Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What is considered "normal"?

• 08-10-2008 11:42am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 357 ✭✭

I've been wondering about this alot as I am having problems with friends and housemates behaviour and actions. I wonder if they are normal and I am not? Or vice versa??

Examples:
    a friend of mine drinks most days and makes fun of me as i only drink occasionally at the weekend.

my female house mate pees on the toilet seat and leaves it there, doesn't flush, and apparently, does not use toilet paper.

all my housemates go to bed before 7pm except on weekends when they stay in bed TILL 7pm then get up and go out

friends and housemates rarely/never change bed linen or wash bath towels.

So what do ye think?

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,093 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Their behaviour is perfectly normal. For vampires.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

Normal? A nice pair of slacks. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 81,223 ✭✭✭✭biko

If you have to wonder if you're normal you probably aren't. Everyone else is normal, just not you.
    "Shoulda gone to PI" ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,808 ✭✭✭Gone Drinking

Are the females attractive? That's all that matters really..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

Are you sure she's a girl?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Ross_Mahon

Theres nothing wrong with drinking only at the weekend, its what makes the weekend good to look forward to. Your female friend that pees on the toilet seat...thats dirt! Pull her in over it, you dont want to be the one cleaning the seat everytime, Why do your housemates go to bed before 7PM?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

I've been wondering about this alot as I am having problems with friends and housemates behaviour and actions. I wonder if they are normal and I am not? Or vice versa??

Examples:
    a friend of mine drinks most days and makes fun of me as i only drink occasionally at the weekend.

my female house mate pees on the toilet seat and leaves it there, doesn't flush, and apparently, does not use toilet paper.

all my housemates go to bed before 7pm except on weekends when they stay in bed TILL 7pm then get up and go out

So what do ye think?

You're living with a bunch of hippies in a squat somewhere, right?

Are the females attractive? That's all that matters really..

Ehhh.... Peeing on the toilet seat, not flushing, not using toilet paper, not changing bed sheets or bath towels...?

Poor hygene is never attractive.

• Registered Users Posts: 885 ✭✭✭Roadend

Kiera wrote: »
    Are you sure she's a girl?
    (S)he could be wearing a wig, I suggest he tries ripping it off later.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 357 ✭✭capedcrustacian

Ross_Mahon wrote: »
    Theres nothing wrong with drinking only at the weekend, its what makes the weekend good to look forward to. Your female friend that pees on the toilet seat...thats dirt! Pull her in over it, you dont want to be the one cleaning the seat everytime, Why do your housemates go to bed before 7PM?

i have no idea, i've come to the conclusion it's to avoid having to have conversations but it's left me in a position where i may as well be living alone

Roadend wrote: »
    (S)he could be wearing a wig, I suggest he tries ripping it off later.

Or just tell her to drop em!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

Examples:

So what do ye think?

So no one told you life was going to be this way.
    Your job's a joke, you're broke, you're love life's DOA.
    It's like you're always stuck in second gear,
    Well, it hasn't been your day, your week, your month, or even your year.

But, I'll be there for you, when the rain starts to pour.
    I'll be there for you, like I've been there before.
    I'll be there for you, cause you're there for me too.

You're still in bed at ten, the work began at eight.
    You've burned your breakfast, so far, things are going great.
    Your mother warned you there'd be days like these,
    But she didn't tell you when the world has brought you down to your knees.

That, I'll be there for you, when the rain starts to pour.

No one could ever know me, no one could ever see me.
    Seems like you're the only one who knows what it's like to be me.
    Someone to face the day with, make it through all the rest with,
    Someone I'll always laugh with, even at my worst, I'm best with you.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭Smart Bug

Normal is everything you are not.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭Jigsaw

Probably not normal but I think we should celebrate diversity, not try to stifle it.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,808 ✭✭✭Gone Drinking

Ehhh.... Peeing on the toilet seat, not flushing, not using toilet paper, not changing bed sheets or bath towels...?

Poor hygene is never attractive.

Judge a book by its cover.. not its personal hygiene.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭Smart Bug

A person's hygeine is their cover, is it not?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,596 ✭✭✭anniehoo

:
    wrote:
    Well take comfort in the fact that you dont need to drink everyday unlike your mates.
    wrote:
    Are you sure shes a girl?
    wrote:
    I didnt even go to bed that early when i was 5.
    wrote:
    Get new friends! This may be "normal" in their world but id have you as a housemate anyday over them!

• Registered Users Posts: 799 ✭✭✭Indie18

chin_grin wrote: »
    So no one told you life was going to be this way.
    Your job's a joke, you're broke, you're love life's DOA.

You're still in bed at ten, the work began at eight.
    You've burned your breakfast, so far, things are going great.
    Your mother warned you there'd be days like these,
    But she didn't tell you when the world has brought you down to your knees.

That, I'll be there for you, when the rain starts to pour.

No one could ever know me, no one could ever see me.
    Seems like you're the only one who knows what it's like to be me.
    Someone to face the day with, make it through all the rest with,
    Someone I'll always laugh with, even at my worst, I'm best with you.

why would you do it.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 13,425 ✭✭✭✭Ginny

Examples:

So what do ye think?
    What ages are they?
    Are they students?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,844 ✭✭✭Honey-ec

I'm still trying to figure out how a girl could consistently wee on the toilet seat :confused::confused::confused:

Unless she also thinks they're a bunch of dirtbirds and is "hovering"...

• Registered Users Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭m@cc@

'Normal' and 'mediocre' go hand in hand. You should asprire to be either.

Honey-ec wrote: »
    I'm still trying to figure out how a girl could consistently wee on the toilet seat :confused::confused::confused:

Unless she also thinks they're a bunch of dirtbirds and is "hovering"...

Ah but she doesn’t use toilet roll either (how the op knows this is beyond me) I defiantly think she’s a he!

Kiera wrote: »
    Ah but she doesn’t use toilet roll either (how the op knows this is beyond me) I defiantly think she’s a he!

lol, i know she doesn't use toilet paper cos she never flushes the loo either, walkin in there in the mornings is stomach churning, the place smells like an alley!! lol

• Registered Users Posts: 10,206 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

lol, i know she doesn't use toilet paper cos she never flushes the loo either, walkin in there in the mornings is stomach churning, the place smells like an alley!! lol

What about when she takes dump? :eek:

Go home tonight and drop the hand. €50 she's a dude!

JohnCleary wrote: »

exactly!! surely it's not normal like? They are in their early 20's and both working in well paid jobs, but they still behave like students lol

a friend they had over to stay pooed in the bath tub once too, which was nice....

• Registered Users Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

JohnCleary wrote: »

Yeah, I once shared with a girl that didn't flush after a dump and quite often there was no toilet paper in the bowl either, just an evil brown turd greeting me from the bowl as I went to the bathroom in the morning :(

Durty! Yet this girl considered herself to be in the 'upper ranks of upper middle class', thanks to the family dynasty of attendance at Cambridge University. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 6,596 ✭✭✭anniehoo

The only rational-ish explanation is shes tryin to be environmentally friendly..saving water by not flushin etc. If its not that...well pity the poor lad who has to get jiggy with her and her non-wiped bits!:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,844 ✭✭✭Honey-ec

exactly!! surely it's not normal like? They are in their early 20's and both working in well paid jobs, but they still behave like students lol

a friend they had over to stay pooed in the bath tub once too, which was nice....

Ah jaysus! This thread has made me so glad I never had to do the flat-sharing thing...

All the long legs and pert breasts in the world ain't worth **** if you're a filthy minging hobo girl.