Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Running late for work, boarded train without ticket, fined

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,549 ✭✭✭✭Judgement Day

Whatever the rights and wrongs of this particular case, it's typical of the half arsed way CIE run things. For years you could buy tickets on trains but no, it's far simpler to be unhelpful and alienate yet more travelers. If as much attention was paid to the scumbag element on public transport things would be a great deal better all round.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,662 ✭✭✭✭josip

OP, I'm not entirely with the majority on this one. I don't think you have a legal case, however you do have options other than just coughing up the fine immediately.

I suggest that you write to Iarnroid Eireann via registered post.
    Photocopy all of the tickets that your "lassie" has and include them.

Don't be in any way demanding with the letter, but offer that "given your partners previous history of being a fare-paying customer AND the exceptional circumstances on the train that day" you are very willing to pay a fine equalling the cost of a ticket for that day.

Perhaps you were a bit annoyed at the time of your post but, if that's your normal style of communication, it might be better if your partner writes the letter :)

Make a copy of the letter you sent and keep the receipt for the registered letter.

If IE refuse your offer, print out the receipt acknowledgement for the registered letter from the web.

Send IE another registered letter saying that you regret they have refused your offer and that when the the case is heard in court you will present as evidence their refusal of your offer. State very clearly that you think this is a waste of court time, but that IE have effectively chosen to go down this route not you.

You then have 2 letters that MAY stand to your case if you choose to go down the legal route, which will end up costing you a lot of money whichever way the decision goes.

Most companies that are run on a normal for-profit basis, will value their existing customers and would respond positively to this approach. I'm not sure if IE will however.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,670 ✭✭✭Peppa Pig

josip wrote: »
    State very clearly that you think this is a waste of court time, but that IE have effectively chosen to go down this route not you.
    To which the judge will say that if you are so concerned about wasting court time then you should have paid the fine for boarding a train without a valid ticket and convict you and add a €1000 fine.

Bit risky ....

n97 mini wrote: »
    I'm not aware of any other company that takes such a confrontational approach.
    It's not confrontational.

I used to travel on trains in France and trams in Italy - armed police were usually in attendance when there was a spot check.

Exiting Montparnasse one day I saw a couple of lads leaning against the tunnel walls with their backs to the flow of people. I thought they looked a bit out of place until I rounded the corner and met a wall of inspectors and uniformed police - the other two were plain clothes police waiting to nab anyone who tried to double back and run.

In Milan on a small tram (one of the single carriage old ones) it came to a stop where there was a small army of inspectors checking everyone who got off and all those who stayed on board. Again they were backed up by police.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,549 ✭✭✭✭Judgement Day

It's not confrontational.

I used to travel on trains in France and trams in Italy - armed police were usually in attendance when there was a spot check.

Exiting Montparnasse one day I saw a couple of lads leaning against the tunnel walls with their backs to the flow of people. I thought they looked a bit out of place until I rounded the corner and met a wall of inspectors and uniformed police - the other two were plain clothes police waiting to nab anyone who tried to double back and run.

In Milan on a small tram (one of the single carriage old ones) it came to a stop where there was a small army of inspectors checking everyone who got off and all those who stayed on board. Again they were backed up by police.

Oh come on, so armed police accompany ticket checkers on the Continent - righty.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,559 ✭✭✭✭LXFlyer

It appears to me that IE has taken a confrontational approach, and seem to prefer issuing fines to issuing tickets, in the event that a customer has no ticket, regardless of the reason.

I travel on trains in Britain and NI quite a bit. I regularly meet ticket inspectors/sellers but I have yet to meet a Revenue Protection Officer.

IE offer everyone the ability to buy a ticket. If they decide not to buy one from a TVM or ticket office, then that frankly is their own fault, and no one else's. No one is forcing anyone to choose to use the train - there are alternatives. But if they do use the train, then they have to abide by the company's conditions of carriage.

The rule is so simple - if the facility is there to buy a ticket before you board a train, then you must do so, otherwise you will pay a standard fare. Where the facility is not available, then you can pay on board to a ticket checker or at the destination.

There is quite obviously a serious problem with fare evasion - that much is clear from reading the reports of the amount of standard fares issued from the recent ticket checking blitzes in the Dublin area. IE, as with any company, is entitled to take whatever measures it deems fit to protect its revenue, and frankly if that means issuing standard fares then so be it.

As for the UK, they have a completely different operating procedure, in that most trains require two person operation with a driver and a conductor/train manager who is responsible for operating the doors and revenue protection.

However, it is most certainly the case that on all UK Intercity trains, train managers employ a zero tolerance approach. If you board a train with either an advance ticket for a different specified train, or no ticket at all, you will be charged the full "anytime" fare for your trip which is usually a substantial amount of money - considerably more than IE's standard fare. If you cannot pay that, they will issue an Unpaid Fare Notice, which is an invoice equivalent to the full anytime fare for the train that you are on.

On certain routes in the UK, penalty fares apply, and where you are not able to produce a valid ticket for inspection you are liable to pay either twice the full Single fare to the next station at which the train is due to stop, or £20, whichever is the greater. Any travel beyond that next station will be charged at the full Single fare.

Many UK local services will have conductors selling tickets on board, for exactly the same reason as on certain routes in Ireland, that there are stations without ticket selling facilities on those lines.

At the end of the day, it is up to every individual company (and this is not just transport) to protect its revenue stream and take whatever measures it deems fit to do so. I'm sure that your employer would not take revenue evasion particularly lightly, so why should IE?

In the same vein would you expect a Dublin Bus inspector to issue you a ticket or a standard fare notice?

Oh come on, so armed police accompany ticket checkers on the Continent - righty.

I saw precisely this in Barcelona earlier this year.

Revenue protection staff were carrying out a blitz in one metro station, and behind them there were two members of the Guardia Civil who were indeed armed.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

Oddly enough JD,I was in Paris last year and witnessed a similar operation (VERY Large Scale and Highly Visible) at the same Station.

The scale of it was very impressive to somebody from this juristiction....mind you they were dealing with an equally large grouping of Roma Gypsy types and much arm waving,excited shouting and stoney-face looks were in evidence on each side...oh and Dogs...big wild looking Alsatians,slobbering all over the place !

Probably all a bit to Authoritarian for our sensibilities though ?

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

• Registered Users Posts: 27,088 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

It appears to me that IE has taken a confrontational approach, and seem to prefer issuing fines to issuing tickets, in the event that a customer has no ticket, regardless of the reason.

I travel on trains in Britain and NI quite a bit. I regularly meet ticket inspectors/sellers but I have yet to meet a Revenue Protection Officer.

If they always issued tickets instead of fines, then why would anyone bother to every buy a ticket?
    You would be encouraging fare evasion.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

josip wrote: »
    OP, I'm not entirely with the majority on this one. I don't think you have a legal case, however you do have options other than just coughing up the fine immediately.

I suggest that you write to Iarnroid Eireann via registered post.
    Photocopy all of the tickets that your "lassie" has and include them.

Don't be in any way demanding with the letter, but offer that "given your partners previous history of being a fare-paying customer AND the exceptional circumstances on the train that day" you are very willing to pay a fine equalling the cost of a ticket for that day.

Perhaps you were a bit annoyed at the time of your post but, if that's your normal style of communication, it might be better if your partner writes the letter :)

Make a copy of the letter you sent and keep the receipt for the registered letter.

If IE refuse your offer, print out the receipt acknowledgement for the registered letter from the web.

Send IE another registered letter saying that you regret they have refused your offer and that when the the case is heard in court you will present as evidence their refusal of your offer. State very clearly that you think this is a waste of court time, but that IE have effectively chosen to go down this route not you.

You then have 2 letters that MAY stand to your case if you choose to go down the legal route, which will end up costing you a lot of money whichever way the decision goes.

Most companies that are run on a normal for-profit basis, will value their existing customers and would respond positively to this approach. I'm not sure if IE will however.

They won't. Concepts like customer relations and customer loyalty are a bit alien to them. All they understand is sometime in the past they were able to write themselves a little law to allow then to force people to give them 100 euro and that's all they're interested in.

Peppa Pig wrote: »
    To which the judge will say that if you are so concerned about wasting court time then you should have paid the fine for boarding a train without a valid ticket and convict you and add a €1000 fine.

Bit risky ....

I'd be with ye on this Peppa Pig....

The first line of the OP's contribution kinds sets the stage....
    CIE busses parked and lots of people milling around (National Ploughing Championships). By the time my lassie got out and into the station the train to Carlow was there so she ran to catch it...otherwise she would have missed it and next one is 11am but she starts work @ 9am.

Is it the case that if the Buses were'nt "CIE" owned it would have been Ok ?

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

They won't. Concepts like customer relations and customer loyalty are a bit alien to them. All they understand is sometime in the past they were able to write themselves a little law to allow then to force people to give them 100 euro and that's all they're interested in.

You seem to be ignoring the fact that they only issue it where people evaded paying the fare - it will only be issued in circumstances where the person concerned did not avail of the facilities provided to buy a ticket.

That is fare evasion - it's as simple as that.

Well the regular police are usually armed and the inspectors were the equivalent of the RPU guys rather than the usual inspectors.

I was just making the contrast between what was a very confrontational couple of inspections I went through and what someone above described as confrontational.

I encountered the more regular two or three man inspections occasionally too - and I saw some people essentially ignoring them.

Kinda..but all we are now seeing with Irish Rail is their belated adoption of Revenue Protection and Collection principles historically practiced all over the Public Transport World.

I'd venture to suggest that there's not a developed Rail System anywhere which does'nt have accounts of people getting penalized for non-possession of tickets or other breaches of THEIR Conditions of Travel and associated Laws relating to the services.

There's more to Customer Relations and Loyalty than simply nodding through hard-luck cases as they rock-up on the day.

The offended party has a full menu of alternatives open to pursue this case,any or all of which could see them succeed in their arguement...however in order to proceed with this,they must also recognize the possibility that they could also LOSE the arguement,with all of the attendant risks that carries....It all hangs on just how correct they consider they are ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭FizzleSticks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

Armed police with alsation dogs checking tickets.....Wow, Is there any possibility that these "operations" were like the few Gardai operations each year where they crack down on drink driving or speeding with a few highly visible checkpoints where they will be seen by most people and also where news media can film the operation. Is it not possible that the Armed element of the police were there as a publicity stunt? or to back up other officers with dogs who were searching for drugs amongst train passengers?

This is Ireland not mainland Europe or even the UK, Thank god we don't have armed Gardai escorting ticket checkers, the whole idea for this country is absurd.

lxflyer wrote: »
    You seem to be ignoring the fact that they only issue it where people evaded paying the fare - it will only be issued in circumstances where the person concerned did not avail of the facilities provided to buy a ticket.

Not having time to buy a ticket before boarding the train is not the same as evading the fare! Is there any evidence that the passenger had intention to evade the fare?

http://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/evade

Also, in the last number of months in Athy Carlow and other stations along this line there has been notices posted that the booking offices will close 2 minutes prior to the arrival of all trains. in this instance the booking office may have been closed and Irish Rail will have given notice of this then the OP's Daughter would be entitled to buy their ticket on board or at their destination.

foggy_lad wrote: »
    Armed police with alsation dogs checking tickets.....Wow, Is there any possibility that these "operations" were like the few Gardai operations each year where they crack down on drink driving or speeding with a few highly visible checkpoints where they will be seen by most people and also where news media can film the operation. Is it not possible that the Armed element of the police were there as a publicity stunt? or to back up other officers with dogs who were searching for drugs amongst train passengers?

This is Ireland not mainland Europe or even the UK, Thank god we don't have armed Gardai escorting ticket checkers, the whole idea for this country is absurd.

Did anyone suggest such an approach was appropriate in Ireland?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭Banjoxed

London Underground has an even more assertive approach to evasion and are happy to see evaders in court.

• Registered Users Posts: 3 Morgana1988

Oh my gosh how lousy, the inspectors have big bags with bundles of tickets to sell on board the train, I have purchased mine once or twice while on board. I think it all depends on which inspector you meet, some are more willing to co-operate than others.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭bikeman1

OP Get over it, pay the fine and move on. You wouldn't run in to Tesco, grab some stuff from the shelves and say, I'm in a rush and didnt have a chance to pay. But look I pay for my shopping every other day, just not today because there was some event on outside and a tesco truck was in my usual parking spot and I'm running late.

If you can't plan that the biggest outdoor event in Europe is on in your area and there might be travel delays on your usual commute, I really have to wonder ....

Oh my gosh how lousy, the inspectors have big bags with bundles of tickets to sell on board the train, I have purchased mine once or twice while on board. I think it all depends on which inspector you meet, some are more willing to co-operate than others.

No they don't. As I posted above there is a difference.

Ticket checkers also sell tickets, but generally operate on routes where there are stations that have no ticket selling facilities.

Revenue Protection Unit (RPU) staff do not sell tickets. Their sole function is to check tickets and issue standard fares where appropriate. They operate across the entire network.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 701 ✭✭✭BenShermin

Nice Botty wrote: »
    Learn to buy a ticket or else be fined.

And will the actual fare evading scum that intimidate RPU officers up and down this country every day ever learn this lesson? No they bloody well won't:mad:!

There is absolutely no consistency whatsoever in the revenue protection service IÉ have in place. Posters have made the comparison with the UK that they have manned and unmanned stations, and you can buy tickets on board in some places and others you can not. That is correct, however what the UK has is a national rail enquiries website that lists every single UK station, what ticket buying options are available from the station and the list of train operating companies servicing the station and each of their fare policies. Here in Ireland we've had a recent case of a boards.ie poster who looked at the Irish Rail website and on it he saw that Kilcock had no ticket office or TVM, however the station actually did have one and he was fined €100 simply because IÉ couldn't be arsed updating their website information. And yet we still had people on here arguing that he should have seen the TVM in Kilcock :rolleyes:!

I've seen on many an occasion fare evaders jump barriers at Connolly, Tara and Pearse Stations and the RPU have never ever given chase. Yet the honest punter who might have forgot his annual pass and politely goes up to the RPU officer at the barrier to explain this situation gets a €100 fine, and faces stupid amounts of red tape to appeal this even though they are supposed to be a "valued" customer of the company:confused:??

And then of course there's Broombridge!! How many people fare evade every day by just saying to the RPU; "I got on at Broombridge??":rolleyes:

Until IÉ themselves are consistent in their revenue protection procedure I'll never see a standard fare amount as large as €100 being fair. Have IÉ ever considered the loss in custom to car/bus (and subsequent loss in revenue) some of these RPU decisions make?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

Delighted. I've lost count of the times I've been knocked sideways by commuters rushing to get their trains. We all have to get to work, so, relax, take a deep breath and get the next one.

old hippy wrote: »
    Delighted. I've lost count of the times I've been knocked sideways by commuters rushing to get their trains. We all have to get to work, so, relax, take a deep breath and get the next one.
    The next train is not for almost three hours and the only bus service between the two towns was gone at that time.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,662 ✭✭✭✭josip

At the end of the day, it is up to every individual company (and this is not just transport) to protect its revenue stream and take whatever measures it deems fit to do so. I'm sure that your employer would not take revenue evasion particularly lightly, so why should IE?

Protecting revenue streams would also normally involve keeping existing customers happy and treating them well. "Well" is not the same as legally correct.
    Or is IE's customer's base so big and captive to their service that IE have no concerns about losing a few customers by strictly applying the rules?

For me the difference in this case is that the customer can prove that she normally purchases a ticket for the service she was on. While she was dealt with correctly according to the rules she was not IMO dealt with properly as a customer by the RPO. It remains to be seen if IE will view her case differently. Rail services are usually monopolies and know that their customers have no alternative but to use their services. As a result they can take a stricter line without losing customers

• Site Banned Posts: 20 Nice Botty

foggy_lad wrote: »
    The next train is not for almost three hours and the only bus service between the two towns was gone at that time.

Even more of a motivation for this lazy lassie TO BE ON TIME !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

How is showing them out of date (and therefore not valid) tickets going to achieve anything?

Also, I dont think you'll be meeting anyone in court.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

I ignore nothing. You're missing the point. It's not about issuing fines, there's no time for an inspector to look too deeply in to things on board a train.

The problem is how it's handled afterwards. I.e. when the circumstances clearly show the person was not attempting to deprive Irish Rail of revenue.

No private company with competition to fear would fine their regular customers. There's a distinction to be made between people who pay for and use the train every day who for one reason or another don't have a ticket on them on one particular day and someone chancing their arm trying doing their best to not pay their fare. And don't tell me they don't have the time to deal with this because it doesn't take more than a minute to have a look at scans of past tickets or past receipts.
    AlekSmart wrote: »
    Kinda..but all we are now seeing with Irish Rail is their belated adoption of Revenue Protection and Collection principles historically practiced all over the Public Transport World.
    The whole world doing something does not make it a good idea.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 24,924 Mod ✭✭✭✭BuffyBot

Folks, keep to the topic. I've had to delete some posts: the name IE selects to call their staff is pretty irrelevant to the actual issue at hand