Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
07-02-2012, 10:48   #1
ultra55ound
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 48
Blackstar HT-5 problem

Wondering if you guys can help me out here. I was playing my ht-5 the other night, put it in standby for approx 30 minutes and when I switched it back on there's just a really loud whine/hum sound coming from it.

None of the knobs do anything and even plugging out the guitar cable doesn't stop it.

I cracked it open last night and both the valves were lit up, and decided that's about as far as I could take it

Anyone got any ideas? Is it worth trying a replacement set of valves?
ultra55ound is offline  
Advertisement
07-02-2012, 12:19   #2
nickcave
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 297
Don't know if this is any help, but something similar occured to my Blackstar (Series One 45). The amp was shut off due to a power cut without going through standby. When I turned it on again there was a whooshing sound like the sound of waves, which wasn't due to any other equipment. I imagined it was due to the valves being shut off abruptly.

The problem subsided after a while by turning the amp off properly and back on again a few times. Maybe you could try something similar?
nickcave is offline  
07-02-2012, 13:38   #3
ultra55ound
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 48
It's been like that for a few days now, I guess I'll bring it to a tech
ultra55ound is offline  
07-02-2012, 23:03   #4
Sergio
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,153
Try plugging the guitar straight into the fx loop return and see if the noise is still there.If its ok then it could be your tubes are gone and you'll need to replace them.
Sergio is online now  
08-02-2012, 00:11   #5
ultra55ound
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 48
Good idea! I tried that but still no good.

Here's the noise: http://soundcloud.com/peter-douglas/ht-5-broken
ultra55ound is offline  
Advertisement
10-02-2012, 00:53   #6
cezet
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Graiguenamanagh
Posts: 43
Hi, there
I'm new here.
This is not a problem with tubes. I think when you switched on again some cold soldering was break.
If you are from Carlow/Kilkenny, I can help.
cezet is offline  
10-02-2012, 14:30   #7
ultra55ound
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 48
Thanks man, I replaced the preamp valve but it was still the same. I'm going to bring it to a tech down in Kerry, thanks again.
ultra55ound is offline  
10-02-2012, 22:21   #8
Sergio
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,153
Quote:
Originally Posted by ultra55ound View Post
Thanks man, I replaced the preamp valve but it was still the same. I'm going to bring it to a tech down in Kerry, thanks again.
Did ya try changing the main power tubes.What are they in that model EL 34 is it?

I had issues with my series one last year and it was grand after i replaced the power tubes
Sergio is online now  
11-02-2012, 00:46   #9
cezet
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Graiguenamanagh
Posts: 43
EL34 in Blackstar HT-5 ? ? ?
I don't think so.
There is push-pull 1 x 12BH7 dual triode in power stage.
cezet is offline  
Advertisement
11-04-2012, 20:38   #10
gpender
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1
Did you ever get your amp sorted. I think mine has gone the same way
gpender is offline  
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet