Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
05-05-2012, 13:24   #1
Mr. Slam
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 27
Computer to TV via HDMI issue.

Apologies if it's in the wrong section


So awhile back I was involved in a minor accident however my laptop screen was cracked due to some stuff landing on the top. Pretty puzzled by that. I do have someone on Tuesday to repair it but I do have work due on Monday.

I have been able to use it with the HDMI connected to the TV however this afternoon when I went to use it, it wouldn't connect. Eventually I got it to connect however it's just a black screen and my desktop doesn't show up.

Any help would be appreciated
Mr. Slam is offline  
Advertisement
05-05-2012, 13:33   #2
Forest Demon
Registered User
 
Forest Demon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 471
Try booting the laptop with the laptop screen open. Then press function F8 or F4 (FN and F8). Its usually function F8 or F4.

What type of laptop are you using?

You can also try opening the laptop press power and then closing the laptop while the laptop is at bios stage and letting it boot up.

Some TV's only work with PC using a one certain HDMI port.

If you put up the model of the tv and laptop I might be able to help you more.

Cheers
Forest Demon is offline  
05-05-2012, 13:42   #3
Mr. Slam
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 27
Laptop is a Sony Vaio. Not too sure of the model but it's 14.5" and the TV is a Grundig 22.5" LED LCD.

Thing is, it hasn't loaded until the "Welcome" screen so when I shut it down via the power button, I have no idea what comes up.
Mr. Slam is offline  
05-05-2012, 17:30   #4
riclad
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 2,803
Press fn plus lcd f key, on my vaio its fn key plus f7,press 2 keys at the same time,to activate lcd,external display, or try using vga from laptop to tv,vga in.
see f function key with 2 squares ,tv,small ,arrow symbols.
I use vga CABLE,VGA ,MALE to male, on my lcd tv ,my vaio has no hdmi out.
what model vaio have you got ,theres many different vaio models ,
can you see any part of the laptop screen.?
vga cable 8 euro s approx,in most pc shops.

Last edited by riclad; 05-05-2012 at 17:48.
riclad is offline  
05-05-2012, 17:59   #5
Mr. Slam
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 27
To make things clearer, the laptop screen doesn't allow me to see anything so I have no clue what comes up everytime I've booted it up and my belief is that it goes into start up recovery. I've tried FN + F7 and nothing happens so I'm confident it's stuck in limbo.

As for a VGA Cable, I have looked for one around the house but I couldn't find one so I'll probably head down to the shops in the morning and pick one up.

Then again I have had problems that seem to fix themselves over night so perhaps the same could happen here

Cheers for the help. I'll jump back here if It's still a pain in the ass.
Mr. Slam is offline  
Advertisement
05-05-2012, 18:14   #6
Mr. Slam
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 27
Odd thing just happened. The screen switched off (which it usually does due to my settings) but my TV is acting like it's working...

To sum it up, it's working the way it should, but the TV isnt showing anything :S
Mr. Slam is offline  
05-05-2012, 19:41   #7
riclad
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 2,803
TRY reboot pc,hold f8 ten seconds, press arrow downkey, 4 times,press enter ,enables vga mode ,then press fn plus function key
your pc may be set 1000x1200 resolution ,too high for tv input,ie out of range=blank screen,
see http://www.playtool.com/pages/safemode/safemode.html

or try again press 5 times instead of 4 .
if u have vga cable try 1024x768 ,
or 720x576, dvd resolution.

ie f8, hold for ten/12 secs,release f8, press down ,down,down,down,enter.
then fn plus function key.
press down once each time,you might activate vga mode,if you, are lucky or display the menu on the tv.

Last edited by riclad; 05-05-2012 at 19:48.
riclad is offline  
06-05-2012, 06:04   #8
Mr. Slam
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 27
Brought a VGA cable this morning and nothing happened. I tried your advice and nothing happened. My best bet is that it's stuck on some screen or was updated the night before and it's screwed up. I'll just have to wait till the guy comes over to fix the screen :L
Mr. Slam is offline  
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet