Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork Barcraft @ Captain Americas 14/10/11 10:30pm onwards

• 08-10-2011 12:47am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 18

Show your support Corkies!

http://www.facebook.com/event.php?eid=218333501562208

In addition if you intend to come, please RSVP on the facebook event as attending; We're trying to use the facebook event to estimate numbers.

Hope to see you there!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,812 ✭✭✭IRL_Sinister

Kinda late notice but I wish you all the best!

• Registered Users Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

Looks nice, might drop in. :pac:

Kinda late notice but I wish you all the best!

I thought you were just with the Canucks for the summer Sin?

Orizio wrote: »
    I thought you were just with the Canucks for the summer Sin?

Canucks, lol. Nah, I'm over here for as long as I can for now!! Love the place, full-time job, cheap rent and plenty of beer. There's no way I'm coming back to ireland any time soon because there is simply nothing there for me for now... Although all these tournaments and barcrafts do make me sad.

(iSad)

I will come back for sure, whether or not it's going to be in june 2012 or 2013 - time will tell. I still have to go back and eventually specialise and focus in University but I see no reason in doing that now when I can stay over here and make some good money, rather than go back home and struggle to get a sh*t job. Being here for a year at least means I'm not sitting on my hole back home! And eh, I still get to play some Starcraft, albeit not a lot, but i can't complain!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 76 ✭✭Chicks

YES! YEEEEEEEEEEES!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Do you know if the bar is going to be strict about being under 18? I'm 17 atm and would love to go and will if I am able to stay in.

Yeah what is the deal with underagers? I'd love to take my little brother.

Canucks, lol. Nah, I'm over here for as long as I can for now!! Love the place, full-time job, cheap rent and plenty of beer. There's no way I'm coming back to ireland any time soon because there is simply nothing there for me for now... Although all these tournaments and barcrafts do make me sad.

(iSad)

I will come back for sure, whether or not it's going to be in june 2012 or 2013 - time will tell. I still have to go back and eventually specialise and focus in University but I see no reason in doing that now when I can stay over here and make some good money, rather than go back home and struggle to get a sh*t job. Being here for a year at least means I'm not sitting on my hole back home! And eh, I still get to play some Starcraft, albeit not a lot, but i can't complain!

Yeah, unless you are going to uni (like I am) there is absolutely no reason for someone our age to be in this country. Definitely doing a runner when I'm finished uni as well. How bad is Canada for Accountants? :pac:

Surely though there are loads of barcrafts, tournies etc where you are?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 DivaGamer

Thanks for the question RE: being under age.

As it's a restaurant, and will be serving food and non-alcoholic drinks in addition to alcoholic drinks (the same way it would at any time of day), I would assume that people of any age are allowed to attend - I will confirm this with their management though and get back to you :-)

• Registered Users Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

DivaGamer wrote: »
    Thanks for the question RE: being under age.

As it's a restaurant, and will be serving food and non-alcoholic drinks in addition to alcoholic drinks (the same way it would at any time of day), I would assume that people of any age are allowed to attend - I will confirm this with their management though and get back to you :-)

Cool, Thanks.

Yeah, unless you are going to uni (like I am) there is absolutely no reason for someone our age to be in this country. Definitely doing a runner when I'm finished uni as well. How bad is Canada for Accountants? :pac:

Surely though there are loads of barcrafts, tournies etc where you are?

Hahaha, yeah, I finished University on May 28th and was on the plane outta here on June 5th. Don't know how "serious" the question was but I know for a fact that accountants are in demand here and that you can make a very good, steady living here as one within a few weeks of landing. It's all about asking around. I arrived in Toronto on a Tuesday, had my first interview on Wednesday and started a job Thursday.

I just recently started a new job - I met the manager in a club on a night out absolutely wasted. I was just randomly chatting to her at a bar saying how I was looking for a gym to work out and stuff and then she said that she was hiring full-time staff at her gym (the biggest gym chain in Canada). It took me about 0.0000000000000000000000000023 seconds to say yes. Started the job the following Monday, lol :D

So yeah, jobs..... easy to get, well-paying and have crazy benefits for people who work hard and deserve it.

With regards to barcrafts and tournies, yeah, I believe there are but I'm still new to Toronto so I don't know where everything is. You also need to remember I only started back to gaming, what, 2 weeks ago? I don't think I'm ready for a tournament yet ;) I'm just back from Thanksgiving so I missed the Toronto Barcraft for IPL but I think my girlfriend and myself will be attending the next one for sure... although time will definintely tell. There's plenty of people here that follow Starcraft for sure.... most of which are Asian.... but I need to get more involved with my own play and interest first! (:

Do you know if the bar is going to be strict about being under 18? I'm 17 atm and would love to go and will if I am able to stay in.
    Chicks wrote: »
    Yeah what is the deal with underagers? I'd love to take my little brother.

Thanks again for bringing this up as it's something I hadn't considered. I've been in touch with the management at Americas and at least on this occasion they'd prefer to keep this as an 18+ event I'm afraid, sorry guys :-(

DivaGamer wrote: »
    Thanks again for bringing this up as it's something I hadn't considered. I've been in touch with the management at Americas and at least on this occasion they'd prefer to keep this as an 18+ event I'm afraid, sorry guys :-(

No problem, thanks for getting back to us. Hopefully there'll be an all ages event at some point :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭Columc

Definitely doing a runner when I'm finished uni as well. How bad is Canada for Accountants? :pac:

hahahaha no jobs in Ireland for accountants? Deloite and Accenture aren't hiring anyone no? they sure haven't sent 50 graduates that they hired this year back to do a masters no? and that's just people that wanted to do a Masters, Accountants are always in massive demand, be it with the big consultant firms (Deloite/Accenture/KPMG) or even the lower end firms. I love Irish mentality/ 99% ****/need to move away for jobs.

Be it if you want to move away from Ireland for different reasons that's grand, but i just find it hilarious that people move away as their sole and only reason is because there is no jobs in Ireland, which is a complete lie.

On Topic: Tempted to go down to this, with having family in cork i haven't seen in a while I got make a weekend trip out of it, but since i'm heading to America in a week, I really need to finish up on college assignments, if everything goes good with meetings the next 2 days I hopefully should go !

Columc wrote: »
    hahahaha no jobs in Ireland for accountants? Deloite and Accenture aren't hiring anyone no? they sure haven't sent 50 graduates that they hired this year back to do a masters no? and that's just people that wanted to do a Masters, Accountants are always in massive demand, be it with the big consultant firms (Deloite/Accenture/KPMG) or even the lower end firms. I love Irish mentality/ 99% ****/need to move away for jobs.

Be it if you want to move away from Ireland for different reasons that's grand, but i just find it hilarious that people move away as their sole and only reason is because there is no jobs in Ireland, which is a complete lie.

...I didn't say anything like that. Not everyone wants or needs to go down the chartered route (not that you have to over here), and you might as well travel a bit in your 20s. Plus quality of life in Canada is better. Thanks for the reply though.

Anyway, I've dragged things way off topic. I probably won't be able to attend but I'm going to try and get a couple of SC2 Corkies to attend instead. :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 184 ✭✭brimur69

For those heading to Captain Americas tonight you might want to take advantage of this bargain in the Woodford €15 for 6 bottles of Miller and a basket of Chicken Wings :D

• Registered Users Posts: 606 ✭✭✭Flanders536

Anyone coming in here should get here fast, 70+ people so far and climbing.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 9,750 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tenger

Just saw a few posts on the facebook page for this. It seems they got 200 people there for it.

http://www.facebook.com/event.php?eid=218333501562208

Fair play to them.

Awesome job, keep it up lads (and lasses!)

It was so awesome! So many nerds turned up, it was totally packed! Had a great time ^^

I took a small few pictures, if anyone would like to see: http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.10150329535447058.344623.523722057&type=1&l=d4d19e03b2

Sorry some are blurry :P I'm just a **** photographer :)

• Registered Users Posts: 485 ✭✭Kare Bear

I wonder if many of the attendees were Blizzard employees since they have a support centre in cork?

A lot were, apparently.

• Registered Users Posts: 184 ✭✭brimur69

Great pics guys, disgusted I couldnt make it in the end. Hope there is another one soon!

Hey people ^_^

Just popping by to shout out a big thank you to all those who attended. Our first Barcraft was an insane success with around 150 to 200 in attendance (with every table booked out the day before the event).

We're hoping to have Barcraft #2 at the end of November for MLG Providence if all goes well so if you want to be kept informed I would recommend joining our Facebook group.

Anywho, here's a few links to see how it went and keep up with future events:

Photos from MLG Orlando Barcraft - https://profiles.google.com/109069888670183725585/photos/5664220439446709633
    Follow us on Twitter - http://twitter.com/#!/CorkBarcrafts
    Most importantly, join us on Facebook - http://www.facebook.com/groups/245472708838258/

Oh and... not to brag Dublin... but our Cork event was just promoted live on the MLG Streams as 'Barcraft Ireland' ;-)

294284_10150858108595207_653875206_20841125_1151242975_n.jpg

I hope to see more of you at the next one! o/

Good job. Well done promoting it and it can only go upward from here!