Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Man threatens to set himself on fire outside Leinster House.

• 07-03-2013 8:54pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,558 ✭✭✭

Dont think this has been posted yet, but jesus thats pretty serious. Can you imagine if he was successfull in doing it?
    MOTORISTS HAVE BEEN warned to expect some traffic delays in central Dublin this afternoon after a protest outside Leinster House.
    A man driving a white van stopped at the junction of Molesworth Street and Kildare Street, parking the van and climbing on top of it with a bottle of petrol
    the man poured the fuel over himself and threatened to set it alight, but was coaxed down by Gardaí at the scene.

http://www.thejournal.ie/photos-protest-kildare-street-823153-Mar2013/#slide-slideshow2

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭sfwcork

Why did they say white van...why not just a van

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

The price of petrol :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

Why coax him down? Why not just turn the hose on him and tell him to cop on?

• Registered Users Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

I heard he tired making a run for it but stalled half ways down the road.

he ran out of juice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,558 ✭✭✭seven_eleven

In my opinion, you have to be in a pretty dire mental position to consider doing something like that. Here's to hoping he gets the support and treatment he needs.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭wandatowell

Is it still funny to say "blast him with piss"?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

The price of petrol

It's a burning issue

donvito99 wrote: »
    It's a burning issue

It's a hot topic alright

• Registered Users Posts: 567 ✭✭✭.Henry Sellers.

Sure tis freezing out.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

Yikes I know we're in a bad spot but surely self immolation is a tad extreme?

• Registered Users Posts: 189 ✭✭Fred Cohen

A driver is stuck in a traffic jam on the Kildare Street. Nothing is moving.

Suddenly a Garda knocks on the window. The driver rolls down his window and asks,
    "What's going on?"

The Garda responded, "Some nutters have taken the Dail hostage and want €500,000 or they're going to douse them with petrol and set them on fire. So, we're going from car to car, taking up a collection.

The driver asks, "How much have you got so far"

The Garda responds, "About 15 gallons and a box of firelighters"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 797 ✭✭✭Dwork

It's times like these you need a Mick Dundee to wander up and go "G'day mate, whatcher doing? Dousing yerself in petrol? Won't that hurt? Strewth. Alright, fire ahead, I've never seen anyone do this before. Jasus, sounds pretty painful though."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

In my opinion, you have to be in a pretty dire mental position to consider doing something like that. Here's to hoping he gets the support and treatment he needs.

Not in this country..........
    Millions of euro ring-fenced by the Government to hire hundreds of staff to boost suicide prevention and mental health services this year was used to tackle cost overruns in other parts of the health services.
    Under plans announced a year ago, €35 million was to be invested in modernising mental health services during 2012, allowing for the recruitment of about 414 staff and the expansion of services in the community. Earlier this month, however, just 17 out of the 414 mental health staff – who were to include dozens specialising in suicide prevention – had been hired.

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/frontpage/2012/1229/1224328254932.html

Still, as long as no one is getting politician is getting fraped on facebook.........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,558 ✭✭✭seven_eleven

mikom wrote: »
    Not in this country..........

My thoughts exactly. He'll be lucky if he gets seen to at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 797 ✭✭✭Dwork

sfwcork wrote: »
    rascists are everywhere :D

He wanted to see if Fine Gael would spit on him.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,126 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

mikom wrote: »
    Still, as long as no one is getting politician is getting fraped on facebook.........

Jesus, hope no-one frapes him or she'll never shut up.

Be just our luck if he got flamed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭ilovesleep

Weren't people in greece turning to setting themselves up in flames? Where there are similiar dire financial problems.

Things are so dire for many people, it has come to that. Yet on the other hand, so good for many. For these people, they can't or don't want to see that things are that bad for some people. And for many more people - its middle of the road for them.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,039 ✭✭✭Hilly Bill

Has the van got Louth plates? Maybe its Maxi from Dundalk :)

• Registered Users Posts: 955 ✭✭✭Scruffles

perhaps he thought itd get him wide spread publicity to his plight as self immolation does exactly that in other countries; africa,japan and india for example.
    he probably woudnt have lit it though possibility shoudnt be ignored,in ireland and england dousing oneself in petrol and threatening to self immolate will get the rag media in a frenzy without having to barbecue self and thus direct attention to whatever he wants.

itd be interesting to know exactly why he did it,assume it must be something directly or indirectly related to the effects of politics.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭ilovesleep

Scruffles wrote: »
    perhaps he thought itd get him wide spread publicity to his plight as self immolation does exactly that in other countries; africa,japan and india for example.
    he probably woudnt have lit it though possibility shoudnt be ignored,in ireland and england dousing oneself in petrol and threatening to self immolate will get the rag media in a frenzy without having to barbecue self and thus direct attention to whatever he wants.

itd be interesting to know exactly why he did it,assume it must be something directly or indirectly related to the effects of politics.

I jumped to the conclusion that it was financial problems but I this was wrong of me. Nobody knows but him.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,126 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

ilovesleep wrote: »
    I jumped to the conclusion that it was financial problems but I this was wrong of me. Nobody knows but him.

maybe a developer who's being forced to pay back?

Most of the large scale publicity things I've seen are people who are having their second house or their mansion repossessed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 545 ✭✭✭Chemical Burn

Seachmall wrote: »
    Why coax him down? Why not just turn the hose on him and tell him to cop on?
    I heard he tired making a run for it but stalled half ways down the road.

he ran out of juice.
    Is it still funny to say "blast him with piss"?
    donvito99 wrote: »
    It's a burning issue
    Boombastic wrote: »
    It's a hot topic alright

What's wrong with all of you. It's not funny to be suicidal.

yes.

EDIT: No jokes about my username .... PLEASE.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 196 ✭✭shed head

whilst i appreciate the humour of after hours, this is simply not funny,people are struggling these days!!
    A similar situation occurred in Greece and the poor man went ahead with it and subsequently died!!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

He wanted to see if Fine Gael would spit on him.

They already have.

The man, a foreign national and aged in his thirties, doused himself with petrol from a two-litre Coca Cola bottle on top of a white van on Kildare Street at about 4pm this afternoon.

One garda at the scene said he was unsure what he was protesting about, because he had "broken English".

Wonder what he was protesting about?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

Boombastic wrote: »
    The man, a foreign national and aged in his thirties, doused himself with petrol from a two-litre Coca Cola bottle on top of a white van on Kildare Street at about 4pm this afternoon.

One garda at the scene said he was unsure what he was protesting about, because he had "broken English".

Wonder what he was protesting about?

Obviously not the price of petrol.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 90,700 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

sfwcork wrote: »
    If you were a driver you'd recognise the whole white van man thing

• Registered Users Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

What's wrong with all of you. It's not funny to be suicidal.

Mine wasn't a joke.

It's much easier to deal with depression when the person in question hasn't already set themselves alight.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,325 ✭✭✭smileyj1987

Could it be maxi again ?