Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Just Like Hollywood

• 22-11-2006 10:18am
    Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 39,255 Mod ✭✭✭✭

I had a great drive yesterday morning!
    The missus told me that she was having contractions (she was preggers!) so we decided to head into the Coombe.
    Being just after 8:30 traffic was fairly crap but she seemed content enough sitting in the usual N4 inbound queues. By the time we were passing Woodies the contractions were 5 mins apart and I was thinking that I didn't want my leather getting ruined. Seeing a squad car parked on the brow of the hill before the Liffey Valley SC slip road, I pulled up beside them and asked if I could use the bus lane.
    The lads in the car asked how far gone she was and I told them.
    "We'll drive you there" they said and on with the blue lights and sirens.
    We tore down the bus lane, around the M50 roundabout and down onto the M50 (I would have thought continuing on the N4 would mean less traffic!). The M50 appeared as if it wasn't moving. Still all the cars moved out of our way and we flew down it swerving from one lane to the other.
    Got onto the Naas rd and we were doing over 80mph! Went down the longmile rd and he dropped us off at the hospital.
    I have to say its absolutely brilliant being in that situation but you do get to see some idiots. One car pulled out of a side rd right in front of the squad car!
    Icidentally our daughter was born at 1:35am so as it turned out there was no rush!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,290 ✭✭✭gonker

totally off topic....but congratulations on the birth of your daughter kbannon.:D

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 39,255 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

I had thought it went into a new thread - im tired! - sorted now

• Registered Users Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

Congrats !

and the real question is ...what were you more excited about?

:D:D:D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭ciarsd

Congrats on the birth of your daughter - now then, back to this escort - that don't happen to you every day :D

• Registered Users Posts: 45,386 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

ciarsd wrote:
    Congrats on the birth of your daughter - now then, back to this escort - that don't happen to you every day :D
    the lads' wife has just has a baby... no need to be talking about illegal sex! ;D

• Registered Users Posts: 8,325 ✭✭✭BrianD3

kbannon wrote:
    I was thinking that I didn't want my leather getting ruined.
    There's a man with his priorities in order :D

• Registered Users Posts: 5,994 ✭✭✭ambro25

Congrats kbannon. Was there myself 2 years ago, best thing to happen in a man's life :) (didn't get no escort though ;) )

Looking fwd to read you 'motoring' posts over the next few months and witness if this changes your outlook on motoring life and ownership :D

• Registered Users Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭Bluetonic

Congrats, hope mother and baby are doing well.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,691 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

What a nice motoring story, for a change.

Congrats btw. I hope all are healthy and happy.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,991 ✭✭✭el tel

Congratulations Kbannon! The Gardai are top men in my book. Did you considering overtaking them at any point, just for the laugh, like? ;)

Cheers lads.
    The drive was abslutely brilliant! One of those once in a lifetime things!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭franksm

Congrats dude !

• Registered Users Posts: 4,269 ✭✭✭MercMad

Congratulations to you and the new Mum !

I have two myself, youngest is 2 1/2 and that morning I broke 5 sets of lights on the way in, progressed slowly through obviously with hardly any traffic. We thought when leaving home that we'd have plenty of time but 30 mins later the wife said "Floor it !"............so I did !

Fifty minutes later I was feeding the baby in my arms !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭C_Breeze

congarts ! born on the 22/11 ...same as myself !:)

...and wat car where u driving just out of curiosity?

C_Breeze wrote:
    congarts ! born on the 22/11 ...same as myself !:)
    Happy Birthday!
    C_Breeze wrote:
    ...and wat car where u driving just out of curiosity?
    1997 BMW 523i Montreal Blue (dark blue/purpley)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭Borzoi

Congratulations family man!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

Well done and congrats, is it your first ?

Second - I had another BMW before this one! ;)

(second kid also)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭kluivert

No wonder there is so much road rage with Dublin with all the pregant ladies rushing to the hospital, trying to beat the morning traffic.

Id say the boys in blue where happy to do something exciting for a change.

Where you able to keep up with them.

Best wishes also.

kluivert wrote:
    No wonder there is so much road rage with Dublin with all the pregant ladies rushing to the hospital, trying to beat the morning traffic.
    On the M50 sevaral cars and trucks tried to cut me off thinking I was trying to take their spot (despite having hazards and the garda pointing my presence)
    kluivert wrote:
    Id say the boys in blue where happy to do something exciting for a change.
    I could see their faces in the mirrors - I think they had fun!
    kluivert wrote:
    Where you able to keep up with them.
    Just about! I was in a 2.5 BMW and they were in a debadged mondeo. It was quick off the line but once I had a few revs I was on top of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,939 ✭✭✭mikedragon32

Congrats on the baby KB!

Any brown trouser moments during the escort?

• Registered Users Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

class, fair play to the boys in blue

a lot of them are decent blokes but there's always a few who ruin it for the decent lads by acting the prick

Any brown trouser moments during the escort?
    only at the thought of my leather getting runied!

• Registered Users Posts: 204 ✭✭dubstub

Right, think it's time to get the girlfriend to sit in the back hyperventilating with a pillow up her jumper!
    Sounds like great craic! Congrats

• Registered Users Posts: 81 ✭✭ShinyDiscoBall

The boys in blue bein praised on the motors section on boards.....i never!!!!:eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek:

Congrats by the way.....the s.u.v will be out soon!!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 65,151 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

Congrats, K!

Ah indeed you were tired when posting (links) ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

Congrats, but I think you're leather is going to get ruined anyhow judging by how messy my cousins were in the car at 1-4. Spilled milk, baby druel etc.....at least the leather is wipeable

• Registered Users Posts: 3,188 ✭✭✭Andrewf20

Congrats Killian. Hope all goes well!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,613 ✭✭✭Big Nelly

Congrats man!!!!

Another good post for the Garda as well. Fair play to them!!!:D

• Registered Users Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Big Nelly wrote:
    Congrats man!!!!

Another good post for the Garda as well. Fair play to them!!!:D

Congrats kbannon. Picked a name yet?