Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
12-02-2011, 09:25   #1
ICANN
Registered User
 
ICANN's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 341
Aer lingus- paying for seats?

Sorry if this has been done before, can't find anything on it.

I'm trying to check in on aer lingus and it looks like you have to choose your seats but pay for them. I booked my flights at the end of December and there was the option of choosing for seats but why do I have to choose them now, and pay for them??
ICANN is offline  
Advertisement
12-02-2011, 09:41   #2
cailinoBAC
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 939
Unless things have changed in the last few months you don't have to choose your seats. As soon as you've finished your booking that page comes up but you don't have to do anything about it. Have you already given your cc details and paid?
cailinoBAC is offline  
12-02-2011, 15:13   #3
finbarrk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Munster
Posts: 3,553
Don't bother choosing them now. It's just another way of trying to get more €s off you.
finbarrk is offline  
12-02-2011, 15:15   #4
lods
Registered User
 
lods's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 537
The extra leg room ones cost 10euro , it can be worth it
lods is offline  
12-02-2011, 16:16   #5
ICANN
Registered User
 
ICANN's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 341
Yeah the seats are booked and all. It's just that I was checking in online for a flight next week and it wouldn't let me progress onto the check in confirmation unless I booked seats-which you have to extra for apparently.
ICANN is offline  
Advertisement
12-02-2011, 16:19   #6
lods
Registered User
 
lods's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 537
Quote:
Originally Posted by ICANN View Post
Yeah the seats are booked and all. It's just that I was checking in online for a flight next week and it wouldn't let me progress onto the check in confirmation unless I booked seats-which you have to extra for apparently.
I think tahrs the advanced check in . If you wait till 48 hours before the fight it's free
lods is offline  
12-02-2011, 16:20   #7
ICANN
Registered User
 
ICANN's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 341
I'm just looking there again and it was the advance check in I was trying to do whereas the other option is just normal web check in (available 30 hours before you fly) so it must be a new money making thing they're doing.
ICANN is offline  
12-02-2011, 16:21   #8
Jumpy
Registered User
 
Jumpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 7,319
Its misleading. You do NOT have to pay for seats. Your ticket is already booked by the time that you get to that window.

You select them at check in. However someone who paid for them gets first preference obviously.
Jumpy is offline  
12-02-2011, 19:13   #9
BuffyBot
Administrator
 
BuffyBot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Kildare
Posts: 20,339
You can only use advanced check in if you've paid for a seat. Otherwise you will be a) requested to pay or b) have to wait until normal online check-in opens the day before your flight.
BuffyBot is offline  
Advertisement
12-02-2011, 19:24   #10
Outkast_IRE
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 5,356
whats the story with luggage bags if you do the online check in , do you still bring them to the counter?
Outkast_IRE is offline  
12-02-2011, 20:15   #11
undo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Munich
Posts: 857
Send a message via ICQ to undo Send a message via MSN to undo Send a message via Skype™ to undo
Quote:
Originally Posted by Outkast_IRE View Post
whats the story with luggage bags if you do the online check in , do you still bring them to the counter?
Yes. Back in the T1 days, there were separate counters for those checking in and those dropping off bags only. The arrangement is probably the same in T2 now.
undo is offline  
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet