satellitetv.ie - boards.ie
Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
24-10-2010, 13:19   #1
liammccarthy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 30
satellitetv.ie

hi has anyone had any dealings with satellitetv .ie? or preferably <snip>. my experience began august 26th when he installed a motorised system for me. the reciever used was a tm800hd which i had previously told him on the phone I didnt think was fully working. anyway it was installed ok no problem there, I got no information from him about the reciever or if something went wrong or how to rectify it .he just told me that in a couple of months i would learn a lot more as i go, that i would only understand about 10% of what he told me. anyway after trying to update the reciever I lost everything no satellites, no picture, no dish moving, I have nothing , nothing since september 5th, after phoning him numerous times i have been promised he will call.The last time he was contacted was october 2nd and i was promised the week ending the 23rd october, guess what no show .I paid good money for this system i would expect some customer service as is the norm for most companies but maybe not for satellitetv.ie .So thats it sorry about such a long note but thats my experience of <snip> and satellitetv.ie . I would not recommend him I have learnt a lesson about motorised systems

Last edited by Boards.ie: Niamh; 28-01-2014 at 15:11. Reason: Name removed
liammccarthy is offline  
Advertisement
24-10-2010, 13:26   #2
carbsy
Registered User
 
carbsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Exiled in Dublin
Posts: 1,809
Quote:
Originally Posted by liammccarthy View Post
hi has anyone had any dealings with satellitetv .ie? or preferably <snip>. my experience began august 26th when he installed a motorised system for me. the reciever used was a tm800hd which i had previously told him on the phone I didnt think was fully working. anyway it was installed ok no problem there, I got no information from him about the reciever or if something went wrong or how to rectify it .he just told me that in a couple of months i would learn a lot more as i go, that i would only understand about 10% of what he told me. anyway after trying to update the reciever I lost everything no satellites, no picture, no dish moving, I have nothing , nothing since september 5th, after phoning him numerous times i have been promised he will call.The last time he was contacted was october 2nd and i was promised the week ending the 23rd october, guess what no show .I paid good money for this system i would expect some customer service as is the norm for most companies but maybe not for satellitetv.ie .So thats it sorry about such a long note but thats my experience of <snip> and satellitetv.ie . I would not recommend him I have learnt a lesson about motorised systems
Let me get this straight.You supplied your own receiver and you mucked it up and you expect <snip> to fix it?

Last edited by Boards.ie: Niamh; 28-01-2014 at 15:11.
carbsy is offline  
Thanks from:
24-10-2010, 13:29   #3
pelisor2000
Banned
 
pelisor2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: dublin 15
Posts: 238
Send a message via Yahoo to pelisor2000
.....

if you update the receiver and lost all the data is not is fault...

Last edited by pelisor2000; 24-10-2010 at 13:30. Reason: v
pelisor2000 is offline  
Thanks from:
24-10-2010, 13:34   #4
recyclebin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Ireland
Posts: 1,836
Did you buy the box off satellitetv aswell? Updates normally wipe your settings so it may be just a matter of setting the box up again!

We need to hear the full story before we can comment.

Having said that I bought a vu+ duo off him and the scart socket wasn't working. <snip> wasn't too helpful so I got help from a vu+ forum. I changed the original image on the box with the VTI image and the scart worked fine.

Last edited by Boards.ie: Niamh; 28-01-2014 at 15:12.
recyclebin is offline  
24-10-2010, 14:47   #5
fish fingers
Registered User
 
fish fingers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: galway
Posts: 1,028
They are a bit awkward to get going, are you ever up around Galway? Iv set up one for my cousin, I could set up your one for you.
Have a look here for help http://www.digitalworldz.co.uk/tm800hd.html

Last edited by fish fingers; 24-10-2010 at 14:50.
fish fingers is offline  
Advertisement
24-10-2010, 17:01   #6
Headshot
Registered User
 
Headshot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 45,601
From my experience Satellite installers hate motorised dishes because the know the customer will expect them to fix the dish when ever its faulty or somthing and they wont get paid for it.
Headshot is offline  
24-10-2010, 18:00   #7
michael999999
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 5,648
Quote:
Originally Posted by Headshot View Post
From my experience Satellite installers hate motorised dishes because the know the customer will expect them to fix the dish when ever its faulty or somthing and they wont get paid for it.
its not too much to ask a satellite installer to be able to fix what hes selling/fitting is it?
if the satellite installer did not provide the dish then he should either not have fitted it for him,or if he agreed to fit the system he should have made sure all the components he was fitting were working properly.
its not good enough to take payment for providing a service and then not explaining how to use the system you have just installed.
michael999999 is offline  
24-10-2010, 18:04   #8
liammccarthy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by carbsy View Post
Let me get this straight.You supplied your own receiver and you mucked it up and you expect <snip> to fix it?
he supplied reciever

Last edited by Boards.ie: Niamh; 28-01-2014 at 15:12.
liammccarthy is offline  
24-10-2010, 18:11   #9
michael999999
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 5,648
i rang him a few months back as i seen one of the motorised systems on hes website,i was thinking about buying one.i asked him a few questions the last one being could he send me a channel list of the channels i would get.he couldnt provide one or tell me any channels that would be on it.i didnt buy one.glad now.
michael999999 is offline  
Advertisement
24-10-2010, 18:21   #10
Galway
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 612
In my experience the company and installer referred to was the ONLY one in 3, I have had in that was able to properly set up a motorised system, which I have had for over 18 months now. I know quite a bit about satellite tv, I can install, and have installed fixed dish systems but do not have the expertise to attempt a motorised setup. When my motorand dish needed adjustment due to very strong winds, this was done for no extra charge. What has been recounted here is very uncharacteristic of this installer but also it is unfair to name explicitly the individual in a post. In my experience the installer in question always tells it how it is, but does not suffer fools gladly. If you have updated your receiver and lost all the settings, it means there is more than likely nothing wrong with the set up of the hardware, i.e. the motor and the dish. You need to use the USALS option, select a satellite and active transponder and the USALS sofware should re calculate the position of the other satellites on the arc. If you have a receiver handbook, it might be worth reading it.

I can only recommend him highly from my dealings.

Last edited by Galway; 24-10-2010 at 18:31.
Galway is offline  
24-10-2010, 19:04   #11
carbsy
Registered User
 
carbsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Exiled in Dublin
Posts: 1,809
Quote:
Originally Posted by liammccarthy View Post
he supplied reciever
ok... and it was working when the installer left.The only reason it's not working now is down to yourself.Motorised systems are not for the novice user tbh and it's unfair to hold the installer responsible as it sounds like he did his job correctly.

I'd suggest you read up more on the matter and try and fix it yourself.
carbsy is offline  
24-10-2010, 19:22   #12
fish fingers
Registered User
 
fish fingers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: galway
Posts: 1,028
Liam, I can try and help you here, or in the link i provided. I have experience with one of these recievers as i said. I also have a motorised dish . My username is Hooley in the other site. Let me know sure.
fish fingers is offline  
24-10-2010, 19:51   #13
liammccarthy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by carbsy View Post
ok... and it was working when the installer left.The only reason it's not working now is down to yourself.Motorised systems are not for the novice user tbh and it's unfair to hold the installer responsible as it sounds like he did his job correctly.

I'd suggest you read up more on the matter and try and fix it yourself.
i am reading up as much as i can . i was left with a reciever as far as i know was not fully working all i was looking was for some after sales support or help.
liammccarthy is offline  
24-10-2010, 19:53   #14
liammccarthy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by fish fingers View Post
Liam, I can try and help you here, or in the link i provided. I have experience with one of these recievers as i said. I also have a motorised dish . My username is Hooley in the other site. Let me know sure.
hi can you help? send me a pm please
liammccarthy is offline  
25-10-2010, 00:16   #15
michael999999
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 5,648
Quote:
Originally Posted by carbsy View Post
ok... and it was working when the installer left.The only reason it's not working now is down to yourself.Motorised systems are not for the novice user tbh and it's unfair to hold the installer responsible as it sounds like he did his job correctly.

I'd suggest you read up more on the matter and try and fix it yourself.
should <snip> not have explained how to use it before he took hes money?

Last edited by Boards.ie: Niamh; 28-01-2014 at 15:12. Reason: name removed
michael999999 is offline  
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet