Mannone starting at the minute.

• Registered Users Posts: 784 ✭✭✭FrClintPower

Couple of doubts in my team -

Lloris

Wilson, Taylor, Azpi

Sterling, Fab, Siggy, ADM

Costa (c), Pellè (v), Dzeko

Subs - McCarthy (gk) Boyd, O'Shea, Colo.

Lloris and Costa are doubts, but really want to keep my transfer till next week and then get Aguero in. Wasn't expecting much from Lloris this week anyway, and happy for Boyd to come in for Costa if necessary.

Main hope is that Sunderland get a goal against Southampton.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,502 ✭✭✭spock.

Krul
    Baines(c) Ivanovic Bertrand
    Siggy Hazard ADM Sterling
    Costa Pelle Welbeck

Start off with a (-4)

• Registered Users Posts: 784 ✭✭✭FrClintPower

Couple of doubts in my team -

Lloris

Wilson, Taylor, Azpi

Sterling, Fab, Siggy, ADM

Costa (c), Pellè (v), Dzeko

Subs - McCarthy (gk) Boyd, O'Shea, Colo.

Lloris and Costa are doubts, but really want to keep my transfer till next week and then get Aguero in. Wasn't expecting much from Lloris this week anyway, and happy for Boyd to come in for Costa if necessary.

Main hope is that Sunderland get a goal against Southampton.

Actually, switched VC to ADM rather than Pellè, less risk there I feel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

Mignolet

Wilson Bertrand Taylor

Sterling Fabregas Sigurdsson Silva

Aguero (VC) Costa (C) Pelle

Subs: van Aanholt, Boyd, Chambers (suspended)

Mignolet will be gone soon, I just don't want to burn a transfer yet.

Wilson and Bertrand have nice home games. I'm not sure who to play as third defender but with Pelle starting and Stoke struggling at home I've decided to go for Neil Taylor over van Aanholt.

The midfield speaks for itself really.

I'm struggling massively on who to captain. I generally don't like a 12:45pm captain as I (despite having no statistical evidence to back it up) find they lack the energy, intensity and most importantly goals of a later kick off. Yet Costa may make a cameo if Chelsea are struggling to break Palace down if he doesn't start. If it was guaranteed that Costa would either start or not play at all I'd be much happier about my current decision. Pelle, I just wouldn't feel confident on captaining when I have the other two.

I'll have 2 FT's next week to improve.

Couple of questions:

1) What the **** to do re: captain choice?
    2) Boyd or van Aanholt as first sub in case Costa's out?

Thanks and good luck all. Hopefully it will be another good week for the forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,251 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

Paully D wrote: »
    Mignolet

Wilson Bertrand Taylor

Wilson and Bertrand have nice home games. I'm not sure who to play as third defender but with Pelle starting and Stoke struggling at home I've decided to go for Neil Taylor over van Aanholt.

I'm struggling massively on who to captain. I generally don't like a 12:45pm captain as I (despite having no statistical evidence to back it up) find they lack the energy, intensity and most importantly goals of a later kick off. Yet Costa may make a cameo if Chelsea are struggling to break Palace down if he doesn't start. If it was guaranteed that Costa would either start or not play at all I'd be much happier about my current decision. Pelle, I just wouldn't feel confident on captaining when I have the other two.

Couple of questions:

I'm leaving the captaincy on Costa. I expect him to feature. I think he'll either start or he won't play at all. Even if he is a failure, that many people will captain him it won't be too bad.

Re Boyd vs PVA, PVA has an assist this season and has come close to a goal at least once. I've seen little of note from Boyd and Burnley rarely score so I'd go PVA first sub.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,305 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Prodston

Wildcard resisted so just did RVP to Aguero. No nonsense there and I'm trusting Nolan to outscore Henderson who I'd consider in for a -4. Well I say trust but I trust him as far as I can throw him!

De Gea
    Bardsley - Clyne - Coloccini
    Di Maria - Fabregas - Siggy - Nolan (:()
    Pelle - Costa - Aguero (c)

PVA, Moore, Marney.

I never thought I'd see Collocini in my team again this season but he's the better option on paper over the other 2. Marney's an injury doubt so I'll have no Boyd in for Costa points.

I don't have very high expectations this week it's fair to say.

Mignolet

Wilson Bertrand Taylor

Couple of questions:

if I had aguero this week he would be automatic captain choice
    city at home Chelsea away aguero captain

• Closed Accounts Posts: 400 ✭✭Harvey Low Fat Milk

Begovic
    Wilson-Duff-Bertrand
    Siggy- Cesc - Silva - Sterling
    Costa - Naismith - Aguero (C)

Decided this morning to give the armband to Aguero, hoping himself and Silva have big games to set me off for the GW.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

Posted my question in the wrong thread

Playing 3-5-2

Midfield is the standard midfield

Have to pick two strikers though

Costa,Pelle and Naismith

Bench Naismith? And leave as first sub?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,578 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

Chelsea Youth @chelseayouth · 5 min
    No Dominic Solanke for the U21s today; with question marks about several senior forwards at Palace, keep an eye on his whereabouts.

Interesting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,337 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Koeman & Pelle got manager & player of the month awards for September.... Just saying :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

I stuck with - Costa (C), Aguero (VC).

Lets do this! :D

KevIRL wrote: »
    Chelsea Youth @chelseayouth · 5 min
    No Dominic Solanke for the U21s today; with question marks about several senior forwards at Palace, keep an eye on his whereabouts.

Interesting

Was very close to doing costa to wellbeck after reading this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,204 ✭✭✭98q76e12hrflnk

anyone expect city to keep a clean sheet?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 15,237 Mod ✭✭✭✭FutureGuy

Ulloa out for Welbeck. Going to throw a fiver on Aguero and Cisse to score two or more.
    Begovic
    Clyne - Ivanovic - Duff
    Fabregas - Di Maria - Sterling - Sigurdsson
    Pelle (VC) - Welbeck - Costa (C
    )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,366 ✭✭✭✭8-10

I stuck with - Costa (C), Aguero (VC).

Lets do this! :D

Me too! My intention was to switch them this morning but I'm stuck now. Hope Costa plays...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,193 ✭✭✭✭Scorpion Sting

dahat wrote: »
    Mannone

Clyne Azi. Duff

Pelle Costa Aguero (c)

I could have sworn you brought in Baines!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Have banked my transfer, lets do this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,264 ✭✭✭✭manual_man

Super Bradley Guzan
    Ivan(V) Clyne Duff
    ADM Sterling Fab Siggy
    Costa(C) Aguero Welbeck

Wisdom King Moore

May the lord have sweet mercy on my fpl-afflicted soul

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,088 ✭✭✭Nib

Guzan
    Bertrand Duff Azpi
    Fabregas Sterling Di Maria(vc) Siggy
    Welbeck Aguero(c) Costa

Subs: PvA Wisdom Quinn

A late cameo from Costa would be ideal, have a feeling Kun is going to score big today.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,305 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Prodston

Man City: Hart, Clichy, Demichelis, Kompany (C), Sagna, Milner, Lampard, Fernando, Navas, Silva, Aguero

Spurs: Lloris, Dier, Fazio, Kaboul (c), Rose; Capoue, Mason; Chadli, Eriksen, Lamela; Soldado

Aguero time!

No Dzeko!

I think costa may actually be injured this time !
    May aguero have mercy on our souls

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,654 ✭✭✭✭extra gravy

No Yaya...this time last year, that would have caused a lot of anguish in these parts. How things have changed!

Man City: Hart, Clichy, Demichelis, Kompany (C), Sagna, Milner, Lampard, Fernando, Navas, Silva, Aguero

Spurs: Lloris, Dier, Fazio, Kaboul (c), Rose; Capoue, Mason; Chadli, Eriksen, Lamela; Soldado

Aguero time!

Silva in behind Aguero captain lovely. Kickstart my season please.

Hmmm had i known that Spurs lineup in advance, i probly woulda given the C to Aguero! Sure at least i still have him :P