Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Second hand car nightmares! (Experiences)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Pov06

My dad and I were looking for a cheap diesel car to run around for a while so we went over to Ferndale Cars in Bray, Dublin.

It was a 2001 Citroen Xsara HDi 2.0. So we bought the thing and were driving home for about 30km~. About 2km away from my house the gearknob linkage disconnected and the car was left in 4th gear, so we had to burn the crap out of the clutch to get home.

So I gave the dealer a call and there were no problems. He called out a local company in my area which specialises in gearboxes and they "repaired" the linkage. (They actually reconnected the broken linkage and brought the car back).

A few days later the same happens and the dealer stops answering my phone calls. I bought a linkage myself, went to get it replaced and the mechanic tells me that there's bolts missing on the gearbox so oil is leaking. We got the linkage put on and it was fine then.

The car turned out to be a UK import and the whole underside of the car was rusted.

Considering the car had NCT we continued to drive it for 6 months when the EGR valve gave up and it was spitting out black smoke and stalling. We cleaned the EGR valve, it fixed things up but the car was idling poorly until it gets warm.

Not exactly pleasant but that's what €1,500 in 2010 gets you at Ferndale Cars :)

• Registered Users Posts: 22,818 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

coylemj wrote: »
    Anan1, it would be a remarkable coincidence if I wanted to 'get at' the seller and it just so happened that in evidence I was able to produce a current motorcheck report to show that the car had outstanding finance.
    Of course it would, but:

1. The point still stands that Donedeal cannot be expected to remove an ad on the uncorroborated say so of a member of the public.

2. To conduct their own investigation would be prohibitively expensive, so I can see how they favour that an 'at your own risk' disclaimer instead.

3. 'Remarkable coincidences' happen all the time. Look at the number of spoof ads people place on free car sales websites to wind up their friends and what not.
    shawnee wrote: »
    I beg to differ, I bought the car on the website but from the seller , It is silly of you to suggest that one buys a car from Donedeal , if you want to play with words....try scrabble... if you are not interested in the debate.:rolleyes:
    Words matter, shawnee. You didn't buy the car on the website. You found the ad on the website, and you then bought the car from the seller. You're trying to blame donedeal for your failure to ensure that the seller posted the book, which is, quite frankly, ridiculous.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭shawnee

Anan1 wrote: »
    Of course it would, but:

1. The point still stands that Donedeal cannot be expected to remove an ad on the uncorroborated say so of a member of the public.

2. To conduct their own investigation would be prohibitively expensive, so I can see how they favour that an 'at your own risk' disclaimer instead.

3. 'Remarkable coincidences' happen all the time. Look at the number of spoof ads people place on free car sales websites to wind up their friends and what not.

Words matter, shawnee. You didn't buy the car on the website. You found the ad on the website, and you then bought the car from the seller. You're trying to blame donedeal for your failure to ensure that the seller posted the book, which is, quite frankly, ridiculous.

Anan ... read the title of the thread !! I didn't even mention donedeal in my post , but not having the book posted was indeed a nightmare experience. Donedeal or any website was not to blame and I did not apportion any to them , merely to the seller who advertised on the site !;)

• Registered Users Posts: 22,818 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

shawnee wrote: »
    Anan ... read the title of the thread !! I didn't even mention donedeal in my post , but not having the book posted was indeed a nightmare experience. Donedeal or any website was not to blame and I did not apportion any to them , merely to the seller who advertised on the site !;)
    Fair enough! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Donedeal don't sell cars so I don't see the need for their name to be associated with any bad experience.
    It's shocking the amount of people who associate the advertising medium with their buying experiences. I recently heard someone say "Donedeal do great deals on used cars at the moment"... The websites don't place the ads, the seller does.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,651 ✭✭✭Captain Slow IRL

I've bought 3 or 4 cars off ebay, absolutely no problems with them. If anything, they were better represented by the sellers than on various other classified websites and magazines.

The only nightmare I had buying a car was from a small classifieds ads paper exclusive to the west of Ireland - seller wouldn't post log book and refused to answer my phone calls or texts when I tried to follow up on it. Total pain in the hole trying to sort out.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭shawnee

I've bought 3 or 4 cars off ebay, absolutely no problems with them. If anything, they were better represented by the sellers than on various other classified websites and magazines.

The only nightmare I had buying a car was from a small classifieds ads paper exclusive to the west of Ireland - seller wouldn't post log book and refused to answer my phone calls or texts when I tried to follow up on it. Total pain in the hole trying to sort out.

Yeah , if I am buying again , I will insist on accompanying the owner to the post box with the reg documents.:p

• Registered Users Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

story from last week:

called fella on WRX, which was on high side on millage, but decentish money. Arranged to meet in town.
    So i got my buddy mechanic and we set of 70km to that town. Just before meeting the seller, he went in to some small indy garage and asked to use their lift to check on a car. Costed us only 10 quid. ( bargain if you ask me, and fair play to my buddy to think of such thing ).
    So we meet the seller. first thing he shows is NCT sheet. ( okay... ). My friend was checking everything he could, he even took his own diagnostic computer to do check up and info on car, VIN code. then we went to that indy garage and got car up high.
    so nct was done few days ago and car had:
    *almost completely rusted brake lines
    *2 tyres one one side very badly worn ( bad tracking )
    *1 shock leaking ( so need 2 new shocks )
    *silicon instead of bushings in rear suspension. ( fecking cowboys )
    my friend got on the phone to his local part shop and got qoute for all parts.
    He droped price himself, because of these faults, plus had a big scratch on a wing, which he did himself few days ago. Shaked on a price, i offered him deposit and that i will collect car myself tomorrow. he refused deposit: "surely you will be here tomorrow to pick it up"
    so here is the best part, half way back i get a phone call from him:
    " jaysus, your mechanic is very fussy"
    " so? thats why he is a good mechanic"
    "well i talked to my mechanic and he can get 2 chocks 70eu cheaper then your one"
    "so what? maybe i like those shocks? we agreed on price already"
    "well, here is my last offer, agreed price+300eu, take it or leave it"
    "okay, then so bye bye"

car is still for sale by the way, he lost a sale as he got greedy on 70eu? Makes me wonder how easy it is to "buy" nct and how many cowboys out there.