Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Racing with a compact crankset

• 31-01-2013 10:10am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭

Raced at A4 last year with a 50/34, got on grand, but don't recall ever using the 34 in any races I done.

Upgraded to A3 for this year, am I likely to get dropped descending in the 50-11? Or is there THAT much of a difference between a 50-11 and a 53-11?

I.E. Should I buy a 53/39 asap or will I manage with a 50/34 for a couple of months?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,969 ✭✭✭Plastik

50x11 is a bigger gear than 53x12, so at the top end you only gain a single gear. Like yourself though, I effectively raced all last year on a maximum of 10 gears - start of the race, big ring and it never left. I've gone 53/39 because it was handy to pick one up a few weeks back, but it wouldn't have particularly bothered me to stay until I found a deal.

I think I might have used the 34 once last year - club league race that ended at the top of the Shay Elliott.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,146 ✭✭✭Morrisseeee

The 50-11 is bigger than the 53-12 and unless you're on a long downhill descent than I wouldn't worry about it.

Actually what I did was a get a different cassette, ie. a 11-21, and this gave me a good range to work with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭colm_gti

Cheers lads, been eyeballing a brand new ultegra 6600 53/39 crankset for ~€65, but if I'll manage ok with a 50-11 then I'll hang onto my money for now ;)

colm_gti wrote: »
    Cheers lads, been eyeballing a brand new ultegra 6600 53/39 crankset for ~€65, but if I'll manage ok with a 50-11 then I'll hang onto my money for now ;)

Don't let us put you off :pac:

There is a nice difference in the gears, 50-11 < 53-11
    eg: @ 90rpm > 50-11 = 52.9km/h, 53-11 = 56.1km/h, 53-12 = 51.4km/h
    but.........I'd imagine the only time it would count is on a long (not so steep) descent and you're struggling to gain contact with the group, once in the group you'd be drafting anyway. The other time is sprinting, are you a Mark Cavendish in surprise ??

I definitely used my 34 last year, the Tommy Sheehan springs to mind, a right bitch of a circuit :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭colm_gti

but.........I'd imagine the only time it would count is on a long (not so steep) descent and you're struggling to gain contact with the group, once in the group you'd be drafting anyway. The other time is sprinting, are you a Mark Cavendish in surprise ??

I definitely used my 34 last year, the Tommy Sheehan springs to mind, a right bitch of a circuit :eek:

Bear in mind I only started racing in July, so the only race I done with a notable 'climb' was that one in Gorey near the end of the season where I would have been better off in a canoe thanks to the rain....but even on that hill I'm pretty sure I was in the big ring (I prefer to grind than spin).

Wish I could sprint....so no, not Cav in surprise :(

• Registered Users Posts: 4,028 ✭✭✭FrankGrimes

Thanks for posting that, particularly the bit in bold is really interesting. Is there a site that you used to calculate it? Might be handy as I'm also thinking about what chainset to use for racing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,457 ✭✭✭ford2600

If you have a smart phonr just download a gear calculator app

. Is there a site that you used to calculate it? .

I think I got it from here.
    Here's another interesting site: try the MP test for various climbs.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,667 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

It's nice to have the extra gears but TBH in 27 years racing used the 53/11 once (on the boot inn circuit with a howling tailwind).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,889 ✭✭✭feck sake lads

the ultegra chainset might be better as you can change the rings to suit.. you cant on a compact well you could get a 36 instead of the 34 .

check out TA rings or stronglight to use with bigger chainset (110Arms );)

• Registered Users Posts: 895 ✭✭✭Dubba

Nothing to do with racing but I tried a 39-25 lately and could barley push the bike up steep hills and as I live on top of a steep fecker, I've changed back to a 39-28. As far as I know 39-28 is equal to 34-23, anyone know what a 39-25 equates to on a compact?

now to be honest would you be one bit worried about gear ratios if you were struggling to get up a hill:P

• Registered Users Posts: 895 ✭✭✭Dubba

Hell no! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,969 ✭✭✭Plastik

Dubba wrote: »
    Nothing to do with racing but I tried a 39-25 lately and could barley push the bike up steep hills and as I live on top of a steep fecker, I've changed back to a 39-28. As far as I know 39-28 is equal to 34-23, anyone know what a 39-25 equates to on a compact?

34/23 would be very close to 39/26, 39/25 close to 34/22 ... if such gears were available.

they are shimano xt up to 36 on rear 22 up front ;)

From below you can see that a 34-23 is very similar to a 39-26

50 47.10% 34
    11 122.7 83.5
    9.10%
    12 112.5 76.5
    8.30%
    13 103.8 70.6
    15.40%
    15 90 61.2
    13.30%
    17 79.4 54
    11.80%
    19 71.1 48.3
    10.50%
    21 64.3 43.7
    9.50%
    23 58.7 39.9
    13.00%
    26 51.9 35.3
    53 35.90% 39
    11 130.1 95.7
    9.10%
    12 119.3 87.8
    8.30%
    13 110.1 81
    15.40%
    15 95.4 70.2
    13.30%
    17 84.2 61.9
    11.80%
    19 75.3 55.4
    10.50%
    21 68.1 50.1
    9.50%
    23 62.2 45.8
    13.00%
    26 55 40.5

• Registered Users Posts: 726 ✭✭✭granda

i had the same dilema colm and ended up buying a bbb 52 chainring and a 36 small chainring which are both for 110 diameter which if i find i dont like its just a case of swapping back to the full compact with no real hassle or messing with different chainsets

• Registered Users Posts: 945 ✭✭✭CaoimH_in

Yeah, I really don't have the legs for a 53 x 11, I've tried 'um before and it's just too heavy to push. I can't sprint, and I'd only fancy myself as a rouleur that can climb a bit, so a compact suits me fine. I'd pretty sure I'm gonna go from a 34 to a 36 and I might go for a 52 though I'm pretty comfortable with my 50. I'm training on a 12-26 cassette, but I'm pretty sure an 11-23 or 25 would be better again.

I think the important thing to remember is you won't be in flat lab-like conditions, I really never used my 53-11 all too much when I had it. You should probably look for the gears that suit your ability/style over choosing on more arbitrary notions of what everyone else is doing. What are you best at? Can you push big gears comfortably? Are you a sprinter? Will you be targeting flat courses? Is there nothing you like more than getting in the break on a flat section and drilling it all the way to the line? Like descending at Cunego, or Cancellara like speeds? Are you a man for the TTs? Sounds like you? I'd say you should get yourself a standard crank.

Or, are you fond of climbs, hills, and, drags? Do you like a war of attrition over difficult terrain? Are you clearly not built to sprint? Do you like the feeling of having a nippy, punchy gearset? Do you feel comfortable with your hardest gear over 10-20k and do you think you could handle much more? Do you hope just not to lose that much time when you descend (are you rubbish)? Should help you decide if you want a compact.