Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kilkenny v Tipp, SHC Final Replay, Sat 27/09 @ 5pm

• Registered Users Posts: 2,403 ✭✭✭daisybelle2008

Fair play to Kilkenny, they always set the template for how to win a match. Small county, big hurlers. Tipperary are the only team to beat them in an an all-Ireland in recent times. As a Clare woman I loved our all Ireland victory last year, but we didn't beat Kilkenny. Fair play to both counties today.

• Registered Users Posts: 459 ✭✭Old_-_School

Last two Kerry-Kilkenny doubles have included players with the same name in both teams. Tommy Walsh in 2009, Paul Murphy in 2014.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,723 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

Kilkenny get away with so much stuff throughout a game

chopping, dragging back, loose hurleys
    the KK goalie took out Callinan for his final goal chance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,851 ✭✭✭Mountainlad

Anyone think Darren Gleeson can take a lot of the blame for the second goal. He did make to good saves, in the lead up to that and the intervention from Colin Fennelly earlier but had a few dodgy moments first half. The goal he went down one knee and to his left to early, left the whole other side of the goal open and it meant he could only get a feeble parry that left an easy tap in for Richie Power. If he had been standing up he could definitely have diverted it to his left and away from danger.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,893 ✭✭✭allthedoyles

Just seen Brian Cody interview and he raises his eyebrows on hearing Kieran Joyce was Man of the Match .

• Registered Users Posts: 191 ✭✭sammy37

nice_guy80 wrote: »

Its a game of hurling and not cricket. The begrudery in the gaa is something else as seen in the football final as well as kerry got lambasted.If its not the ref its the dirty tactics but its never that the best team might have won. Anyway fair play to the cats on a well deserved win and especially to henry shefflin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 63 ✭✭Fwank wizzo

Anyone think Darren Gleeson can take a lot of the blame for the second goal. He did make to good saves, in the lead up to that and the intervention from Colin Fennelly earlier but had a few dodgy moments first half. The goal he went down one knee and to his left to early, left the whole other side of the goal open and it meant he could only get a feeble parry that left an easy tap in for Richie Power. If he had been standing up he could definitely have diverted it to his left and away from danger.
    You obviously know nothing about hurling if you are posting something like that.That man had an incredible game.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,815 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

sammy37 wrote: »
    Its a game of hurling and not cricket. The begrudery in the gaa is something else as seen in the football final as well as kerry got lambasted.If its not the ref its the dirty tactics but its never that the best team might have won. Anyway fair play to the cats on a well deserved win and especially to henry shefflin

agreed and if its not anything above its , " i am sick of the same teams winning all the time " crap, fair play to both kilkenny and kerry in both finals this year both were the best two teams in the country and the only way we will see a changing of the guard is when teams can put it up to them enough to beat them tipp had there chances today and never really kicked on when they had the lead

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,249 ✭✭✭holyhead

Congrats to KK. Comiserations to Tipp. I sensed that this victory meant alot to Brian Cody judging by his reaction. KK up their game particularly in the second half. We were superb. Tipp put in a massive performance in the first game. KK had room to improve and did. Unfortunately for Tipp they weren't able to bring a performance of the same level to the replay.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,753 ✭✭✭corny

People can talk ****e about the referee or how KK get away with murder if they like but there can't be any doubt the better team won in the end.

Walsh, Joyce and Buckley cleaned out the Tipp forwards.

• Registered Users Posts: 929 ✭✭✭Markx

Just seen Brian Cody interview and he raises his eyebrows on hearing Kieran Joyce was Man of the Match .

That would be more of a reflection of what Cody thinks of man of the match awards in general than anything else.

• Registered Users Posts: 918 ✭✭✭RoscommonTom

Poor game but miles better than that rublish in the football last week, puked football, the Rupp fella going for a point instead of a goal was pure daft

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭BarryD

I'd say the average neutral punter is fed up with the 'same teams winning all the time'. Mind you, the hurling champ was miles better than the football but it ain't great at the end of the day for Kilkenny to dominate over so many recent years with a couple of blips. There'd be lads there, fine hurlers on good teams who haven't a single All Ireland medal to their names after years of toil. Whilst there'd be Kilkenny lads who probably can't find space on the dresser for them..

The logical way out of this as far as I can see as a not very knowledgeable punter is for a single All Ireland draw for the hurling championship and NO backdoor - if you're bet your bet. Try that for say five years and let Kilkenny takes their chances against some of the Munster teams early on in the tournament.

Match on TG4 at the moment 20 minutes gone

• Closed Accounts Posts: 63 ✭✭Fwank wizzo

BarryD wrote: »
    I'd say the average neutral punter is fed up with the 'same teams winning all the time'. Mind you, the hurling champ was miles better than the football but it ain't great at the end of the day for Kilkenny to dominate over so many recent years with a couple of blips. There'd be lads there, fine hurlers on good teams who haven't a single All Ireland medal to their names after years of toil. Whilst there'd be Kilkenny lads who probably can't find space on the dresser for them..

The logical way out of this as far as I can see as a not very knowledgeable punter is for a single All Ireland draw for the hurling championship and NO backdoor - if you're bet your bet. Try that for say five years and let Kilkenny takes their chances against some of the Munster teams early on in the tournament.
    If what you propose was the case presently,Tipp wouldn't have been there today,or have won in 2010.Or Clare last year.
    Instead of going down the road of changing things,why not appreciate what this KK team are and be grateful to have witnessed them in action?
    Their likes won't be seen again

You obviously know nothing about hurling if you are posting something like that.That man had an incredible game.

Obviously, thanks for pointing that one out. I'm glad you used very clear examples and discussed the point in question to ensure I can be left in no doubt that I am wrong and should spend my weekends doing some gardening instead of bothering with a sport I clearly know nothing about.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,115 ✭✭✭letowski

Well done to Kilkenny today, hope ye enjoy the next few days, a deserved win.

I think the backs showed great character today, in winning the game after the score they conceded the last time out. They are the template for every county on how to defend, as a unit. The Fennelly bros as well showed they're class too as they had relatively quiet games the last day. It's kinda funny, with Cody bemoaning the 3 week lay-off during the week, as it worked perfectly for him. Tipp were buzzing 3 weeks ago, but the lay-off gave Cody time to study and reassess his plan, not to mention make 3 huge changes that worked a dream. This is Cody's 10th All Ireland and in fairness he showed why he is the most successful manager in hurling.

I know it's easy to say it now, that Tipp went from scoring 1-28 to 2-14, but I really found the way Tipp attacked strange. last time, it was their movement and distribution that caused the KK backs all sorts of problems. Today, they were really poor in their use of ball. Anybody, from the expertsto people who barley know the game, knows that KK's main strength for years has been under the high ball. Yet Tipp continued to hit in hign ball into congested areas, a type of ball (Bonnar apart) they dont have the forwards to win. KK's workrate and intensity was higher today admittedly.

If what you propose was the case presently,Tipp wouldn't have been there today,or have won in 2010.Or Clare last year.
    Instead of going down the road of changing things,why not appreciate what this KK team are and be grateful to have witnessed them in action?

This maybe true but some other teams would and it's also possible that Kilkenny might have been knocked out earlier. The arguments are well known - the provincial champs shield Kilkenny from too much early competition and the backdoor system which was nominally supposed to give weaker counties a second game/ chance simply results in the stronger counties getting a leg up when they falter.

If you wanted to shake things up, surely just get rid of both.

• Registered Users Posts: 110 ✭✭Kkboy

BarryD wrote: »
    This maybe true but some other teams would and it's also possible that Kilkenny might have been knocked out earlier. The arguments are well known - the provincial champs shield Kilkenny from too much early competition and the backdoor system which was nominally supposed to give weaker counties a second game/ chance simply results in the stronger counties getting a leg up when they falter.

If you wanted to shake things up, surely just get rid of both.

We played Galway and Dublin in Leinster, two division one teams, both who have beaten us in recent years, your argument may have been relevant 10 years ago but not now

But then maybe, the powers that be wouldn't want to shake things up too much? They may be happy with the status quo? As things stand, the 'benefits' are (1) the stronger counties tend to prevail, so a higher standard perhaps guaranteed in the semi final and final and (2) more games and more cash :)

Kkboy wrote: »
    We played Galway and Dublin in Leinster, two division one teams, both who have beaten us in recent years, your argument may have been relevant 10 years ago but not now

Ah, but they might beat you once in a year on a good day - but can they beat you twice :) !!

Their likes will be seen again , and again year-in year-out

How generations of Ryans of Clara have represented KK.

How many Powers , Fennellys , Delaneys , etc etc

If you have seen as many KK teams play in Championships , as I have , you would not be saying that this team is unique .

Plus Clare won an All-Ireland last year without meeting Kilkenny.

What does this say ?

• Registered Users Posts: 558 ✭✭✭mullinr2

He got his goal did he not. Stop whinging that Kilkenny won. The better team won and not by chopping and dragging as you stated, but through true grit, determination and skill.
    Can you not just congratulate a great team or is it too much for ya?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,119 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

Markx wrote: »
    That would be more of a reflection of what Cody thinks of man of the match awards in general than anything else.

He got man if the match himself in an all-Ireland back in 2008, the oldest ever winner.

Always assumed he would have treasured that :)

• Registered Users Posts: 5,119 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

Nice touch that the speech was as gaeilge

Their likes will be seen again , and again year-in year-out

How generations of Ryans of Clara have represented KK.

How many Powers , Fennellys , Delaneys , etc etc

If you have seen as many KK teams play in Championships , as I have , you would not be saying that this team is unique .

Plus Clare won an All-Ireland last year without meeting Kilkenny.

What does this say ?

They've won 10 out of the last 15 all irelands, of course they are unique. Just because their relatives played for Kilkenny as well doesn't mean they were as good or they achieved as much...which they didn't.

To be fair, I ain't whinging that Kilkenny won today - they were the better team it seemed to me on the day, the Tipp forwards seemed to be living off scraps.

But as a neutral punter, you'd just think it has to be bad overall for the game, that's all.

They've won 10 out of the last 15 all irelands, of course they are unique. Just because their relatives played for Kilkenny as well doesn't mean they were as good or they achieved as much...which they didn't.

Noel Skehan has 9 All-Ireland medals and he won them just as fast as any other of the above players 1999 -2014

• Registered Users Posts: 487 ✭✭Formosa

Leave the hurling chat to hurling people please.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,288 ✭✭✭mickmackey1

Clare have equally as good hurlers but didn't have the motivation after just one All-Ireland. KK have several lads with 5, 6 or more but keep coming back again and again, truly a great generation.

And their domination has nothing to with resources or population, its just the sheer power of their hurling culture, which all serious fans wil acknowledge and applaud.