RTE Announce FTA Saorsat service - Page 197 - boards.ie
Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
13-12-2014, 00:12   #2941
Thurston?
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 419
Quote:
Originally Posted by irishgeo View Post
... so its a case of lining up the dish with a universal lnb to 19e and the tighten that up and then start working out from the center until i find astra and 9e and the astra side of the arm should be higher than soarsat side.
That's the idea yeah. Hope it proves as easily done as said!
Thurston? is offline  
Thanks from:
Advertisement
15-12-2014, 07:57   #2942
lertsnim
Registered User
 
lertsnim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 3,419
Quote:
Originally Posted by jkk1 View Post
Also, slovenian programming on these stations is not encrypted, only the programming where there might be a licensing/royalties issue
Sensible way to do it, not like the expensive mess we have!
That's how RAI do it in Italy too. I don't know why RTÉ don't via Astra 2 as thst would make more sense. Of course it might be a contractual reason with Sky that requires them to be encrypted 24/7
lertsnim is offline  
16-12-2014, 12:12   #2943
TAFKAlawhec
Registered User
 
TAFKAlawhec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 126
RTV Slovenia are available via 16 east - however form any time I've observed them much, only their 3rd channel - mainly carrying news & current affairs - is FTA for the majority of the time, the 1st and 2nd channels being encrypted the majority of the time. Also, they share on transponder costs with their Croatian neighbour HRT. At present RTV SLO use the space to broadcast three TV and three radio stations, but the TV stations are all in SD and it doesn't look like there is much room for expansion on the said transponder (although RTS Sat from Serbia did appear on it earlier this year, again SD only).

With RAI in Italy, their three main channels plus most of their recently launched genre channels are by and large FTA in SD, with encryption only coming into play normally for sporting rights e.g. F1 racing. There is a legacy in this in that RAI were one of the first broadcasters in Europe to eagerly take up satellite as so to expand their reach into cable networks across the continent. However all of their HD output is fully encrypted, and the way that TivuSat is marketed, there's no guarantee that their HD transmissions will eventually go along the same path as their SD ones do.

The main reason for Saorsat being as it is is mainly down to cost, at least according to RTÉ anyway. They claim that the costs involved are around €1-1.5 million per year, which in comparison to the average cost of a transponder lease on a satellite over Europe is quite cheap (reckoned on average to be around €3 million per year) and whilst allowing for commercial confidentiality blurring the true costs, the rate of transponder rent on the Astra 2 satellites is thought to be among the most expensive not just in Europe but also the world. So just as an example we'll say it's €4 million per year. For RTÉ - or rather 2RN - to rent that transponder, the cost is no short change. What RTÉ could do is say strike out a deal with say the BBC, ITV or Channel 4 in the UK and do something similar to RTV SLO and share transponder costs i.e. use half of the corresponding bit rate. This takes the rental costs of a transponder down to around €2 million - however the bit rate available to them is rather constrained. For a DVB-S transponder this gives them around 17 Mbits/s, which might be enough to fit in the SD versions of RTÉ1, RTÉ2, News Now & RTÉ Jr/RTÉ1+1 at a half-decent quality using MPEG2 but not leave much room for other TV stations. What could be done instead is if the transponder is DVB-S2 then you've upped the bit rate to around 22-23 Mbit/s for half a transponder - you could have RTÉ 1 & RTE 2 in HD without SD duplication (as is the case on Saorview) along with RTÉ's other channels in SD MPEG4 with just about enough elbow room. You would however potentially leave those with Sky non-HD receivers out in the cold in terms of receiving these services.

Then comes additional costs - the costs of CA which need to be managed one of which being that tying such CA to Videoguard only could be politically contentious. Broadcasting FTA as they do with Saorsat avoids these headaches. Then other Irish broadcasters like TV3 & TG4 would have to likely make their own arrangements outside from RTÉ.

So overall Saorsat is a bit of a fudge, a classic case of an Irish solution to an Irish problem, but it does work - well at least it should do for most people. The problem is of course the issue of rain fade at 20GHz frequencies, coupled that the places most likely needing to avail of Saorsat are on the edge of the spot beam (Kerry, Cork, Donegal) where rainfall is quite high in comparison to other parts of the country, and the recent change in FEC value has done nothing to help with this. There would appear to be scope for 2RN to be able to increase the transponder power to compensate for this, but it doesn't look like it. Again probably down to cost.
TAFKAlawhec is offline  
Thanks from:
16-12-2014, 19:32   #2944
FRIENDO
Registered User
 
FRIENDO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Wexford
Posts: 472
Quote:
Originally Posted by TAFKAlawhec View Post

So overall Saorsat is a bit of a fudge, a classic case of an Irish solution to an Irish problem, but it does work - well at least it should do for most people. The problem is of course the issue of rain fade at 20GHz frequencies, coupled that the places most likely needing to avail of Saorsat are on the edge of the spot beam (Kerry, Cork, Donegal) where rainfall is quite high in comparison to other parts of the country, and the recent change in FEC value has done nothing to help with this. There would appear to be scope for 2RN to be able to increase the transponder power to compensate for this, but it doesn't look like it. Again probably down to cost.
Also have the issue of loosing the saorsat signal in Wexford with rain on an 80cm dish, very annoying.
The dish is only used for Saorsat.
FRIENDO is offline  
18-12-2014, 20:06   #2945
watty
Registered User
 
watty's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: The Research Station
Posts: 31,568
Poor alignment or too small a dish.
watty is offline  
Thanks from:
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet