Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I cant believe what my friend is doing?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

mufc4lfe wrote: »
    Mrs.mikom..........is that you?

Is that you, John Wayne? Is this me?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

ScumLord wrote: »
    Engineer + Garda = Macgyver guard, how can this not be a good thing?

Except for the mullet I'm all for it.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

Anybody who gets their hands dirty is labeled as a 'Greese Monkey'.

Better to play the system, wear a suit & spout crap.

Thats what FF polititians have done for years.

Obviously, we as a people, seemed to have looked up to the suit-wearing sleeveens of FF for far too long that can be healthy.

I can't understand how people here complain about the Govt.

Who voted them in?

Where did this come about from a person who changed from Engineering to AGS?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,051 ✭✭✭Whosbetter?

Building Engineers where suits

That's true & see how respected they are now!

In other countries, such as Germany, Engineer, is a protected term.

In the same way Doctor is here.

Any auld eejit can call themselves 'engineers' for any job description here.

Hence engineering, as a term for any career here has been totally devalued.

Overheal wrote: »

I watched that opening sequence.

Now I hate you.

It's your fault.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    Dude, like I know you think your friend is, like, mental for applying to be, like, a Garda and that, but, like, I'm totally glad you got over your mentalness a while back:

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=59281972&postcount=1087 :cool:

Cheer up, OP.

If there are any vacancies for professional green-eyed monsters, you'll have it nailed. :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 578 ✭✭✭the_barfly1

Still a year or more before the Gardai are taking on any more recruits though if im not mistaken?

• Registered Users Posts: 17,187 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

He's the kid from Sister Sister!!

Great now I'm youtubing that intro now. Followed by kenan and kel :P

Where did this come about from a person who changed from Engineering to AGS?

Okay, I dunno what AGS means....

• Registered Users Posts: 81,872 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Great now I'm youtubing that intro now. Followed by kenan and kel
    Kenan Williams is on SNL these days. Kel Mitchell on the other hand, I have no idea. The fact that I remember their full names is the most disturbing thing of it all.

/the more you know

An Garda Siochana maybe?

Kenan Williams is on SNL these days. Kel Mitchell on the other hand, I have no idea. The fact that I remember their full names is the most disturbing thing of it all.

/the more you know

Kenan Willams? Try Thompson :P

And he was Kenan Rockmore on K+K!

/the more you know

Kel Mitchell unfortunately died of an Orange Soda overdose in 2002.

"Who loves Orange Soda?"
    "Kel Mitchell loves Orange Soda to a crippingly, incapacitating and ultimately fatal degree. He does, he does, he does."

It was a tragic loss.

IvySlayer wrote: »
    An Garda Siochana maybe?

It might be, but I suspect Anti Govt Stance.

Well, on that score, I'd say my point is valid.

Govt's are elected by the people of the country.

So, it's a cultural thing, this disrespect of anything to do with engineering.

Your best off getting a job in the Civil Service & all that...

• Registered Users Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

OP, why is there a question mark at the end of what is obviously a statement in the thread title?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,522 ✭✭✭neilthefunkeone

Terry wrote: »
    OP, why is there a question mark at the end of what is obviously a statement in the thread title?

Im Ron Burgundy?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,250 ✭✭✭Buford T Justice

mufc4lfe wrote: »
    Well aren't you funny!I only used the word "like" ONCE and you make a big laugh out of it...sad,sad,sad.:rolleyes:

Dude, loike, I am so loike, looking for a job loike, because I'm a bit recessionista loike.......... Joining the Gardaí? Loike yeah, I can loike do that.......

Terry wrote: »
    Aaaaarghhh. Grammar Nazi..... Quick Run_To_Da_Hills.........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

I spent 4 years doing an electronic engineering degree and there are no jobs for it. Any jobs that are available, they are looking for experienced candidates?

I think the OP's friend is doing the smart thing in looking elsewhere.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

Surely engineering knowledge would be useful in situations arising in the gardai? If he moved into armed units surrounding buildings, also if he has an engineering degree his critical thinking's probably very good

so prob will get promoted a lot faster than a school leaver. fair play to him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Does he like doughnuts?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,399 ✭✭✭Bonito

Dude, like I know you think your friend is, like, mental for applying to be, like, a Garda and that, but, like, I'm totally glad you got over your mentalness a while back:

Sheer Genius!!! If I had a hat I'd take it off to you sir!

REDUNDANT THREAD me thinks ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

It might be, but I suspect Anti Govt Stance.

Well, on that score, I'd say my point is valid.

Govt's are elected by the people of the country.

So, it's a cultural thing, this disrespect of anything to do with engineering.

Your best off getting a job in the Civil Service & all that...

AGS = An Garda Siochanna. So your post really made no sense. Never heard of anyone abbreviating "Anti government stance" but if it is a standard abbreviation then obviously an understandable error.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

Chicks dig uniforms.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

bonerm wrote: »
    Chicks dig uniforms.

especially the ones they wear in mountjoy

• Registered Users Posts: 11,195 ✭✭✭✭Crash

I don't think you know what engineer means either, tbh.

• Registered Users Posts: 390 ✭✭Dopey

He will be very well equipped to defend the state against engine crimes.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭c0rk3r

I know a lad finished a four year Chemistry degree applying to Sandhurst (British Army Officer training camp). Hes from Dublin with no connections to Britain... When asked why hes trying to get in he joked about the uncertainty principle and Schrodinger cat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,106 ✭✭✭MoominPapa

Nice bit of detective work. Ever think of becomming a Garda?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 76 ✭✭ChemOC

c0rk3r wrote: »
    I know a lad finished a four year Chemistry degree applying to Sandhurst (British Army Officer training camp). Hes from Dublin with no connections to Britain... When asked why hes trying to get in he joked about the uncertainty principle and Schrodinger cat

My military career is both alive and dead until you tell me whether I've been hired!

• Registered Users Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Except for the mullet I'm all for it.
    Don't diss the fro bro, it's where he hides his awesome. :D