If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

HEC: Castres Olymique vs Munster, Sat 19 Nov 3:40pm; Pre/During/Post Match Thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 607 ✭✭✭ed7890

I don't like raining on your parade, I'm just disappointed in you for having one (again)!

2 wins out of 2, why would any fan not take some joy out of that, even if there's room for improvement in the performances.

It seems like you are imagining these fictional Munster fans who are self-deceptive and thinking we are devoid of problems, who take 2 drop goal victories as proof of us being the bestest team ever!

Nobody here is acting like that so give it a rest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,456 ✭✭✭Cpt_Blackbeard

Don't think the team I support really changes my opinion, I've been critical of Musnter performances for over a year now. I've travelled all over Europe to watch Munster, including to the H Cup wins. I might be a Leinster fan but I want all Irish teams to do well. Plus if Leinster were "poor" last week then Munster were beyond abysmal (not that I would compare the two).

You are right though, they are able to front up to any second-string team in Europe.

Again, what do you expect fans to do? Just stop supporting the province because, we aren't as good/successful as we've been in the past? We can't do anything but get behind the team and we can't ask for more from the team than putting in an honest performance and winning.

Isn't there some saying about great teams getting the win, even when they don't perform?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,746 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

This is exactly my point. Play terribly and get saved by O'Gara. You claim you're missing 3 Lions. One is 36, one is 33 and hasn't managed a full game of rugby in years.

If O'Gara had missed those kicks people would be rightfully talking about poor Munster performances and highlighting their lazy defense, their poor discipline, their lack of control, their poor game management etc. But because he made those kicks and saved Munster, people will just talk about the result.

Surely the performance is important as well, and the performances are just getting worse and worse. Munster are not improving, they're not transitioning. Their defense tonight in the first half was advancing maybe half a foot by the time the opposition reached it. Where was the passion? It took two tries by the opposition to wake them up and that opposition was starting only 4 first teamers. Munster were as bad tonight as they've been in European competition in recent years, but because they won people will talk about how great they are to win away. And because they got a few breaks from the ref and then were saved against Northampton (who were hockeyed by Llanelli last night at home) people talk about beating last year's finalists.

It's denial, it's clinging onto a long-departed glory, it's a refusal to take a step back and take a realistic and critical look at what was once the best team in Europe. It's cancerous and it'll just lead to a further slide. Munster fans should hold their team to a higher standard than that. They're not the brave and faithful anymore, they're the ageing and self-deceptive. And fans who live to worship Ronan O'Gara, who has had two average performances culminating in two incredible match-winning kicks, are just enabling it. And yet the headlines will read Miracle Match again. The miracle is that Munster aren't at the bottom of their group.

To each of the bolded in order:

- So many people claiming Munster were "terrible". Eh, they held their own at the scrum, did well at lineout, moved the ball well throughout the game, created lots of try scoring opportunities. Perfect? No. Exceptional? No. Terrible? No;
    - Because results see you progress, and to underestimate digging out results in that manner in consecutive must win games is to completely miss the point;
    - The last two performances were a vast improvement over Ospreys and Touloun away last season. You want to believe they aren't getting better, but trust me - if you're paying attention things are better this year;
    - Two weeks in a row they've managed to go through multiple phases in injury time to dig out a win and you're asking where the passion is? Last week's finish was passion personified. C'mon son;
    - You and others are making a key mistake. You are ignoring how the fact of winning ties like the last two weeks is in of itself what was missing last year. And getting those wins doesn't happen by accident (just as losing last year wasn't by accident). Also, don't forget that Munster were semi-finalists in 2010. Last year was awful, but it was so awful precisely because it is as bad as things ever were;
    - A five point defeat is a hockeying?; :confused:
    - People who downplay what went on the past two weeks and underestimate the poise and composure demonstrated under such immense pressure aren't properly appreciating sport imo;
    - The last sentence is "Haters gonna Hate" territory tbh;

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

ed7890 wrote: »
    2 wins out of 2, why would any fan not take some joy out of that, even if there's room for improvement in the performances.

It seems like you are imagining these fictional Munster fans who are self-deceptive and thinking we are devoid of problems, who take 2 drop goal victories as proof of us being the bestest team ever!

Nobody here is acting like that so give it a rest.
    I already celebrated the win much earlier in the thread and have called for POM to play for Ireland here and have used loads of different superlatives to describe O'Gara. It's great that Musnter managed a win. But if you keep celebrating and not addresssing the many many shortcomings then Munster will be playing Amlin Cup rugby again.

People are comparing this team to the team in '06/'08 and saying that "we beat last year's finalists and a French team." The truth is that an ageing legend and one iffy refereeing performance has saved a poor team from the results that they've deserved.

Anyway, I don't want to sound like I'm begrudging Munster anything, which I realise I now am. I love Munster's success in Europe, I have seen them play across the continent and have many fans who are mad Munster fans. In fact I think it's pretty clear what I want is for them to improve, I'm hardly delighting in their lacklustre performances! I just want them to get better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 187 ✭✭Brian P

Once again ,for the 2nd week in succession, this thread is infested by the same whingers,the whiners and the nakedly envious.The only result which will satisfy these people is a thrashing for Munster and their utter demise.

Well done Munster.You have done your province and Ireland proud yet again and let those of us who love Irish rugby success, from where ever it comes, ignore the begrudgers. Munster abú.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

LuckyLloyd wrote: »
    To each of the bolded in order:

- So many people claiming Munster were "terrible". Eh, they held their own at the scrum, did well at lineout, moved the ball well throughout the game, created lots of try scoring opportunities. Perfect? No. Exceptional? No. Terrible? No;
    You're right, terrible is an unfair overstatement. But Munster were playing an understrength team who were being boycotted by their own fans.
    - Because results see you progress, and to underestimate digging out results in that manner in consecutive must win games is to completely miss the point;
    That is true. But in the same way, to just look at results and completely ignore poor performances is to miss the point as well. And ignoring performances in 2010 led to last season.
    - The last two performances were a vast improvement over Ospreys and Touloun away last season. You want to believe they aren't getting better, but trust me - if you're paying attention things are better this year;
    I actually missed Toulon away last season because I was playing a match at the same time, but it was not an improvement over a full-strength Ospreys away last season. I disagree with that.
    - Two weeks in a row they've managed to go through multiple phases in injury time to dig out a win and you're asking where the passion is? Last week's finish was passion personified. C'mon son;
    My point was unclear, I meant passion in relation to their first half play.
    - You and others are making a key mistake. You are ignoring how the fact of winning ties like the last two weeks is in of itself what was missing last year. And getting those wins doesn't happen by accident (just as losing last year wasn't by accident). Also, don't forget that Munster were semi-finalists in 2010. Last year was awful, but it was so awful precisely because it is as bad as things ever were;
    I think the opposite. You are saying that last year was an abberation because Musnter couldn't pull off ridiculously good last minute drop goals. I'm saying that relying on those is papering over the cracks.
    - A five point defeat is a hockeying?; :confused:
    I'm guessing you didn't watch the game?
    - People who downplay what went on the past two weeks and underestimate the poise and composure demonstrated under such immense pressure aren't properly appreciating sport imo;
    I'm not underestimating the last few minutes at all! :confused:
    - The last sentence is "Haters gonna Hate" territory tbh;
    In what way?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 30,891 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

phog wrote: »
    Scarlets will certainly be thinking that they can top this table but they were very lucky last night, possibly luckier than we were today. I think they only created one try last night and managed to score three more to give them the BP win.

I didn't see the game so I'll take your word for it. I don't have any major difficulty believing it either. Scarlets are a reasonably young side, I wouldn't really back them to produce when it comes to the crunch, and as Munster have shown in the last two weeks that's still an area they are excellent at.

Honestly no idea how the group is going to pan out tbh. Scarlets should be in prime position - they've already won in NH and will face Castres when they have no interest in the competition - but I just have a feeling Munster might sneak the double header. They'll need to tighten up though, cause Scarlets will finish a lot of the chances they gave Castres today.

I already celebrated the win much earlier in the thread

Where?

Seems like negative shots at Munster from the get-go.
    Without O'Gara this Munster team is below average.

With him they are capable beating the majority of teams in Europe.

Both teams were very poor tonight though.
    If Castres had brought their A team they would have come out with a handy victory either.

O'Gara is saving Munster in the short term, but this has been two poor performances in a row and they won't be held up on that, the media will just write about O'Gara being the legend he is, and not Munster being the average team that they have been. They need to hold themselves to a higher standard than this or they'll continue to slide. Hopefully McGahan won't hide behind the legend of O'Gara.
    Munster

Du Preez - 29 years old
    Varley - 28 years old
    Botha - 31 years old
    Donncha Ryan - 28 years old
    Paul O'Connell - 32 years old
    Peter O'Mahoney - 22 years old
    Niall Ronan - 29 years old
    James Coughlan - 31 years old

Conor Murray - 22 years old
    Ronan O'Gara - 34 years old
    Denis Hurley - 27 years old
    Lifeimi Mafi - 29 years old
    Danny Barnes - 22 years old
    Doug Howlett - 33 years old
    Johne Murphy - 27 years old

Average age: 28 years old

Team in transition? Sounds like an excuse to me. They either need to get younger or get better.
    People are comparing this team to the team in '06/'08 and saying that "we beat last year's finalists and a French team."

I haven't seen people comparing this team to 06/08, maybe some people were. Didn't we beat last year's finalists and a French team? Not sure what the problem with that is.
    The truth is that an ageing legend and one iffy refereeing performance has saved a poor team from the results that they've deserved.

We also scored 5 tries in 2 tough European games. Is that not a part of the truth? The refereeing part is your opinion, not "the truth".

We deserved results as much as Northampton or Castres, we scored tries, had lots of chances and going forward possession. You make it seem like we were camped in our own 22 for 160 minutes. It's rough on them that they got very little from the games in the end, but it's Munster's fighting spirit keep battling and win the games that people are celebrating.
    Anyway, I don't want to sound like I'm begrudging Munster anything, which I realise I now am. I love Munster's success in Europe, I have seen them play across the continent and have many fans who are mad Munster fans. In fact I think it's pretty clear what I want is for them to improve, I'm hardly delighting in their lacklustre performances! I just want them to get better.

So do I. But acting like the only good things that were done by Munster were two kicks from O'Gara is not "the truth" either. It's as one-eyed as the Munster fans you claim can't see the poor parts of our game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,976 ✭✭✭profitius

Well theres no doubt Munster have problems. They're getting the results but you can't ignore their performances either. The forwards are playing well but Munster lack a cutting edge. They rely on individuals in the backline instead of the backline operating as a unit.

Overall this season has been positive though. Foley has come in and got the forwards playing the Munster way, POM has come on the scene, the scrum is solid etc. There is competition for places in the squad now and there are players coming through like Murray, Barnes etc.

Munster are getting better. No doubt about that. Munster has been on a downward curve since they won the HEC in 08 but at the end of last season they've been on an upward curve and that will continue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,270 ✭✭✭✭phog

Some stats from scrum.com

Castres Munster
    2 Tries 3
    1 from 2 Conversion goals 3 from 3
    4 from 5 Penalty goals 1 from 2
    71.40% Kick at goal success 80.00%
    0 (1 missed) Dropped goals 1 (3 missed)

Kick/pass/run
    24 Kicks from hand 25
    93 Passes 139
    79 Runs 115
    254 Metres run with ball 449

Attacking
    3 Clean breaks 5
    7 Defenders beaten 17
    8 Offloads 6
    57 from 62 (91.94%) Rucks won 103 from 109 (94.50%)
    11 Turnovers conceded 13

Defensive
    118 Tackles 67
    17 Missed tackles 7
    87.41% Tackling success rate 90.54%

Set pieces
    4 won, 1 lost Scrums on own feed 6 won, 3 lost
    80.00% Scrum success rate 66.70%
    12 won, 3 lost Lineouts on own throw 8 won, 0 lost
    80.00% Lineout success rate 100.00%

Discipline
    12 Penalties conceded 13
    0/0 Yellow/red cards 0/0

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭danthefan

Scarlets will certainly be thinking that they can top this table but they were very lucky last night, possibly luckier than we were today. I think they only created one try last night and managed to score three more to give them the BP win.

Ah come on, give us some credit, we scored 3 tries and probably butchered or turned over ball on another 4 or 5 ocaasions sos the chance of the BP win was certainly there, on the balance of things may not have been deserved but still was on.

How could this post possibly have made sense in your head. How about giving the Scarlets a bit of credit?

danthefan wrote: »
    How could this post possibly have made sense in your head. How about giving the Scarlets a bit of credit?

Did you see the game or did you just check the scoreline? How many of the tries did actually create?

I watched it. Wasn't counting try scoring chances I must confess but they were well deserving of their win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭Mr.Applepie

The scarlets beat Northampton in nearly every aspect of the game. The only advantage northampton had was the scrum and they were constantly scrummaging up (Hartley popped in every scrum). Scarlets would have put 50 points on them if the ref hadn't let Northampton back time and again at the scrum

I watched it. Wasn't counting try scoring chances I must confess but they were well deserving of their win.

The scarlets beat Northampton in nearly every aspect of the game. The only advantage northampton had was the scrum and they were constantly scrummaging up (Hartley popped in every scrum). Scarlets would have put 50 points on them if the ref hadn't let Northampton back time and again at the scrum

Well deserved their win but in fairness 3 of their tries were almost gifts and add to fact that NH imploded, I've never seen them play so poorly and that's what I meant by Scarlets being lucky to get 5 points from the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Didn't see the game as I was in Galway, can't believe ROG did it again! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,411 ✭✭✭CouchSmart

Good win for Munster. Sets them up nicely. Double header with Scarlets should be interesting, I expect Munster to come out on top though with their experience pulling them through. Have a feeling this pool may provide two quarter finalists.

This win might have killed off any interest Castres have though, may well set up Saints for a 9/10 point haul from their double header?

• Site Banned Posts: 5,346 ✭✭✭wixfjord

Ah come on, give us some credit, we scored 3 tries and probably butchered or turned over ball on another 4 or 5 ocaasions sos the chance of the BP win was certainly there, on the balance of things may not have been deserved but still was on.

Nagle is fit now but was in jured when he should have been playing Rabo12 to impress and fight for his H/C place. He just has been unlucky not to have got a run when it might have mattered but his day will come of that I've no doubt.

Overall, I thought we coughed up too much ball in their half and in their 22, we seemed to give them the break in the rucks and it cost us yards.

ROG mixed the bad the good and the great, his option for the 1st DG was rushed and Murphy should never had gone for one, it looked like we were panicing.

A win if France is hard, a draw looked like the best we'd copme away with but again ROG did what was required, from a poor pass to slot it so easily over the posts.

The back to back games in December will be huge for NH, Scarlets and ourselves. I hope Castres go to Franklin Gardens on a mission.

What the hell are you talking about?!
    You say Scarlets were lucky last night, and then go on about Munster, who scored two tries from complete luck!

Listen lads, hype up your province all you want, as always, say how good ROG was today and last week despite two mediocre performances. Go on about percieved reffing injustices and ignore the fact that Owens reffed Northampton off the pitch last week. Harp on about the Munster "spirit" etc.

The facts are, they've played poorly for the last three weeks in a row, and but for dogged determination and poor play/reffing against them, they would have last all three.
    It's very thin lines, and fair play, Munster are two from two, but a lot on here are hyping this up as a great performance, which it wasn't.

Leinster drew in Montpellier last week and we all went on about it was poor and we were lucky to get out of there.
    After the final whistle tonight, you had people ignoring 79 mins of play, and saying Munster were great and ROG played brilliantly!
    The media will no doubt say the same, just like last week, but Scarlets are two from two, and had the harder of the two games. They play Munster at home next and are in control of the pool.

It seems that our Southern cousins are glass half full men, because a 3 point win against that team is grand, but nothing to say they're world beaters.

Well deserved their win but in fairness 3 of their tries were almost gifts and add to fact that NH imploded, I've never seen them play so poorly and that's what I meant by Scarlets being lucky to get 5 points from the game.

2 of Munster's 3 tonight were gifts!

FFS why are supposed smart guys reduced to blind eejits when analysing Munster games!

wixfjord wrote: »

FFS why are supposed smart guys reduced to blind eejits when analysing Munster games!

Careful now, apparently it's just bitterness if you point that out re. Munster.

There were negatives in both games, but there were positives too. Can you not let us enjoy a big win in our season without trying to rain on our parade.

No it's just that we seem to be able to credibly analyse a game which we played poorly in and won!!
    Munster could very easily win that pool, and indeed should be looking to, but anyone without bias would see that the first two wins, while mesmeric, were a little fortuitious due to reffing and idiotic play by the opposition!

ROG will surely get a 10/10 from Thornley and the boys for that though. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,093 ✭✭✭CiaranMT

What the hell are you talking about?!
    You say Scarlets were lucky last night, and then go on about Munster, who scored two tries from complete luck!

Listen lads, hype up your province all you want, as always, say how good ROG was today and last week despite two mediocre performances. Go on about percieved reffing injustices and ignore the fact that Owens reffed Northampton off the pitch last week. Harp on about the Munster "spirit" etc.

The facts are, they've played poorly for the last three weeks in a row, and but for dogged determination and poor play/reffing against them, they would have last all three.
    It's very thin lines, and fair play, Munster are two from two, but a lot on here are hyping this up as a great performance, which it wasn't.

Leinster drew in Montpellier last week and we all went on about it was poor and we were lucky to get out of there.
    After the final whistle tonight, you had people ignoring 79 mins of play, and saying Munster were great and ROG played brilliantly!
    The media will no doubt say the same, just like last week, but Scarlets are two from two, and had the harder of the two games. They play Munster at home next and are in control of the pool.

It seems that our Southern cousins are glass half full men, because a 3 point win against that team is grand, but nothing to say they're world beaters.

I'm surprised a poster such as yourself would post the above.

Phog acknowledged how lucky we were today. See, check his first line there. That's the one ;)

None of the media I was reading were saying Munster played brilliantly the last week.

Nobody's talking Munster up. A win is a win however, and that's to be acknowledged.

An away win in the south of France for a transitional team, with two game-breakers out injured, is a very good achievement.

Scarlets hold no fear for Munster.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

Munster win

Your one to talk at times Wix. You are always concentrating on the negative when talking about munster. why not just concentrate on the leinster thread, and stop trying to get under the skin of munster supporters:mad:. As my mother said.. if you have nothing good to say, shut your pie hole. (and i'm a leinster supporter sayin this)

CiaranMT wrote: »
    I'm surprised a poster such as yourself would post the above.

Phog acknowledged how lucky we were today. See, check his first line there. That's the one ;)

None of the media I was reading were saying Munster played brilliantly the last week.

Nobody's talking Munster up.
    A win is a win however, and that's to be acknowledged.

An away win in the south of France for a transitional team, with two game-breakers out injured, is a very good achievement.

Scarlets hold no fear for Munster.

You obviously didn't see last Monday's papers then?
    That's exactly what I'm saying tbh, a win is a win, and a great win at that, but to say that was a great performance is skewing what actually happened for the first 79 mins.

Scarlets may hold no fear for Munster, but it is they who control the group at this stage.

Your one to talk at times Wix. You are always concentrating on the negative when talking about munster. why not just concentrate on the leinster thread, and stop trying to get under the skin of munster supporters:mad:. As my mother said.. if you have nothing good to say, shut your pie hole. (and i'm a leinster supporter sayin this)

Good to know that you're concentrating on my posts. ;)

More Leinster fans coming in to say how crap Munster were, and then patting themselves on the back for being able to do some un-biased analysis.

I already said we were lucky, why didn't you qoute that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

Munster win
    Good to know that you're concentrating on my posts. ;)
    all dogs need a master;)

More Leinster fans coming in to say how crap Munster were, and then patting themselves on the back for being able to do some un-biased analysis.

No, nobody is saying that, that's what you want to hear (maybe it's that old Munster bitterness eh?!)
    What we're saying is Munster weren't great tonight, but had a great win, but some are skewing the truth and going on about this great battling performance against a good Castres team!!

Hilarious stuff tbh!

Hot-shot O'Gara does it again
    Second straight win for two-time champions

Last updated: 19th November 2011

For the second week in a row Ronan O'Gara struck a dramatic drop goal as time expired to earn Heineken Cup victory for Munster.

Full match report here