Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

What flies have you tied today? Post pics here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 867 ✭✭✭jack01986

Some very nice flies there.

• Registered Users Posts: 405 ✭✭TimMac

Just bought a fly tying kit any suggestions for a few easy flies for a beginner?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 924 ✭✭✭okedoke

What materials have you got in your kit?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 3,455 Mod ✭✭✭✭coolwings

TimMac wrote: »
    Just bought a fly tying kit any suggestions for a few easy flies for a beginner?

Here are some simple but very effective patterns.

Dry - White Midge:
    white cock hackle, white body (either silk or floss), white tail.

Dry - Ginger Quill:
    ginger cock hackle, peacock quill body, ginger tail

Wet - Black Pennell Spider:
    black hen hackle, black silk or floss body, silver wire rib, no tail

Wet - Hare's Ear Nymph:
    Hare's ear clippings dubbed on silk and wound onto the hook thinnest near tail with a swelling behind the head.

Wet - Silver Spider:
    Black hen hackle, flat silver body, silverwire rib, no tail

Wet - Black & Peacock Spider:
    Black hen hackle, peacock herl body, invisible black silk rib, no tail

You can catch anywhere with those, any day of the season, rainbow, brown, perch or rudd. Tie them on 12s and 14s for the lakes, and 14s to 18s for the river, with the larger size for the first 1/3rd of the season.

G'luck with the fly tying!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 497 ✭✭experimenter

Tim,

Youtube seems the way to go...

There are some good tutorials on there that will get you started..

• Registered Users Posts: 129 ✭✭aidanf

Tim, check this site out: Go to the beginners lessons section and start at the beginning. Lessons are in reverse order so start with the buzzer at the bottom.

I've just recently started fly-tying myself. The only ones I've done so far were some buzzers, pheasant tail nymph and wolly booger. I found these all fairly easy from working through videos of them.

I've also found this book to be very good.

Aidan,

have you caught fish with your flies?

I am actually in the same boat (excuse the pun)...

I got a tying kit from herself at Xmas, and I actually won this vice in a competition last August...

Regent-Traditional.jpg

Included is DVD etc..so I'll start sometime when I get the chance.

• Registered Users Posts: 129 ✭✭aidanf

Aidan,

have you caught fish with your flies?

I am actually in the same boat (excuse the pun)...

I got a tying kit from herself at Xmas, and I actually won this vice in a competition last August...

Included is DVD etc..so I'll start sometime when I get the chance.

No, I haven't caught anything with my own flies yet - I haven't fished with any of my own yet as I've only really started tying them in the last few weeks. I'm hoping to get some tied up that I can use for the start of the season. It would be start the season with some flies I've tied myself:)

Lads: look up Davie McPhail on youtube.
    he has put up lots of clear videos showing how to tie the kind of flies we use in this part of the world.

This is the kit I have bought I havent received it yet so I dont know what material is included.

http://www.carrilon.co.uk/product_info.php?cPath=544&products_id=572&osCsid=ee71df9a24d6da965cf2b3ba918b5fad

Thanks for all the replies gentlemen, some very helpful posts!

That looks nice. Hope you enjoy using it!
    You have furnace hackles in that according to the photo.
    So here are another two patterns that use this material:

Wet Greenwell Spider:
    Tail three short strands of furnace hackle
    Body any light olive or pale yellow colour silk,floss, or feather fibre, thin at tail end, thicker at shoulder
    Rib: gold wire over to protect body
    Hackle: 2-3 turns of furnace hen hackle

Woolley Worm:
    Use for winter and spring trout as it imitates dragonfly nymph (fast) and cased caddis grub (slow) depending on the way you fish it.
    Long shank hook 12-10
    Tail: short tuft of yellow or fluo yellow wool cut short
    Body: peachock herl 3 strands wound into a rope first
    Body hackle: furnace or ginger wound palmered (up the body)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,498 ✭✭✭ironbluedun

What about springers IBD?

anything from 1.5 inch copper tubes or bottle tubes down to size 12/14 hairwings, really it totally depends upon water levels and the river/pool in question.

Not a photo of a fly this time, but nonetheless some folks may be interested to see the setup I use.

flytyingbench.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 437 ✭✭yank_in_eire

okedoke wrote: »
    making a determined effort to catch more bass this year so I've been tying up bass flies for the last few days - here's a couple:

Gurglers
    Gurglers.jpg

Clousers
    Clousers.jpg

Surf candy type flies
    BucktailSurfCandies.jpg

Ray's Flies
    RaysFlies.jpg

steve

Very nice! I bet that brown surf candy would do the business around kelp beds.

cheers, baby pollock was the look I was after

Could I make one suggestion - get a bit of hot orange in there as well. Most of the pollock fingerlings I see while diving have rusty coloured bellies. I do one of those with Polar Fibre and copper angel hair - if I can knock up a few would you be on for a swap?

Yea - sounds good I'll knock up say 4 of these guys with a dash of orange on their belly - swap you for 4 of yours?

Good deal - I'll pm you my details.

Starting to fill up my big box slowly!
    utf-8BSU1BRzAwNDIuanBn.jpg

I like the look of those Chernobyl Ants - any success with these in Ireland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,882 ✭✭✭Doc Farrell

jack01986 wrote: »
    Starting to fill up my big box slowly!
    utf-8BSU1BRzAwNDIuanBn.jpg

wow! what's the smallest there? 22? 24? very very impressive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,882 ✭✭✭Doc Farrell

coolwings wrote: »
    Not a photo of a fly this time, but nonetheless some folks may be interested to see the setup I use.

flytyingbench.jpg

coolwings, i owe u a couple of favours so i've got a proposition for you. I'll take three copies of your ten favourite flies for thirty quid. what do u think? i can collect them from your shop in the next couple of weeks.

what do u think? more trouble then its worth for u? its my birthday in a week so i'm going to treat myself to some flies anyway.

I like the look of those Chernobyl Ants - any success with these in Ireland?

I haven't actually tried them in Ireland yet ive never caught with them but just have them in there just in case.;)
    wow! what's the smallest there? 22? 24? very very impressive.

Thanks for that, smallest in there is 22 its a bit hard on the eyes when tying them to the leader.:D

I haven't actually tried them in Ireland yet ive never caught with them but just have them in there just in case.;)

Is it black foam on both sides or a different colour underneath? Might tie up a few for the craic.

Its only foam on the top part underneath is some teased out material to look like legs and part of the body.

cheers jack

• Registered Users Posts: 21 Racha78

Buzzer for early season :)

2naoaqd.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 119 ✭✭Cosimo Salvatore

I've been mixing it up recently. Going to try the moth today, also have been using wasps and sometimes bluebottles. Will keep you updated.

gurglers.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,157 ✭✭✭Compton

photoshop?

Yeah. Windup post.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 119 ✭✭Cosimo Salvatore

My bad, my bad. I wasn't trying to wind anyone up though. Apologies for moving things slightly off topic.

Back on topic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,498 ✭✭✭ironbluedun

huge work involved in making that thing, defo not worth the hassle.

How do even think about casting this!!!

orange-dragonfly.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 354 ✭✭premiercad

5494384952_60dde025fe_b.jpgMy fly tying bench, retro fitted and old PC table..;)

Very tidy.
    I like your use of light colours for the drawer units. There's nothing worse then a confusing mixed colour background while fly tying, except maybe a wobbly fly vice!

Thanks Coolwings, its NEVER that tidy, i want to add a back drop panel behind the vice for a vison panel though (make it removable) and stick a cutting board on the bench to the left for cutting with a scalpel but after that i'm happy enough...

anyone else got a tying sation they want to show? interesting to see what other folk on here call fly tying home

Already posted somewhere else, but here it is again.
    flytyingbench.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 297 ✭✭J. Ramone

Ah, I see I'm not unique with the sheet of white paper!

It's absolutely vital! :)

Lads
    What sort of flies could I tie with the hair from a calfs tail.
    Let's just say there's a few calfs running around cork without tails!
    :o
    (Only messing)

Once dyed it makes nice wings for salmon flies.

PeterRoss.jpg
    Size 14 holographic Peter Ross

Quality Yank - that wing is very nice

Cheers - only took about a half dozen flies in the bin before I got a wing I liked!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

The result of being bored the other day so took out the fly tying gear... :)

156447.JPG

5508389853_cea337a279.jpgFew small black midge patterns

Tried tying some USD patterns too but wondering about the hook up success with these type of flies, anyone else ever use them?

5508988042_838441409b.jpg

lightbox

Looks like a CDC tying of the funnel dun - haven't used them myself but I've tied a few and they're kind of fiddly. Seems like hook-up rate would be lower with the hook riding upside down like that but the only way to tell that for sure is to get them wet!:D
    What are the tails made of?

I use microfibbets usually coloured with a pantone for the tail for my smaller mayflies, and when I say microfibbets i mean a paintbrush. You can buy a cheap paintbrush for 2 or 3 euros and if you shop around you'll get perfectly tapered tails and you have a couple of years supply of tails in one brush! :D

Mcphailcaddis.jpg
    Davie McPhail Caddis Emerger