Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rude & Abusive Taxi Driver

Options
  • 25-06-2008 3:10pm
    Registered Users Posts: 41

Hi all. I firstly want to put out the word on this man and also to ask whether any of you have been in a similar situation.

I hailed a taxi yesterday evening at 5.30pm to take me from work (Dublin 4 area) to Griffith College (Dublin 8) where I am a student for my 6pm class. As I only attend on Tuesdays and don't drive to work and have a half hour window to make it on time, it makes sense for me to get a taxi outside my work.

I got into this taxi and told the driver where I was going. In between general weather chit chat, he asked me if I worked for a particular company whose offices were across from where he picked me up. I replied no, that I work in another office in the area (wasn't going to tell him exactly WHERE though!). I then conversationally mentioned a minute later that I had a specific way I would go to avoid missing my class once we got to the top of the road we were on and I would direct him from there as I didn't 100% know the names of all of the streets (a perfectly legal route, just a shortcut to avoid traffic and an exhorbitant fee which was pointed out to me by a lovely taxi driver a few months back). The moment I said this, the atmosphere changed which I felt but kept quiet.