Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Chelsea Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2011/2012

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 4,726 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gonzovision

Really good article here Zonal Marking, Chelsea's pressing game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,732 ✭✭✭SlipperyPeople

can we see how luiz does in midfield tonight avb?

thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

Very good read with some easy to read stats and goesinto some nice depth.

From the same article we have david Pleat's take on our 9 men display.

http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/blog/2011/oct/23/chelsea-andre-villas-boas-mourinho
    Chelsea's André Villas-Boas wins Mourinho medal for tactical bravery

Manager almost pulled Chelsea out of the fire with a bold nine-man system that had QPR struggling to cope.

No one could have envisaged the ensuing drama as Chelsea began this derby fixture with calm assurance. Daniel Sturridge had looked a danger on the right of their attack but after David Luiz carelessly nudged Heidar Helguson for an early penalty, the game swung Queens Park Rangers' way.

Buoyed by their early lead, QPR showed confidence and Shaun Wright-Phillips's runs off the line on the inside of José Bosingwa led to the full-back receiving a red card for impeding the winger. Wright-Phillips lacks subtlety but his movement from wide into the inside left-channel when both teams had a full complement of players was a threat Chelsea struggled to counter. When Didier Drogba was also sent off by the referee, Chris Foy, one wondered how the visitors would cope.

But Chelsea almost pulled off a remarkable second-half comeback. They countered their numerical disadvantage by condensing space with constant effort and endeavour and, amazingly, put QPR on the back foot.

Chelsea gambled at every opportunity and Neil Warnock's men did not help themselves by making poor passing selections and getting caught in possession instead of working the ball calmly and making Chelsea chase from flank to flank.Petr Cech made only one crucial second-half safe.

QPR-Chelsea-001.jpg

David Luiz and John Terry took it in turns to surge forward and support Nicolas Anelka, who missed a great chance from Branislav Ivanovic's cross.

It was hectic stuff but amid the mayhem the nine-man system deployed by André Villas-Boas shone. He left one up field in Anelka and as well as asking his two centre-backs to support him, also deployed Frank Lampard and Raul Meireles in semi-forward, narrow positions, reducing the distance between Chelsea's defence and attack.

With Mikel John Obi shielding, Ivanovic and Ashley Cole were also allowed to play as semi-wingers, giving the visitors a refreshing attacking shape despite being down to nine players.

For 45 second-half minutes, this game felt like the last five minutes of a typical league match in which a team have to throw the kitchen sink at the opposition in order to get a goal. It was incredible that Chelsea came so close to snatching an equaliser, and in defeat their manager displayed shades of José Mourinho during his time at the club; that of a brave tactical transformer.

can we see how luiz does in midfield tonight avb?

thanks

I'd love to see it, he could be deployed with Josh and Romeu.

I doubt it will happen though.

Anyone want to predict a team for tonight.

We have Cole, Bosingwa and Drogba suspended and Meireles is cup tied.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,704 ✭✭✭G.K.

I'll bite

Cech
    Ferreira-Luiz-Alex-Bertrand
    Malouda-Romeu-Josh
    Anelka-Lukaku-Kalou

Turnbull, Ivanovic, Cole, Mata, Torres, Mikel, Sturridge/Lampard

G.K. wrote: »
    I'll bite

Cech
    Malouda-Romeu-Josh
    Anelka-Lukaku-Kalou

Same team as I picked yesteday but I had Turnbull starting on goal.

Great minds and all that. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,627 ✭✭✭Sgt Pepper 64

G.K. wrote: »
    I'll bite

Cech
    Malouda-Romeu-Josh
    Anelka-Lukaku-Kalou

Can you have Cole on the bench if he is banned?

Eeeehhhh not really, I dont think the FA would like it too much. :pac:

Well, I can't read. Put both Sturridge and Lampard on the bench

• Registered Users Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭Caveman1

Reserves lost 3-1 to Liverpool today :mad:
    I hope Romeu plays tonight can't help but be very impressed with him so far. I think he might leave Torres on the bench, he'll be in for some stick if he plays

chelseayouth Chelsea Youth
    RT @BluesChronicle: Chelsea team for Everton: Turnbull, Ivanovic, Alex, Luiz, Bertrand, Romeu, McEachran, Malouda, Lukaku, Kalou, Anelka.

RT @BluesChronicle: Chelsea subs for Everton: Cech, Lampard, Torres, Mata, Mikel, Ferreira, Sturridge.

Balls that there won't even be a stream of this.

Turnbull; Ivanovic Alex Luiz Bertrand; McEachran Romeu Malouda; Anelka Lukaku Kalou

I was mostly right :D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,247 ✭✭✭Meglamonia

Can't believe there's no stream for this except radio! :mad:

Surely there must be one?

Meglamonia wrote: »
    Can't believe there's no stream for this except radio! :mad:

Surely there must be one?

Nope there won't be,not being broadcast live anywhere. Links to radio would be appreciated.

http://www.vipbox.tv/watch/14228/1/evertonvschelsea.html

Still hoping a video link is gonna pop up later :P

RT @BluesChronicle: Chelsea team for Everton: Turnbull, Ivanovic, Alex, Luiz, Bertrand, Romeu, McEachran, Malouda, Lukaku, Kalou, Anelka.

RT @BluesChronicle: Chelsea subs for Everton: Cech, Lampard, Torres, Mata, Mikel, Ferreira, Sturridge.

Balls that there won't even be a stream of this.

Thats not a bad team you know

Is it not on ITV2, Channel 5 or something?

Stoke vs Liverpool and Wolves vs Man City are the only two games being broadcast.

From liveonlinefooty
    Again sorry no other carling cup games will be shown tonight, this is completley out of our reach as they are not broadcasted live on any TV provider.

Stoke vs Liverpool and Wolves vs Man City are the only two games being broadcast.

From liveonlinefooty

Thats a ****ing joke our game will be the best on paper.

On Paddy Power it says live on tv so it must be live somewhere!

Ye can't understand it at all, was the same when we got knocked out by Blackburn the season before last. Would have been a great chance to see more of the youngsters.

Malouda captain tonight, would have given it to Ivanovic myself.....

BBC radio london if ye want to listen to it :D

Meglamonia wrote: »
    BBC radio london if ye want to listen to it :D

Cheers good, stuff

Penalty

• Registered Users Posts: 2,546 ✭✭✭Masked Man

http://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/console/bbc_london

Anelka just missed a penalty, Josh won it.

Why do we let him take them?

Wide ffs

Anelka misses FFS

Jesus christ Anelka

Should have been another peno

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

YEEEEEEEEEEEEEES Kalou 1-0. Huge mistake by the keeper.

Kalou goal... I think (I hate radio). Everton goalie ****ed up apparently

Masked Man wrote: »
    Kalou goal... I think (I hate radio). Everton goalie ****ed up apparently

Oh a good radio can capture the atmosphere pretty good and you can even imagine Kalou is a good player cos you cant see him!

Lukaku seems to be playing well by the sound of it.

Turnbull is ****e. Red card and peno.

Fecking turnbull

Oh a good radio can capture the atmosphere pretty good and you can even imagine Kalou is a good player cos you cant see him!

My imagination isn't that good.

Turnbull seems very rusty. And another red card, we're really racking them up this season.

Sort out this discipline for **** sake im sick of 10 men,sounded like he was playing **** anyway.

and taking luka off when Anelka has been woeful

Cech is a ****ing legend. What a keeper. Our back up is shocking though.

Cech is a legend!

double save cech - legend!

As if Turnbull can afford to f*ck around with Courtois around. Joke

Another unreal save by Cech by the sounds of it.

and another save from Saha - cech legend!

This is going to be a long last 25 minutes.

Mikel coming on we're grand :P

1 red all last season, 5 already this season!

1-1