Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The end of Xtra-vision?

• Registered Users Posts: 381 ✭✭bricky06

poisonated wrote: »
    If they kept that offer of 1 euro per night I would probably still rent a good few off them.

all the movies that were €1 per night are now €2 per night or 2for€4 for 2nights, 3for€5 for 3 nights or 5for€5 for 7nights. it hasnt changed that much!

Sorry what was that, was too busy downloading the new wall street movie

yeah i just like the cinema experience cos im a bit more social like that :cool:

oh yeah, free rentals of anything i like whenever i like for me and mine cant really be beaten by a downloaded camera recording from the back of the cinema. hope theres not too many silhouettes walking across your 1080p... wait!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 54 ✭✭about blank

bricky06 wrote: »
    yeah i just like the cinema experience cos im a bit more social like that :cool:

oh yeah, free rentals of anything i like whenever i like for me and mine cant really be beaten by a downloaded camera recording from the back of the cinema. hope theres not too many silhouettes walking across your 1080p... wait!

FAIL

nice rebuttal!

• Registered Users Posts: 248 ✭✭bytesize

Ha Ha, enjoy your 5 free rentals a week. And you honestly haven't a clue about downloading by the sounds of it.

What I find more amusing is the fact that you are standing up for the company as if it is somehow yours. I used to work for them for a few years while in college and I can tell you I would be happy to see them go as the company as a whole, in my opinion, are a shower of salad tossers.

• Registered Users Posts: 242 ✭✭Ghetto Cornetto

My first proper job was Xtra Vision on Thomas Street, Dublin. I was in there on and off between '07-'09.

My summarized opinion of the job was that I loved it to bits. Being one of the inner city branches, some of the characters we got in and things they got up to were unreal, a lot of them drug related.

Found a score block of diesel hidden behind a copy of Gears of War in the traded section during one shift. Thankfully, I don't touch crap from the flats, so I just chucked it. Obviously, nobody asked us if it turned up in our Lost and Found.

Had a local addict cabbage out in the Action/Adventure section. Fell asleep standing up and crashed face first into the shelves. I think the last thing he was looking at before he went down was a copy of Universal Soldier: The Return. I took this as a warning to not watch it.

A group of Roma stormed the high value stockroom during a mate's shift. I wasn't on that day, but apparently the image of 4 Roma women charging towards the exit with Xboxes and Wiis is something to behold.

Late one night, just before closing, one of the local kids came into the shop and hid behind one of the stands. The staff that were on that night locked up, not knowing the kid was in there. Just as they were about to close the shutters, somebody walking by gives a nod and says "Ye know ders some yun'felleh in der!". After opening up again, they go in and find him behind the counter. It's obvious he's stolen a stack of blank sim cards (!) and the guards are called, with the shutters down to keep the thief inside.
    He doesn't like this and starts threatening to smash the glass door open. When enough warnings were given, he grabbed his battering ram of choice - a stack of Doritos Salsa Dips and started his assault. After the door had ben suitably drenched in spicy villainry, the staff decided to let him go, fearing a similar saucy fate. I came in the next morning to a scene from the Texas CheapSauce Massacre. It smelt horrific.

Various robberies, both armed and unarmed.

Swiping the near out of date Ben & Jerrys, and needing a gym membership the following year as a result.

Swarms of local kids coming in and thrashing the place at least once a month.

It's a Tesco now. But before every staff member left, both in prosperous times and before the closure, we'd lift up a bit of loose carpet in the vault and sign the floor. I wonder if it's still there.

Fúcking savage job, I miss it more often than not.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭MickShamrock

Wouldn't miss Xtravision for a second.

• Registered Users Posts: 113 ✭✭Tony_Yeboah

As a former loyal Chartbusters employee, I have to say I won't miss them one bit!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,777 ✭✭✭speedboatchase

I'd miss Xtravision - my download speeds are nothing like the kinda speeds I'd need to spontaneously decide to watch something and pop on the telly a few mins later. And I really like being able to rent a game for 5 days, plough through the single player and then return it. I know you can post games back and forth but it's not the same instantaneous process of getting something and bringing it home straight away

Also, to that guy downloading the new Wall Street movie, are we meant to be impressed? :P Can't go back to cinema recordings after the majesty of Blu-Ray for me anymore

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Xtravision never, ever give change

Bought a game, 49.99
    Gave me a receipt, no 1cent coin

I don't even care about the 1cent coin.
    But I've worked in retail, I'd explain we don't have the change or maybe give 2cent or at least acknowledge

Seems that in Xtravision you don't get change unless you ask for it, the staff won't offer.

Now I know it's one cent but they don tens of thousands of transaction per week across Ireland, it adds up

• Registered Users Posts: 5,777 ✭✭✭speedboatchase

Xtravision never, ever give change

Bought a game, 49.99
    Gave me a receipt, no 1cent coin

I don't even care about the 1cent coin.
    But I've worked in retail, I'd explain we don't have the change or maybe give 2cent or at least acknowledge

Seems that in Xtravision you don't get change unless you ask for it, the staff won't offer.

Now I know it's one cent but they don tens of thousands of transaction per week across Ireland, it adds up

I think you do...

• Registered Users Posts: 4,236 ✭✭✭Sanjuro

FAIL
    nice rebuttal!

Battle of the noobs. This should be good.

I think you do...

It's more the principle of the thing godammit

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,772 ✭✭✭johnn

It's more the principle of the thing godammit

Why do you care so much about 1c?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,382 ✭✭✭Motley Crue

I used to work for Chartbusters for quite a while (and actually Xtra Vision before that), and I'm surprised to see CB's managed to survive in any description, but probably because they make more money from Tanning and Internet then they do renting DVD's and Games. At least that's how it was in my time, and when I worked there, it was one of the more profitable stores of the entire franchise.

My memories of working in the local video store include several robberies (a knife in my face, but never a gun), including one where I had to give a written statement to the Garda about the circumstances, badly and mis filed DVD's, customers returning pornography in their rental cases (and then having to contact them and asking them to give the real 'Charlie's Angels' back)....having kids storm the store and attack the staff and otherwise having a laid back and enjoyable employment working in a relatively quiet environment

You've got to look at this in perspective, if someone has a decent Internet connection and/or Sky then they've pretty much got access to any film in 15 minutes. Within that time they can have it downloaded and starting on their computer in excellent quality - as long as it's officially released on DVD they're almost assured of a quality copy

Then you've got games, which people prefer to buy and trade, as opposed to renting. You've also got to worry about scratches on discs and getting the disc home and finding out that your player won't read it.
    A cancer pervades the retail environment. It is the legal inflexibility of our leases to respond to the property crash. Put simply, commercial property has on balance declined by 50% in value. Depending on location, the impairment can vary. Shop units and overhead office accommodation is in surplus supply. Main thoroughfares were extended.

Throughout every provincial town, side streets are closing down, with a consequent migration on to main streets.

A number of high-profile cases of examinership have resulted in the examiner negotiating new ‘Vanilla’ leases and discarding previous arrangements. Xtravision, O’Brien Sandwich Bars, Chartbusters and pub chains have all been subject to this metamorphosis – wiping out shareholders.

On top of all that, there's the cinema (and yes, I worked in two of those in two different countries for a few years each) - which is a sociable experience, and people like to go to the cinema for a cheapish night out. It get's them out, they meet friends, interact and buy junk food and maybe go for food before or after...most teenagers love weekends cause they go to town and spend a day with their mates before the cinema, from what I remember that's all I did for several years...

Anyway, put all this together, and renting a video doesn't really have the same appeal...especially considering rental cost, high prices and the cost of the DVD and Blu Ray discs coming down every day thanks to Internet trading.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34 Brightest_Nite

I would be sad to see Xtra Vision go. But to be honest, in this tech day and age it has done well to survive this long. Here's to hoping that xtra vision keeps it's doors open, at least for a little while longer.:)

• Registered Users Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

Haven't used xtravision in years, went into a local one a while back and it was crap. Only dvd store I would use in Dublin city is laser discs, the others just don't cut it.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,963 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

Can't see XV being around for much longer, they spent millions on a new computer system then realised that they can't afford it and cut pay of employees. It's been on the cards for a while, just hoping for another year or so till I finish college, hate being an unemployed student.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 liam775

Post removed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Sykk wrote: »
    Who rents DVD's nowadays?! Last time I done that was before broadband became available in Ireland.

Try downloading a 25GB HD Blue Ray movie. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭Mister men

oh ffs. Who still rents films.

• Registered Users Posts: 266 ✭✭car

I too work in Xtravision for years as Assistant Manager... it put me through college, also worked in Chartbusters for my final year... never understood how Chartbusters lasted as long as it did since I knew what Xtravision was taking in up the road, but that shop sadly closed the other week, much to the disapointment of my friend who worked there from day 1.

It would be sad to see xtravision to go, but its bound to happen, especially when I was in my local shop last Friday and their Regional Manager was discussing the prices of Black Ops in other stores, and was kindly told it was much cheeper in the New Tescos in Naas ..... why she was discussing this in the middle of the shop on her blackberry, I dont know but she was on to one of the old school Head Guys in Dublin.

I also found out how many Tv's they had on display in the new tescos. She was so unprofesional it was not funny, and here on the other hand she was telling the staff to upsell.... I had to laugh! Xtravision lost out on a sale that night as a result of her conversation.

I remember the days of opening new store, opening up electronic shops with in these shops, queues out the door most weekends, opened to 12pm, now its almost empty when u walk in, their electronic stock is down to a few shelves. Its sad if they do close, as I did learn so much working their, made so many good friends too, plus the working there allowed me to put myself through college, not many jobs were flexiable as working for Xtravision.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40 winchesterj54

i never liked xtravision if they went bankrupt tommorow
    would anyone really care???
    they charge way to much for rentals it's ridiciulous
    as if the goverment isn't screwing us out of enough money

• Registered Users Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

Woah, hang on a second. Movies & games come on DVD's??? :eek: When did this start happening.

Damn. All this time I've spent downloading. Let me see...that's about 800 X 30 mins..so about 16 and half days of my life wasted downloading digital movies.

I feel like such an eejit.

I remember getting video tapes and they threatened to fine you 25p if you didn't rewind the tape for the next person :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,674 ✭✭✭Faith+1

I remember getting video tapes and they threatened to fine you 25p if you didn't rewind the tape for the next person :eek:

I remember my dad getting fined 50p for not rewinding Home Alone 2. I remember they used to have a warning sticker on all tapes to remind you to rewind. I think a new release then was £2.20

• Registered Users Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭Mackman

i realy hate this smugness a lot of people have on this thread about people renting movies though. Why does everyone have to download them? I dont want to download them. I couldnt be arsed.

I enjoy going to Blockbuster and browsing through the movies, reading the back of the boxes, sometimes stumbling across a gem that i havent heard of before. Then having a look through the ex-rentals for sale, see if there's any bargins. Then its up to the counter, usually picking up some popcorn and a bag of peanut M&M's on the way. :)

As for xtravision, they were always rediculously expensive. Rent for 6euro or buy for 10 euro. Tough choice :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

video shops are where I go for ideas of something to download

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

At the prices they charge for rentals, I wouldn't be surprised if they went the way of the Dodo.

No real loss.

• Registered Users Posts: 109 ✭✭ToyotaCorolla

Xtra Vision in Rush,Co Dublin is closing this week issue over rent led to the demise.
    Pity I liked there popcorn from the machine they got recently better than the cinema popcorn.