why has VF locked down their new gateway hg658c and cant set ddns? - boards.ie
Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
05-06-2013, 18:15   #1
swoofer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: EUROPE
Posts: 2,612
why has VF locked down their new gateway hg658c and cant set ddns?

got efibre today but the gateway supplied is a big let down and to make it worse VF have locked it down so you cant bridge it.

I cant even set up ddns so if anyone has please tell me how?

I have moved from a netgear where I could see everything nice and easy to this!! and its 2013.

surely fibre cant be that complex that we have to be locked out.

gbc

Last edited by swoofer; 05-06-2013 at 21:21.
swoofer is offline  
Advertisement
05-06-2013, 20:34   #2
degsie
Registered User
 
degsie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Location: Location:
Posts: 2,175
It probably because they are doing thing on the cheap and insist on using cr@ppy Chinese routers.
degsie is offline  
05-06-2013, 21:24   #3
swoofer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: EUROPE
Posts: 2,612
thanks for reply, yeah I guess you are right, what a letdown though, i have a 12 month contract and luckily enough not any longer than that.

eircom modem/router is fine = weird.

BT in the UK provide a modem that will bridge to any router and have about 6 million custoemrs, VF here have about 60,000 and make it as difficult as possible to enjoy the internet.
swoofer is offline  
06-06-2013, 17:28   #4
roast
Registered User
 
roast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Limerick/Tipperary
Posts: 2,008
Send a message via MSN to roast Send a message via Yahoo to roast Send a message via Skype™ to roast
DDNS is still possible with the basic login.
roast is offline  
Thanks from:
06-06-2013, 18:51   #5
swoofer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: EUROPE
Posts: 2,612
yes, i finally cracked it, it was the set up that threw me initially.
swoofer is offline  
Advertisement
30-07-2013, 22:19   #6
Nik
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 3
GBCULLEN

Can you explain how you did it please I am in big trouble trying to bridge my router ....
Nik is offline  
30-07-2013, 22:23   #7
degsie
Registered User
 
degsie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Location: Location:
Posts: 2,175
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nik View Post
GBCULLEN

Can you explain how you did it please I am in big trouble trying to bridge my router ....
DDNS has nothing to do with bridging.
degsie is offline  
30-07-2013, 23:23   #8
swoofer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: EUROPE
Posts: 2,612
to bridge it you have to call tech support and they will do it remotely, to set up ddns you need to follow the guide, i am not at home so cant recheck, you are better off bridging, vf keep saying they are going to do a software update to allow bridging by customer but not seen it yet.
swoofer is offline  
02-08-2013, 01:53   #9
GreyAlien
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 80
Made a little tutorial here with how to bridge your modem without contacting vodafone.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showt...p?t=2057006124
GreyAlien is offline  
Advertisement
13-10-2013, 11:37   #10
lathyrus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Tayleur's Point, Rush
Posts: 5
Can anyone tell me how to get Port Forwarding working on the HG658c from Vodafone? I've just moved from Eircom 8 megs to Vodafone 50 megs fibre with the Huawei router. My webcam (Wowee Rovio) was working with the Eircom router (static IP assigned to the camera, and the router forwarding port 80 to it) but when I try to set up the same thing on the HG658c (under the NAT menu) nothing happens. I tried switching to another port (8168) in case port 80 was blocked but still no success....
lathyrus is offline  
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet