Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Money doesn't buy you taste

• 18-06-2009 9:44pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 9,082 ✭✭✭

Limerick's JP makes a grand entrance

http://www.limerickleader.ie/news/Limerick39s-JP-makes-a-grand.5375368.jp
    FIRST it was the €100m mansion, now it's JP McManus's elaborate new entrance to the house that's stopping traffic.

The grand entrance is the latest feature of the multi-million euro redesign at Martinstown Stud which has caught the public's attention.

With the sprawling mansion and the Limerick shaped lake all nearing completion, the Roman inspired entrance is now the talk of the locality.
    take a gander at the picture with the article

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,662 ✭✭✭Trinity

It looks like the entrance to glasnevin cemetary :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 938 ✭✭✭chuci

ah come on that's a total joke

• Closed Accounts Posts: 277 ✭✭Harpie

Horses for courses and all that...

What a massive twat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,494 ✭✭✭citizen_p

its a mausilium obviously........spelt wrong but you get my drift...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,431 ✭✭✭✭Saibh

Too much money - not much taste in how to spend it

Mousey- wrote: »
    its a mausilium obviously........spelt wrong but you get my drift...

Is that like a muslim church? Are they're muslim now?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,377 ✭✭✭An Fear Aniar

If it was good enough for the Romans it's good enough for JP. It's a classic design that's been copied the world over. Stop being such begrudgers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

What a wanker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,069 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Who cares. He already has the money, all the better if he chooses to employ people to build unnecessary sh!t for him :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Most old estates had lodge houses at the entrance for a caretaker.
    This estate has elaborate one.

But this is Ireland and begrudging comments are rife.
    I fail to say where the Muslim connection is coming from.

And if the entrance was non de-script then people wouldn't stop to check it.

Fair play to the guy, he employs builders to do this when tens of thousands including teachers on over 60k a year are buying property abroad

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,051 ✭✭✭Whosbetter?

Looks as flash as a rat with a gold tooth....:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,978 ✭✭✭445279.ie

Brutal :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭LD 50

He's just showing off now. Whats worse is, some of can't even afford even minor luxuries.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Trinity wrote: »
    Is that like a muslim church? Are they're muslim now?

I think he means Motilium.

WindSock wrote: »

I was kidding, i think i need to work on my wittiness :P

Oh wait :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,580 ✭✭✭uberwolf

jaysus, wait till the itinerants try and top that.

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2008/0830/1220023440388.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

He's only built that to distract everyone from the 50ft solid gold JP statue he's building down the road

LD 50 wrote: »
    He's just showing off now. Whats worse is, some of can't even afford even minor luxuries.

Did he rob you, did he?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,213 ✭✭✭Mrmoe

JP is a legend.

LD 50 wrote: »

Yeah well those people are losers.

They're only losers if they fall prey to envy and begrudge the success of others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

I'm more impressed with his Limerick shaped lake, how cool is that!

They're only losers if they fall prey to envy and begrudge the success of others.

Or if they lose. That's a pretty strong loser indicator too.

jester77 wrote: »
    I'm more impressed with his Limerick shaped lake, how cool is that!

I don't know, but it'll get even cooler in the winter

davyjose wrote: »

I'd be more impressed with a Limerick shaped head. Imagine that. A head shaped like a whole county!!!!!!!!! eheheh heheheeheh :D

davyjose wrote: »

Nobody really loses, it's all a state of mind. Or, more correctly, nobody really wins.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Or, more correctly, nobody really wins.

You are so wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,009 ✭✭✭✭titan18

Think he meant mausoleum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,568 ✭✭✭candy-gal1

Saibh wrote: »
    Too much money - not much taste in how to spend it

thats what i always say about most of the well off, politicians etc, u need the mind for having a lot of money or your effed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

mikemac wrote: »

But this is Ireland and begrudging comments are rife.

Gaudy is gaudy regardless of what country it's in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 74 ✭✭Elephant Monkey

Is it a simple case of its a folly?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Folly

Loads of these follys about the country, Rich people built follys cause they really didnt know what else to do with there money!

I know that there is one you can spot off the M4 near Leixlip
    folly.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,119 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

I bet the architect had a good snigger when he cashed the cheque.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 85 ✭✭brendanuk

Is he still a tax exile in Geneva?