Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Introduction to Java online course?

Options
  • 17-08-2014 5:18pm
    Registered Users Posts: 243 ✭✭

Hi guys,

Im starting a Software Development course in September and Java will be one of the main languages we will be learning. Over the last few months I have been doing the Harvard Introduction to Computer Science (CS50) online course which covers C and I find it pretty good.

Id like to get a few weeks headstart and do an online intro to Java course. Can anyone recommend one? I have no Java experience.

Any help appreciated

Thanks

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 2,815 ✭✭✭SimonTemplar

I really recommend this channel

http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL9DF6E4B45C36D411

The tutor's website also has paid courses (around €25) for other Java topics such as Servlets, Swing, Spring, but that beginners course is free. He responds quickly to any comments and queries too.

Tutor's website is www.caveofprogramming.com

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 19,240 Mod ✭✭✭✭L.Jenkins

Have a look at Code Academy: http://www.codecademy.com/ Doesn't just cater to Java, but a variety of other languages also.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 1,333 Mod ✭✭✭✭croo

Similar question http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=89606819 (and answers).
    First lesson of any programming language ... learn to use google! ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 243 ✭✭Decos

Thanks all, ill check those out.
    croo wrote: »
    Similar question http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=89606819 (and answers).