Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Culturally, how different are Italy and France?

• 23-08-2013 3:52pm
    Registered Users Posts: 2

I'm not too sure myself, would like to hear what you think.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Ask Zinedine Zidane

I always think of the french as being aloof, arrogant and snobbish.
    I think of italians as warm, friendly, vivacious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

6 whole cultures, whereas the UK and Ireland are only 2.6 cultures different.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

Well, they both really like good food and wine for a start.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,117 ✭✭✭shanered

Pizza Vs Croissants, simples!

Jake1 wrote: »

Lies. I saw this documentary about the French.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

And they have better food.

Didn't the Italians surrender and switch sides in that one. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,166 ✭✭✭enda1

Both countries are so regionally diverse that it's an impossible question to answer.
    Corsicans are more culturally similar to Italians than Parisians.
    North West Italians are closer in culture to the South French than to the Pugliese.
    Italians from the South Tirol are more Swiss than Italian.
    Sicilians are more North African than Milanese.

It's a complex question with a useless answer, sorry!

They are both big countries with differences within them never mind between them.

Sicily Vs Normandy?
    Lyon Vs Turin?

And they have better food.

French food is far better. Fact!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

66,000,000 French people?

A shower of bastards.

61,500,000 Italians?

A shower of bastards.

No difference.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭darkdubh

Having dated both a French and Italian girl in the past I can verify there is some truth to this.

• Registered Users Posts: 673 ✭✭✭pundy

the french are SLIGHTLY more bastardy than the italians?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,036 ✭✭✭Surveyor11

"Bon giorno" versus "bonjour", can't think of anything else

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Unequivocally different, albeit with a marked convergence on urgent cultural mores such as tourist arse-pinching, sexual harassment. petty theft and driving dangerously around fountains on shit mopeds

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

The Italians have pizza.

French eat snails and frogs and feckin Horses.

• Registered Users Posts: 443 ✭✭Elbaston

Can't believe sht like this still persists. Germany plowed through anywhere attached to it and many that weren't.
    (basically bringing a flamethrower to a fist-fight).

2. Napolean.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

enda1 wrote: »
    French food is far better. Fact!

Arse! I want real food not art.

66,000,000 French people?

A shower of bastards.

61,500,000 Italians?

A shower of bastards.

No difference.

I hear you're a racist now, Father.

Fine italian wine is like liquid velvet slipping down your throat.

( havent had it in yrs, but I can remember how good...)

darkdubh wrote: »
    Having dated both a French and Italian girl in the past I can verify there is some truth to this.

Which was more hairy?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭Madam

Arse! I want real food not art.

http://www.lecreuset.co.uk/Coq-au-Vin.aspx

Good hearty French food......

They also make damn fine cookwear;)

I'd actually heard Scottish women were fond of Coq.

MadsL wrote: »
    I'd actually heard Scottish women were fond of Coq.

Wouldn't know - I'm not Scottish;) They do however love the French, in fact they have a thing here called the 'Auld Alliance' which goes wayyyy back to Mary Queen of Scots days:)

Madam wrote: »
    Wouldn't know - I'm not Scottish;)

Where do you stand on the Coq issue?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,736 ✭✭✭✭kylith

The French are aloof knobs.
    The Italians are uncouth knobs, but their food is better. And so is their architecture. And their music. And their men are hotter.

• Registered Users Posts: 443 ✭✭Elbaston

3. Europes biggest army.

and whey hey hey more armour than any other European country

Where do you stand on the Coq issue?

Oh, I like it fine - when I can get a good one that is:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

That kind of thing reminds me how badly we were taught history of the WW II in school. The French influence in the war was massive and is normally grossly understated.

The Italians cost them selves and the Allies countless lives and when beaten, after a bloody invasion of Scilly and drive on to Roma, they jumped sides as soon as they surrounded.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Both places has fantastic food, lovely weather, friendly country folk and skiing in the winter.
    What's not to like.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭Paramite Pie

As mentioned before, the regional differences in these countries make comparisons difficult.

Someone living in Brittany in France has more cultural similarities with a person in Wales or Cornwall than they do with Parisians, nevermind the Italians!! Even their language is similar to Welsh and is not related French.:D

And Italy has a long historical period of city-states and autonomous regions. Each region takes alot of pride in their regions such has Florence or Genoa. While their both Italian, they won't consider themselves to be the same culturally/historically.;)

I hear both of them are fond of ze Germans. ;)

It's funny the way on an Irish site the way so many of the cheap snipes and snide remarks are just regurgitate English propaganda.

Why the bad will towards France, a fantastic and beautiful place?

• Registered Users Posts: 2 Deleted Items

enda1 wrote: »
    It's funny the way on an Irish site the way so many of the cheap snipes and snide remarks are just regurgitate English propaganda.

Why the bad will towards France, a fantastic and beautiful place?

That's because Ireland and England are culturally the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Have yet to have an experience of a snobby, arrogant Italian with a superiority complex in the retail / restaurant business. Im sure theres plenty of them, but I havent met 'em.

France on the other hand.......

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,229 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

All I can think of now is Hank Scorpio

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

That's because Ireland and England are culturally the same.

Not quite, as I may have mentioned they are 2.6 cultures apart, whereas France and Italy are 6 whole cultures apart.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭MonstaMash

I Francesi non sono altro che formaggio puzzolente mangiare scimmie resa :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Has this not ended in comparing the wimminz yet? For jaysus sake lads....3 pages in.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Nodin wrote: »
    Has this not ended in comparing the wimminz yet? For jaysus sake lads....3 pages in.....

3 pages in?

40 posts per page fwiw.

Nodin wrote: »

Nearly 25k posts and you still are in n00b mode :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 390 ✭✭Rubeter

Elbaston wrote: »
    Can't believe sht like this still persists. Germany plowed through anywhere attached to it and many that weren't.
    (basically bringing a flamethrower to a fist-fight).

2. Napolean.
    Not forgetting Verdun, a defence that would have put a Spartan to shame.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Are you basing that on stereotypes or have you spent time in both countries?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Nearly 25k posts and you still are in n00b mode :eek:

...at the end one realises that one is only beginning, grasshopper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,728 ✭✭✭dilallio

A French spy & an Italian spy are captured.

Their captors come into the cell and grab the French spy and tie his hands behind a chair in the next room. They torture hime for 2 hours before he answers all questions and gives up all of his secrets.

The captors throw the French spy back into the cell and grab the Italian spy. They tie his hands behind the chair and begin torturing. 4 hours go by and the spy isn't talking. Then 8 hours, then 16 and after 24 hours they give up and through him back into the cell.

The French spy is impressed and ask him how he managed not to talk. The Italian spy responds, "I wanted to!, but I couldn't move my hands!".

The results of a poll made by United Nations came out. The question was: "Please, tell us honestly what is your opinion about the abundance vs. scarcity of food in the rest of the world." The results were as follows:

The Europeans did not understand what was meant by "scarcity".
    The Africans did not understand "abundance."
    The Americans asked the meaning of the "rest of the world".
    The Chinese, puzzled, asked for an explanation of "opinion".
    Meanwhile, in the Italian Parliament, they are still debating the meaning of "honestly".

Are you basing that on stereotypes or have you spent time in both countries?

No, been to both countries . I based it on the opinions I formed when in each country, is that ok??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,001 ✭✭✭recylingbin

The frogs are good at cheese, the wops are good at pizza.
    That's my understanding of it anyway.