Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Everyday sayings!

• 26-05-2010 1:49pm
    Registered Users Posts: 557 ✭✭✭

What slang words or sayings said where you live annoy the living sh1te out of you!?

Here, in Cork, there's the adding of 'isn't it' at the end of the sentences! Maybe you wouldn't notice it but if you listen out for it you notice everytime its said thereafter and drives you mental!

e.g: ''the weathers hot today, isn't it?'' , ''god that box is heavy isn't it?'' or ''look at that man over there, he's short, isn't he?''

Annoys the crap outta me, here in my work everyone uses it constantly at lunch, so i have to listen to music just to not hear them say it!

What everyday sayings or slang annoys you??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

I read the thread title a "Everyday savings"

I thought you had some tips on how to save me money... :(

• Registered Users Posts: 2,941 ✭✭✭thebigbiffo

jaysus

jaysus before a sentence, jaysus after a sentence, jaysus in the sentence

"jaysus, i drank like jaysus at cana...jayyyyysus'

• Registered Users Posts: 387 ✭✭force majeure

'aaaa flip it anyhow' trying to find a parking spot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,990 ✭✭✭Darksaga87

Me too, i was a pretty confused when it didnt start with "I was in Tesco...".

• Registered Users Posts: 150 ✭✭4davis7

well its not annoying but everytime some says alri or ok or yee at the end of their sentence..it doesn't really annoy me im just pointing it out ok:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭omahaid

Slang doesn't annoy me, like

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,568 ✭✭✭candy-gal1

knowwhatimean

lol i think this is my saying

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

go on ourra dat gets on my tits

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

'Init'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,456 ✭✭✭✭ibarelycare

"At the end of the day"

:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

People who say "rock" in place of "walk". eg "I rocked on down to the pub after work". Makes me cringe every time. :mad: Seem to hear it often from pretentious UCD types, which made me wonder if it might have originated there?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 539 ✭✭✭piby

My sister used to use the word 'trek' when she didn't want to do something/doesn't like it i.e.

Me: Do the washing
    Her: Ah Trek

Me: I was working all day
    Her: Trek

It eventually ended when I found her the dictionary definition of the word 'trek' :p

The other thing that really annoys me is pretentious fools using the word 'mayo' when it's mayonnaise :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭PK2008

"Its all the Brits fault"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 131 ✭✭xoixo

That guy is a total ledge.

Dinner was actually delish.

Niggs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,183 ✭✭✭storm2811

"know wha I mean like/lioke"

"ah no I'll do it later hey"

"ahh now.."

sca,cha,tae,buzz..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭omahaid

piby wrote: »
    It eventually ended when I found her the dictionary definition of the word 'trek' :p

What was her definition of 'trek'? All I get from http://www.thefreedictionary.com/trek is that it means "A journey by ox wagon, especially a migration such as that of the Boers from 1835 to 1837."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 353 ✭✭molloyjazz

shocking altogether!... said after somethings thats altogether shocking

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭foxyboxer

y'know?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭foxyboxer

How do Cork people say No?

"I will yeah"*

* requires sarcastic cork voice

people in the north say.. so i did, so i will after everything they did or will do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 131 ✭✭xoixo

'So I said to him, I said, I said. I said listen now, I won't be having you speak to me like that I said'

LIKE,... LIKE

• Registered Users Posts: 292 ✭✭gamgsam

xoixo wrote: »
    'So I said to him, I said, I said. I said listen now, I won't be having you speak to me like that I said'

What did you say?

"At the end of the day"

look here, at the end of the day its only a meme.. like!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭Glenster

jaysus

jaysus before a sentence, jaysus after a sentence, jaysus in the sentence

"jaysus, i drank like jaysus at cana...jayyyyysus'

Immediately sever all ties to the person who said that, change phone numbers, move house, surgically alter your face if you have to.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭Glenster

I dont know if people still do this but when I was in school in Munster 'fair' meant 'a lot'.

e.g. "She's a fair beor"............GRRRRRAAAAWWWWWWW!!!!!

Also 'Ledge' is an awesome word

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

molloyjazz wrote: »
    people in the north say.. so i did, so i will after everything they did or will do.

"me muckers had a bash for me so they did" "it got in my road so it did" "I minded the weans so I did"...half my family is from Donegal and most of the time I don't have a clue what they're talking about so I don't.

edit: also they call people "sir", I still think it's a bit odd seeing my dad, who's in his forties, calling his teenage nephews sir

• Registered Users Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭Smart Bug

Glenster wrote: »
    I dont know if people still do this but when I was in school in Munster 'fair' meant 'a lot'.

I was called a ledgebag once. Best. Day. Ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭PK2008

AWESOME!!

Real yank thing to say

pure dodge, is one we say alot in westmeath, well amongst my mates anyway!

Smart Bug wrote: »
    I was called a ledgebag once. Best. Day. Ever.

+1 to my vocabulary! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,385 ✭✭✭✭D'Agger

It's still goin with people from Tipp and Waterford

"Well boy it's fair warm outside aint' it?"

It's not the words that annoy me - it's the accent

My everyday saying which definately pisses everyone off is:

"I don't care what they say about you, you're alright"

Anyway it's run its course but if anybody wishes to purchase the patent pm me :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

When people use the word 'sure' like this, "Ah shure isn't it a grand day!", "Ah shure go on, I will have a cup of tea."

My very favourite, "Ah shure it'll be grand!" :)

Novella wrote: »
    When people use the word 'sure' like this, "Ah shure isn't it a grand day!", "Ah shure go on, I will have a cup of tea."

My very favourite, "Ah sure it'll be grand!" :)

When pronounced correctly it's "Asher" :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

Ooh, there's one in Cork "sure how bad!" which seems to mean "sure that's the way it's supposed to be/don't worry about that" so somebody says "Jaysis like I was gattin on there at me 21st, completely pissed, can't remember a thing like" and the reply is "sure how bad, it was a 21st"

Someone I know was doing her college dissertation on suicide in the traveller community, she was on the phone to her dad and started giving out about all the work she'd to do, and he goes (all in a strooong Cork accent)

"what's it on anyway?"
    "suicide in the traveller community"
    "what's that?"
    "well da, we're trying to find out why their suicide figures are so high, loads of the young men are killing themselves and it's getting worse"
    "sure how bad" :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 553 ✭✭✭flower tattoo

'well he turned around and said this so i turned around and said that' -

what way are we all facing now......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

We are all guilty of at least one of the above; but I cannot justify them.

The most susceptible to memes are younger females. They can hardly utter a sentence without one.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,941 ✭✭✭thebigbiffo

brainless 'mid-atlantic' chick from longford but thinks she's in LA: "ohmigod ohmigod ohmigod ohmigod ohmi*smack*"

me: "say ohmigod one more ****in time and it's the ring hand yer getting"

BMACLTILA: "ohmigod that guy just slapp*smack*"

Me: "i told ya it was comin"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,535 ✭✭✭Radharc na Sleibhte

me too, strange....
    this thread fails without money saving frugal advice tbh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭TanG411

People who use a sarcastic ''Err a sure''. Like ''Err a sure it's not all bad''.

Same with a post above, the ''Sure how bad'' is annoying too.

So she goes "Really?"
    Then he goes "Swear to god"
    So she goes "You're can't be serious"

So I goes "Stop saying 'he/she goes' or I'll stab you in the face" :mad: :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,535 ✭✭✭Radharc na Sleibhte

+1 for delish
    omg that like really get on my tits, ya know?

MikeySligo wrote: »
    +1 for delish
    omg that like really get on my tits, ya know?

It's annoying when an attractive woman says that because it leaves you thinking "yeah and I wish I was on your tits and all".

Double-standard. It's not fair goddamit! :mad: How would the ladies like it if blokes went round complaining about everything and finishing the thought with "it really gets on my wallet, ya know!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,975 ✭✭✭W.Shakes-Beer

"Bwaha...aawh Happy Days!" - Cant stand that saying.

"CHHHUUUUTTT YER MOUT(H)!" - by the local scumbags.

"aw haw haw, Fíonn! Put your log into me!" - general toff-ery.

"Cummere til I tell ye..." - random aul fellas in pubs.

"oh?.....I was scarleh!" - female teeny bopper.

I could go on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,975 ✭✭✭W.Shakes-Beer

bonerm wrote: »
    ..."it really gets on my wallet, ya know!"

Or: "ITZ A LOAD O' ME FLUTE!"

"Bwaha...aawh Happy Days!" - Cant stand that saying.

"CHHHUUUUTTT YER MOUT(H)!" - by the local scumbags.

"aw haw haw, Fíonn! Put your log into me!" - general toff-ery.

"Cummere til I tell ye..." - random aul fellas in pubs.

"oh?.....I was scarleh!" - female teeny bopper.

I could go on.

Yeah, I hate that one too.