Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Channel 4

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,680 ✭✭✭Skyuser

Originally posted by DMC
    This is not really Sky's doing, this is just a broadcaster firing up a transponder ahead of the interactive fest that is Big Brother, and they have to test it before it launches.

Wood <

> Trees

Does that mean Big Brother will be interactive this year on E4?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,659 ✭✭✭✭dahamsta

Originally posted by Tony
    I know for a fact that they do make mistakes with feeds
    Fair enough, mistakes get made. However does it really matter if people post about it? Surely it's only a matter of time - and not very much time - before somebody notices it, and then it's gone again? So people get a few more days, so what? It's hardly the Lotto.

adam

• Closed Accounts Posts: 234 ✭✭Colm80

Now that channel 4 has gone from been fta for the short while it was there maybe its better to bring this thread to a end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,812 ✭✭✭Charles Slane

The test is now showing video of Channel 4, sound from E4 and a black rectangle with "SSSL Test BB5" written on it in white.

The "BB5" obviously stands for Big Brother 5.

Up until now I've been a bit hesitant to contribute to this thread. It seemed to me to be a little hysterical.

I have to agree with Dahamsta when he says

"...mistakes get made. However does it really matter if people post about it? Surely it's only a matter of time - and not very much time - before somebody notices it, and then it's gone again? "

Although at least this forum has managed to keep a level of civility about the whole thing - over on DigitalSpy there seemed to be a temporary lapse of reason.

By the way the sound has just reverted back to Channel 4, but the big black rectangle is still there.

Interesting that a test for interactive BB is available on Irish cards - could this possibly be a positive sign for BB interactive in Ireland ? Probably not, but there's no harm in a bit of speculation now and then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 happycamper

Yes on my TV it says '' SSSL test BB5'' In a big black box. I hope this goes as its annoying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 294 ✭✭PK - the king

SSSL? Test? BB5?

Looks pretty hopeful!!! If you can view that through an irish card, it's quite possible big brother interactive WILL be available for Ireland. SSSL is Sky Subscriber Services Ltd. and they look after all of the viewing cards and encryption. Let's just keep out fingers crossed and hope for big brother 5 active in Ireland... :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,264 ✭✭✭JBoyle4eva

Even though that mesaage is up, I'm sure this could dissapear probably around friday evening when BB5 interactive starts.

However, those that did store it, we might be lucky enough to have it for the duration of BB5 as this could be an interactive feed for it, but who knows, it could even dissapear now!:dunno:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 815 ✭✭✭mickeyboymel

They usually block access to interactive screens, but in the past I have seen the Sky Sports Interactive Screen Mosaic or one or other particular feed which is still available. You can also access the TV Travelshop interactive mosaic and a few others if my memory serves me correct.

I suppose there is a small chance we may get to see the main screen, without any functionallity, but this more wishful thinking than anything else!

• Registered Users Posts: 529 ✭✭✭Pat Gleeson

I did think it was a test for BB5.
    Before the BBC went on air, an announcement was made,
    with an airdate.

When BBC 1 NI launched on Sky Ireland, a launch date for BBC 2 NI was given in the press release. The reason for the delay with BBC 2 was because there were no regional variations for BBC 2 at that time.

According to the lyngsat site the c4 variation was midlands, which also lead me to believe that a launch for c4 in Ireland on DSat was'nt imminent.

• Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 19,129 Mod ✭✭✭✭byte
    byte

Hmm, it would be odd if they used that transponder for interactive feed as it's Horizontal polarity while all C4 and E4 (incl E4 IRL) are Vertical. If they were to use that tp for E4 UK (being it's not the same polarity) then there should be no reason why it wouldnt' work for E4 IRL? I must be overlooking something (apart from advert variations)! :dunno:

Well that BB5 test is still there :(

so because the test is available on irish cards, that means the they are testing for E4 Ireland interactive. Is this right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,726 ✭✭✭✭DMC

Not necessarily, Skyuser. Only on Friday will we know for sure, although I'm sure it'll be no.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 510 ✭✭✭TVDX

Is this test on Eurobird?. If it is, then its quite possible Interactive will be available this year.

If its on Astra then its on a different satellite to E4 Eire thus we wont get interactive.

Its back to E4 again :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 58 ✭✭timpat

on a related issue... can anyone explain to me why Channel 4 cannot join Sky in Ireland? How can it be about rights issues when all of their American content and lots more besides is available in Ireland on E4??????

I just don't understand how they can give us E4 and not C4!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,386 ✭✭✭EKRIUQ

Thats a good question timpat, I don't think its been asked here before possibly if you do a search you might be able to get some information on that topic:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,726 ✭✭✭✭DMC

Quick answer: There is no clear reason why Channel 4 isn't on Sky Digital here, unlike Channel 5 (they simply won't) or ITV (as mentioned on the other thread)

The channel is still now showing E4 UK with no black box. :rolleyes: Will it be gone by Friday and back to C4?

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 3,816 Mod ✭✭✭✭LFCFan

nothing there this morning. looks like it's gone!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,115 ✭✭✭Pacifico

Originally posted by LFCFan
    nothing there this morning. looks like it's gone!!!

I'm still getting it. SSSL test BB5

Oh and its channel 4 :)

Yes it was just a blank screen this morning but now its back to C4 with the box 'SSSL test BB5' How annoying :rolleyes: Looks like I won't be able to watch BB launch now, unless E4 on Sat?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭Widescreen

I'm 47 years old ,not that old in my book. I'm into sport,all music types etc, enjoy socialising. However, I cannot understand why anyone could be so obsessed with Big Brother. It must be the biggest load of crap ever designed for television and I feel sorry for anyone who gets kicks out of watching the plebs that take part basically act the maggot!! I'm glad I got that off my chest. As far as Channel 4 goes the best programme they produce is the cricket which I watch and understand fully.Thank god for my FTV card which means I don't have to worry about a black square!

I think alot of people will disagree with you MOD EDIT: Removed comment

Less of the name calling now, keep it civil.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

keep the thread on topic please

I think that Channel4 are teasing us because they know that we know about this frequency and that's why they've put up that "SSSL test BB5" message. But hopefully, it's gone by tomorrow night. I bought an FTV card for BB5 about 4 weeks ago, but it still hasn't arrived!:mad:

Tipptop,Widescreen is entitled to his view, your post is not nice either I'm moving it to the recycle bin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 141 ✭✭Sin e an Fear

Originally posted by Gonzo
    As for UTV that will prolly never happen unless ITV becomes fta and I hope it does because I want ITV but at the same time dont want UTV itself, would much rather a proper professional ITV Region like ITV1 London.

Okay, maybe depressing news about the North may not appeal, but what is the attraction of London Tonight, etc? So you get news about Red Ken instead of Big Ian, and some local football. Whoopee-doo! I don't watch any ITV regional programmes, and I live south of London.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 246 ✭✭bishop brennan

Lads does anyone know what a an SSSL Test actually IS?!!!
    Having looked it up i got "Single Sided Single Layer DVD"??

Richard & Judy look better with the black rectangle though!

WELCOME BACK!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,608 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

Originally posted by bishop brennan
    Gotta watch out for those DVD-5s

I presume it stands for "Sky Subscriber Services Limited"?

Originally posted by bishop brennan

Richard & Judy look better with the black rectangle though!

WELCOME BACK!

As far as I know

SSSL=Sky subscriber services limited
    Who own the encryption system and the EPG onwhich the TEST is being carried out.

It's short for nothing technical.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

The attraction about watching different regions is when they drop a certain programme, making the late night film start earlier.

Eg, during the week, BBC1 NI might be showing some local current affairs programme at 11.25pm, followed by a movie at 12.20am — flick to BBC1 London, and the movie starts at 11.25pm.

[feck off ... it makes sense to me!]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 879 ✭✭✭thejuggler

Is anyone near a tv at present and can they check whats being shown on the test channel at the moment?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,115 ✭✭✭Pacifico

Originally posted by thejuggler
    Is anyone near a tv at present and can they check whats being shown on the test channel at the moment?

Channel4 with that black box......

• Registered Users Posts: 273 ✭✭Mredmond

... and the sound has been cut in the last half an hour also. Intermittent beeping only at the moment.

Originally posted by Earthman
    Who own the encryption system and the EPG onwhich the TEST is being carried out.

SSSL (Sky Subscriber Services Limited) owns the encryption systems, and the EPG systems & Lineups. NDS produce the cards and encryptor systems (does anybody know what NDS Stands for?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,463 ✭✭✭shinzon

yep the sound is just a beeping noise now, but every now and then the proper sound comes back, alternates between E4 and C4

shin

only a few more hours to go before the moment of truth... :dunno: :dunno:

Did anyone watch the frequency at about 4:50 - 5:10? It was showing a mulitcolour bar test screen with the words B'ig brother 5. Anyone know what this could mean?

let's hope it is the big bro 5 interactive feed :dunno: :dunno:

Originally posted by PK - the king
    NHS produce the cards and encryptor systems (does anybody know what NHS Stands for? Hardly the National Health Service? :D:D:D:D:D )

thought it was NDS who did the cards. cant check mine seeing as its 25 miles away

Eh... that's what I said, Mossy:

I said NHS produces the cards & encryptors!!!

What were you reading? :confused:

i said NDS not NHS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,812 ✭✭✭Charles Slane

PK, the question just HAS to be asked ... what are you on ?????

And where can I get some ??? :):)

Ah here, sorry. I'm totally out of it tonight. Sorry, mossy & charles slane. I'm totally confused with all the threads. I've had 15 e-mails come in informing of replies to posts and I've read & replied so much, I haven't a clue what I'm talking about.

Mossy - it actually IS NDS, very sorry. I have edited my posts accordingly.
    Charles - I'm not anything, thank you very much - just very tired. I mean it IS a friday evening!!! :D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 815 ✭✭✭mickeyboymel

Well its showing the live feed,the same as on E4, so the real test will be tomorrow at 12:15 when the live streaming broadcast on E4 finishes, it will be interesting to see if we can still view.

hurray, it is the interactive live feed. Fit Farm is on E4 now, but when you change over to it, its showing the live feed.
    This means that there must be another frequency that is showing the other camera angle. Can anyone get this??

Originally posted by Skyuser

This means that there must be another frequency that is showing the other camera angle. Can anyone get this??
    Nope it doesn't... :/
    Cheapskates E4 are only showing one camera feed on big brother interactive in the UK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,386 ✭✭✭EKRIUQ

Across the pond there giving out stink that they have only 1 feed for big brother and its the same as E4 but there's talk of other screens coming coming online in the next few weeks

• Registered Users Posts: 192 ✭✭Paul007

Are the details below correct because I can only receive two channels called PTV Prime and Teletext Hols?

12422 H
    2/3