Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

worries over the garda fleet (again)

• Registered Users Posts: 994 ✭✭✭Peppa Cig

Head of Inspectorate just looking to get onside with GRA. He wants commish job and will probably get it too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

Peppa Cig wrote: »
    Head of Inspectorate just looking to get onside with GRA. He wants commish job and will probably get it too.

I think the Inspectorate has always done a pretty fair and impartial job to be honest. It's a shame they aren't listened to more often.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,528 ✭✭✭kub

Typical press bull, I am sure quite a lot of The Heralds readers will have noticed the new Hyundai fleet and the Ford one just before that. Now please don't get me wrong I am sure that perhaps Ford should have been the latest as they just seem to be a more solid car.

However with such a large fleet then some vehicles will reach their 300 k before others, also I am sure the older vehicles have more of a back up role and are not on front line duty.

• Registered Users Posts: 543 ✭✭✭Shady Tady

Peppa Cig wrote: »

The fact that it's a reality might have something to do with it as well! I see shatter showed his office a lot of respect when he was in office!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 994 ✭✭✭Peppa Cig

Shady Tady wrote: »
    The fact that it's a reality might have something to do with it as well! I see shatter showed his office a lot of respect when he was in office!!!

I fully agree it is the reality and has been the reality for many many years. Its not why he mentioned though. Politics at work here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,332 ✭✭✭Mr Simpson

carzony wrote: »
    Oldest i'v seen was a 04 focus recently :pac:

Theres a 99D Nissan Almera(?) in Pearse Street, now thats ridiculous.

• Registered Users Posts: 979 ✭✭✭POGAN

Mr Simpson wrote: »
    Theres a 99D Nissan Almera(?) in Pearse Street, now thats ridiculous.

There's older than that too but serious think about all 11 avenais out on regular units that are gone or soon to be grounded

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭Mister Jingles

98 Camery is the oldest ive seen, this its been a few months now since...

• Registered Users Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭donkey balls

Question for people in the know do the Gardai have people who look after the likes of fleet maintenance SLA etc,Along with purchasing skills/experience and to question maintenance/ repair bills would the force not be better choosing one manufacturer for the fleet.(Easy for parts etc plus neg on prices)
    And if need be another company to supply specialist units with more high power/spec cars ,If you look at some of the airlines and road transport companies they all use just the one manufacturer and the reason being easy access to parts and not having the hassle of dealing with different manufacturers.

Question for people in the know do the Gardai have people who look after the likes of fleet maintenance SLA etc,Along with purchasing skills/experience and to question maintenance/ repair bills would the force not be better choosing one manufacturer for the fleet.(Easy for parts etc plus neg on prices)
    And if need be another company to supply specialist units with more high power/spec cars ,If you look at some of the airlines and road transport companies they all use just the one manufacturer and the reason being easy access to parts and not having the hassle of dealing with different manufacturers.

Yes there are experts who test the cars and make recommendations. Of course they are generally ignored in favour of the cheapest deal.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,430 ✭✭✭Markcheese

Do Garda cars get rotated ? (from high milage or thrashing roles to less taxing runabouts) . Would have thought you could take the lights and decals off a silver traffic car when it hits around 200k and put it on a gentler role ?
    Or not ..

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

• Closed Accounts Posts: 318 ✭✭audidiesel

The new fleet is crap anyways. 1.6 Hyundai i30's. They should never have been bought. The focus's aren't much better.

The garda fleets been a joke since 2007. Once they stopped buying 1.8/2.0 petrol mondeos. The vast majority of cars bought since then are just not up to the job and spend half their lives in the garage.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,884 ✭✭✭pa990

Markcheese wrote: »
    Do Garda cars get rotated ? (from high milage or thrashing roles to less taxing runabouts) . Would have thought you could take the lights and decals off a silver traffic car when it hits around 200k and put it on a gentler role ?
    Or not ..

Thats kinda whats happening at the moment (as has been publicly stated) Stations with high mileage cars are having the cars swapped with cars from quieter stations that have low mileage.

The end result.. both cars hit their max mileage at the same time.

http://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/ageing-garda-fleet-a-financial-time-bomb-warns-inspectorate-1.1836076

The force is so strapped for resources it is transferring Garda vehicles from urban to rural areas in an effort to get as much mileage from them as possible, according to chief inspector Bob Olson.

“It’s a financial time bomb just ticking away. The guards are doing a great job in getting some jobs done in spite of the resources they don’t have. But the vehicle fleet: they’ve been shuffling them around, which is a smart move, urban to rural to get more mileage out of them. But all it means is that they are all going to crash at the same time and there’s going to be a big bill to pay. It’s troublesome.”

crash might be the wrong word to use, "become end of life" may be been a better turn of phrase.

• Registered Users Posts: 142 ✭✭sparkynash

The state of the tiny Hyundai cars they got omg way too small.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

sparkynash wrote: »
    The state of the tiny Hyundai cars they got omg way too small.

Too small, too bouncy, poor handling, under powered, too low to the ground, too noisy etc etc

Grand small family car but the i30 is not a useful hard going full time patrol car. Coupled with the new driving regulations coming which I do agree with but we are not prepared for it on the ground. Yes qualified drivers will have to be used as much as possible but in my district hq there only 2 drivers over 5 units.

So once again we are faced with short term planning to save money at all costs without looking at the long term aspects.

Are you in the force yourself..

When ye had the avensis where they any good.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,828 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

No, should have stuck with the Mondeos. Avensis, like the i30's, are too soft. Better again, there should be something set up with some manufacturer to have purpose built patrol cars based on a saloon, ie: a Mondeo with proper suspension, wheels, tyres, gearbox, power and without all the useless extras, and preferably with a screen between the front and back seats. That's dreaming though...

Like the American police.there cars are like tanks.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,448 ✭✭✭FGR

hqdefault.jpg

A Mondeo in everything but name - kitted out completely for police use.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 615 ✭✭✭Boaty

Plenty of space in the i30 tourer, plenty power for a 1.6

• Closed Accounts Posts: 318 ✭✭audidiesel

Boaty wrote: »

805197.jpg

only reply I can think of really....

I always wondered why a major car company hasnt designed a saloon or estate specifically for policing,

surely this would be better than driving small family cars into the ground,

would also thought there would be money to be made there for a company with fleet sales and servicing and so on.

TheNog wrote: »
    Too small, too bouncy, poor handling, under powered, too low to the ground, too noisy etc etc

Sounds like whoever ordered them was a fan of '80s American cop films. :P

• Registered Users Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭gctest50

Boaty wrote: »

Plenty power - really ????

- dangerous piece of cr@p for the job it was bought for

Half decent yokes at least - cheaper than having underspecced cr@p in the garage for repairs every other week

Follow-up Report

In 2002 we purchased an Outback and turned it into one of the few police cars of its kind in the United States. We shared our story in the summer 2002 Drive magazine.

I’m back to report our first high-speed chase using it: On a Sunday evening, two murder suspects were driving toward our little town. I jumped in the Outback and participated in pursuit.

Our little Outback chased those suspects for 95 miles at speeds over 105 mph and still had more to give. We went through roads that were dry and some with heavy rain. The Outback kept on going while the other cars had to watch for hydroplaning. I was called off after the 95 miles with the gas light coming on. Not bad, considering I started with less than half a tank.

And, yes, the bad guys were caught and taken to jail!

David Szambelan
    Asst. Chief of Police
    Colfax Police Department, WA

aaronc182 wrote: »
    I always wondered why a major car company hasnt designed a saloon or estate specifically for policing,

surely this would be better than driving small family cars into the ground,

would also thought there would be money to be made there for a company with fleet sales and servicing and so on.

Didn't BMW offer a purpose built fleet at a competitive price?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭Mister Jingles

How are the new Mondeos holding up ? Yea hear lots of phrase about the older ones but nothing on the new, considering they are not petrol any more and a completely different car.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,499 ✭✭✭Capri

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-11601537
    ....Currently the forces spend around £83m on 5,600 vehicles each year.....

.....In a statement, David Horne, of the National Police Improvement Agency (NPIA), said the money saved was a significant amount.....

......Beat officers seeking a new patrol car will be able to choose from "ready to drive" models that will need minimal or no modification......

....They will be able to select only certain models of Ford, Vauxhall, Peugeot :o or Hyundai, while forces seeking a high-performance traffic vehicle - which police often use while on motorway patrol - will be able to choose from certain BMW, Audi or Volvo models.

Other manufacturers in the preferred suppliers' list include Jaguar, Iveco and VW should forces decide they need other types of vehicles including motorbikes, vans and armoured VIP saloons.....

The NPIA said the single supply agreement meant most forces would save an average of £25,000 for each "procurement activity", while orders would be delivered more quickly.

The police service has also created a new national tyre purchase framework, saving an additional £3.1m.

The deals were struck as part of the NPIA's bid to find nearly £300m in non-IT related savings by 2013.

An average police patrol vehicle travels up to 15,000 miles (24,000km) a year and can cost a force around £22,000 to buy and maintain for a four-year period.

Home office police specs https://www.gov.uk/government/uploads/system/.../cast3911.pdf

• Registered Users Posts: 28,846 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

audidiesel wrote: »
    The vast majority of cars bought since then are just not up to the job and spend half their lives in the garage.

There is a certain irony between your username and that statement.

How are the new Mondeos holding up ? Yea hear lots of phrase about the older ones but nothing on the new, considering they are not petrol any more and a completely different car.

Only a handful of them around. The driving school use them so what does that tell you?

Regular units only got the Avensis, Focus and Hyundai.