Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Adams BBC One

12346»

• Registered Users Posts: 1,033 ✭✭✭Winty

danbohan wrote: »
    your right i dont know you , but your post lead me to only one conclusion that is that you are a unionist and probably a dup one at that , thats your right , its a view held by at least 1 million people on this island , so i have no problem with your politics , what i have a problem with your narrow minded bigoted rant at all things irish and catholic ,i dont support sinn fein either , i respect what they have done , i respect some of its members but i despise most of their socialist polices , as for adams he like all politicial leaders has faults of that i am sure , but neither you nor i know anything of what went on in the personal lives of adams families and you are relying on tittle tattle from 2 bit discredited journalists to advance your own deep hatred of adams , catholics , irish people .

I am a SDLP voting flag waving Irish rugby Fan.

I am Irish just not blind to what man like Adams has done to split the Island in two.

Ireland is full of Irish like me who are confident in themselves and not living in the past.

Yes I dislike Adams and the people who vote for Sinn Fein. Look at Martin Ferris a man who collected the killers of Garda McGabe from outside prison, and still people in Kerry vote for him.

You think I am not aloud to be Irish because I dont support the Republican Cause.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭OhNoYouDidn't

MUSSOLINI wrote: »
    McGuiness has admitted his involvement, why wouldn't Adams?

Because McGuinness has a conviction for membership and Adams doesn't.

oscarBravo wrote: »

Don't drive drunk; don't take up arms in a political cause that would be better served through political activism.

Yeah, because the civil rights campaign was doing so well! :rolleyes:

The implication from that post is that the Provo's kicked it off out of boredom.

Iwasfrozen wrote: »
    I'm sure there were protestants in council houses.

Again, plenty of protestants weren't employed either. Northern Ireland was a poor area. And having paramilitaries running around the place certainly didn't help things.

They were poor that's why they had poor housing conditions. But again not all Catholcis did have poor housing conditions. Only the poor ones.

You can't back that up.

I believe they were, however not as bad as Republicans here claim and it certainly wasn't worth one human life. Never mind the scores of people who did die.

Unreal.

IWF, do you mind me asking what age you are?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Winty wrote: »
    Not all Irish support the Omagh bombers

99.999% of Irish people don't support them. Including anyone in Sinn Féín. You're aware of that, right?

And Danbohan - Winty is not a unionist, and even if he was - he's entitled to have his opinion without being chastised.

dlofnep wrote: »
    99.999% of Irish people don't support them. Including anyone in Sinn Féín. You're aware of that, right?

Again I typed to fast without thinking.

I should not have included Omagh in a thread about Mr Adams, It may be misconstrue. Sorry

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,089 ✭✭✭✭rovert

You are trying to stay of the sexual abuse part of Adams life

The programme was on the BBC, I did not see it.

I asked did the programme interview his niece.

See again you jump to your heroes defence, Mr Adams the Saint

The brave men of 1916 would be ashamed of what Adams has done

What?

Are you saying that the brave men of 1916 wouldnt have sanctioned the murder of Jean McConville?

rovert wrote: »

Are you saying that the brave men of 1916 wouldnt have sanctioned the murder of Jean McConville?

Of course they would. Touts have been killed through the history of Republicanism.

The whole idea that the army of 1916-22 played fair is a complete misnomer. They didn't kick the tans out of west Cork using harsh words. If they had the technology the Provisionals had they would have used it.

On the actuial show, it was a soft sell alright, but you definitly got the feeling that once the anger faded in Adams it faded in the movement he was leader of. The flawed human side came across very well.

rovert wrote: »
    What?

Sorry rovert

I was attempting sarcasm. I was frustrated with some people only seeing the life of Mr Adams through green-tinted glasses,

Again I typed to fast without thinking.

I should not have included Omagh in a thread about Mr Adams, It may be misconstrue. Sorry

No probs :)

I was frustrated with some people only seeing the life of Mr Adams through green-tinted glasses,

That may be the case. But there are also those who see him through red-tinted glasses, and refuse to accept the pivotal role he played in the peace-process.

Correct, Mr Adams does deserve credit for getting members of his Party to agree to the GFA.

I think its a bit more than that. He got his movement to recognise that the other tribe had a right to exist and that the armed struggle could only go so far. In fact, the sticky position of 1972, but thats another days work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Unreal.

IWF, do you mind me asking what age you are?

I think he's reversed from that position in the meantime.

I think its a bit more than that. He got his movement to recognise that the other tribe had a right to exist and that the armed struggle could only go so far. In fact, the sticky position of 1972, but thats another days work.

Correct, Mr Adams has done a great deal but I resent some people turning him into a Saint
    Big Mouth wrote: »
    I think will go down in History as a visionary Irish man and a real Mandela like character.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,914 ✭✭✭danbohan

And Danbohan - Winty is not a unionist, and even if he was - he's entitled to have his opinion without being chastised.

i said his attidude was unionst a view he is fully entitled to hold !

• Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 28,791 Mod ✭✭✭✭oscarBravo

i said his attidude was unionst...
    No, you didn't:
    ok so your unionist protestant british...

i said his attidude was unionst a view he is fully entitled to hold !

His attitude isn't unionist however. He is a nationalist. He's just not a fan of Sinn Féin. And while I don't support his party the SDLP or subscribe to their political views - it certainly doesn't make him a unionist. And if he was (which he isn't) - you shouldn't be attacking his character like you did here:
    but your post lead me to only one conclusion that is that you are a unionist and probably a dup one at that , thats your right , its a view held by at least 1 million people on this island , so i have no problem with your politics , what i have a problem with your narrow minded bigoted rant at all things irish and catholic ,i dont support sinn fein either , i respect what they have done , i respect some of its members but i despise most of their socialist polices , as for adams he like all politicial leaders has faults of that i am sure , but neither you nor i know anything of what went on in the personal lives of adams families and you are relying on tittle tattle from 2 bit discredited journalists to advance your own deep hatred of adams , catholics , irish people .

You made a huge assumption, and were wrong on probably all of them. He doesn't hate catholics (quite possibly a catholic himself). And if he hates Irish people, then he's a self-hating Irishman (which would be quite confusing altogether).

Let it go. Winty isn't a bad chap. He just has differing views, and as Republicans (well, I can only speak for myself) - We need to be open to differing views and not go into defensive mode all the time. I found out myself through self-ignorance where attacking people's character for having differing views gets you. Absolutely nowhere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

Just for those who might be interested, the program is now on the BBC player.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

Fairly meh i thought. At least i learned how to watch iplayer through a proxy

• Registered Users Posts: 10,660 ✭✭✭✭maccored

haha - same here. I thought it was pretty even handed though - there were as many giving out about his past as applauding him.

I thought it was fascinating to see how figures such as Rev Jesse Jackson, Tony Blair etc actually thought of him. I got a few laughs out of it too.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,135 ✭✭✭POINTBREAK

MUSSOLINI wrote: »
    I thought it was fascinating to see how figures such as Rev Jesse Jackson, Tony Blair etc actually thought of him. I got a few laughs out of it too.

I doubt any of them would say what they really thought for a TV show.?

With a program like that all you can do is take it at face value. When a mostly retired politician like Blair offers a view like that I am inclined to believe him. I doubt they would say things like that then go home and stick needles in an Adams voodoo doll!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,135 ✭✭✭POINTBREAK

If you think about it. What was the purpose of the programme? I reckon entertainment.