Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Regards from Poland

• Registered Users Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

On a serious note OP, ( assuming you are Polish ) could you please Tweet, Facebook, email this information.

The search is continuing for a 21-year-old Irish soccer fan who went missing in Poland at the weekend while out socialising with friends.
    James Nolan, an environmental engineering student, from Blessington in Co Wicklow was last seen on Saturday night in Bydgoszcz, a town about 130 kilometres north east of Poznan.
    His family have issued an appeal for information, saying that his failure to contact them was out of character.
    Police in Poland have begun a search for him.
    The Department of Foreign Affairs is helping with efforts to locate him.
    Anyone with information can contact the Irish consulate in Poznan on 0048-880529105, gardaí or the Department of Foreign Affairs here on 1890-426-700.

http://m.rte.ie/news/2012/0619/missing-fan-poland.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Our European neighbours must have been taking happy note of our ability to take it up the ass and sing for more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

I thought it was great seeing the Irish fans singing at the matches & they brought some atmosphere to the games,Now regarding the games themselves well imo we need a whole new team to sing to :-) Time for change Time to go.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,466 ✭✭✭RoboRat

Jesus, reading this thread some posters think we should just have watched the match, discussed tactic and left with our heads bent in disgrace rather than shockingly singing and having a good time.

Thank God they stayed over here and the 'fun' fans went over.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Jaysus, this has really turned into something I don't like about some LoI fans who shout about it so much that they make themselves heard more than the others. Cut out the snobbery that you claim is so evident in all the other sports played through out this country.

I don't see the harm in some people going over for the craic. It would of cost a lot of money for them to get there, why not make a holiday out of it and have a good time?

As shown by the OP, they've enjoyed it too. Fair play I say. I recon the "mc" came from hearing a lot of Irish with that in their names.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,390 ✭✭✭The Big Red Button

I am sure a mod can confirm the IP address of the OP....

Only Admins can do that, as far as I know.

Why is it so unbelievable that a Polish person might sign up to this site to leave that message? The reaction of the Irish fans was widely reported in the media.

I don't know. If the fans had booed, or left the stadium in silence after each match, etc, there'd be threads up here full of people criticising them. Or if no one had gone over to Poland except fans who had "earned" the right to be there by attending every small local match throughout the year, with the result being that the Ireland team would have had very little support in Poland, there'd be people here giving out about that too.

The fact that the reaction of the Irish fans - who acted with grace and dignity and good humour - has left a lasting positive impression on football fans throughout Europe can only be a good thing.

• Registered Users Posts: 135 ✭✭lo0kash

On a serious note OP, ( assuming you are Polish ) could you please Tweet, Facebook, email this information.

This is in major polish portals since yesterday, including polish digg (wykop.pl)

• Registered Users Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

Ah sure we have to be the best at something

• Registered Users Posts: 147 ✭✭ayeboy

The OP comes on and graciously thanks us for helping to make the occassion even better for the hosts. And some bitch and moan about it. Unbelievable. What if Ireland get to co-host the Euros as has been proposed recently. Who do we want to see come to Croker and Lansdowne...the pissed off rioter or the happy carefree person joining in what would also be our celebration (as host)?

I'd like to thank the OP for taking the time to come on here. I went over for the Spain game. The build up and after party and even that 'song' were amazing. The Poles were a pleasure to meet and party with.

I'd also like to add...we drank less over the 3 days we were there than we would normally drink on a night out here. You didn't have to...we were too busy having craic, non stop laughing and acting the ejit. Oh and I also am a big LOI fan ... Finn Harps all the way.

Can every post from now on just thank Mateusz , the rest ...jog on!

Polska bialo-czerwoni

• Registered Users Posts: 586 ✭✭✭FANTAPANTS

IrishAm wrote: »

Any yokes, bud?

lol

• Registered Users Posts: 1,027 ✭✭✭St.Spodo

The argument about the state of the local game, while important and topical, shouldn't be for here. The fans in Poland were a credit to the country and made great friends with the Polish, by all accounts. That alone is deserving of recognition.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,205 ✭✭✭Bad Panda

Samich wrote: »
    Contrary to popular opinion, Ireland have not got the best fans in the world.

They're champions when it comes to self indulgence.

Team would've been booed off the park at Landsdowne.

• Registered Users Posts: 213 ✭✭Trigger13222

People don't bother yourself's replying to Samich , he is one of those creatures that live under a bridge.Just read he's post's in the soccer form.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,956 ✭✭✭Doc Ruby

Hank_Jones wrote: »
    Strange how a friendly gesture turns into a bunch of negative arguments.

Come on now, you're showing us up in front of the foreigners.
    This place is a veritable magnet for northern unionists and similar shrieking creatures for whom any expression of pride in Ireland or Irishness is an offence against their very being and prone to inciting them to a biblical fit of the vapours. Typically the same sorts you'll find complaining about immigrants and gay marriage.

Funny part is nobody in the Republic could really give a tinkers damn about them. Most people are barely aware they exist. Its like watching someone smear themselves in their own waste products and run headfirst into a wall, embarrassing and painful for them but mildly entertaining for everyone else.

And yet they persist.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 927 ✭✭✭AngeGal

What other choice did they have though? The Irish national team is awful and negative. Roy Keane was right. Only turning up for the craic, no serious mentality among the fans or the players.

Dead right you are sir. The fans need a much more professional mentality. Paying a few thousand to go over there and then they have the audacity to have a few beers and sing when we're losing? Bloody cheek of it... They should have booed the team off the field and went immediately back to the campsites without stopping for dinner. If only they had a winners attitude like yourself or Roy, we could win the world cup.

For what its worth, my job takes me abroad a lot, this week I have been in Germany, Belgium and now Luxembourg. In each country, at least two people have said to me something about the Irish support being incredible, one german guy even explained to me how watching our fans against Spain convinced him Ireland would recover and have a strong economy again. "People with such spirit cannot be down for long".

Anything that raises our reputation internationally is fine with me, fair play to every last one of our fans in Poland.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,391 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

If only he posted here two minutes later, the OP would have post of the day as his first post.

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭The_Thing

MatMc wrote: »
    Hello,
    I would like to thank football fans from Ireland.
    Dear Irish people, I admire your spirit, the dignity you sang "The fields of Athenray" I'm really glad we could host you in Poznan. I'll remember the Euro 2012 because of you. Respect!
    I was so happy to sing "Polska bialo-czerwoni" with you together in the Old Market.
    Thank you!

best regards from Poznan
    - Mateusz

And thanks also to the Polish people who have sent us lots of their beautiful women to keep us Irish men happy. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭Jay D

would the absolute w*nkstain moany c*nts on here go back home to mammy and get a good suck of her nipple and get her to sing you ba ba black sheep or something. Maybe it's better you hear something you like. and everyone else would like to thank Mateusz for his kind regards and also the welcome shown to Ireland in Poland, it was extremely nice to see and i can only see our relationship becoming ever stronger.

dziękuję bardzo

Jay

• Closed Accounts Posts: 579 ✭✭✭cartell_best

I don't speak Irish at all but I just wanted to say to our OP..."Cead mile go raibh maith agait". And I had to use an online translator for this "Sto tysięcy dziękujemy za"

You're country has brought our spirit out and you welcomed us with open arms and kept us with a sincere embrace. May we grant and continue to return the very same.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,878 ✭✭✭arse..biscuits

• Registered Users Posts: 1,576 ✭✭✭IrishAm

MatMc wrote: »

Ah, bollix. First I heard of this. Puts our teams performance in perspective. Hope he is found soon. My thoughts are with his friends and family.

:(

• Registered Users Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭languagenerd

Ah lads does it really matter whether the people who went to Poznan go to LoI matches?? I understand that the whole "best fans in the world" thing is annoying some people, but can ye not see the positives of this too?

I don't agree with Roy Keane at all - I think the supporters in Poznan realised that the team were doing terribly but decided to make the most of a bad situation. I think a lot of Irish people have that attitude in general (despite our pessimistic appearance :P) - "Feck it, it's going to be crap, so let's just enjoy ourselves anyway!". Isn't sport supposed to be about experience anyway? Yeah, we lost. But the people who spent all that money to get there still enjoyed the matches, they still embraced the sport and they threw themselves into the tournament anyway.

And if it gives us Irish a better image/reputation abroad, then why the hell is that a problem?!

Ah lads does it really matter whether the people who went to Poznan go to LoI matches??

No :)

• Registered Users Posts: 13,310 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

Cheers, MatMc.
    I had a great week and everyone was incredibly friendly. Little things were special, for example the owners of the apartments we booked in Poznan and Gdansk insisted on collecting us and our luggage for free from the airports and train stations rather than make us getting taxis; and the fridges were packed full of complimentary food and beer. :)

Enjoy the rest of the competition.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,576 ✭✭✭IrishAm

I hope James Nolan is dining with his family this Sunday.

Ive been there and I was lucky. Horrible experience.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Originally
    Ah lads does it really matter whether the people who went to Poznan go to LoI matches??
    No ...nobody begrudges anybody supporting their country away even if the football wasn't the prettiest to watch :)

• Site Banned Posts: 612 ✭✭✭Lionel Messy

There's an Irish lad who has been missing since saturday/sunday. According to the papers, he's 21 and from Blessington. I hope he is safe as sound and returns to his family soon!

• Registered Users Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

Cheers, MatMc.
    I had a great week and everyone was incredibly friendly. Little things were special, for example the owners of the apartments we booked in Poznan and Gdansk insisted on collecting us and our luggage for free from the airports and train stations rather than make us getting taxis; and the fridges were packed full of complimentary food and beer. :)

Enjoy the rest of the competition.
    But, but, that wasn't for you:eek:

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,665 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

Samich wrote: »
    Contrary to popular opinion, Ireland have not got the best fans in the world.

And this post nicely sums up why:)