Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
09-08-2010, 20:47   #1
eske
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 115
ipv4 loopback -what the hell is that?

anyone know what an iploopback is? isn't it soemthing you'd do to test a connection - put a loop on it?

anway I'm not even sure what an ipv4loopback is but when I look at TCP connections in resource manager I can see a lot more than I'd expect and a lot of them seem to have this ipv4 loopback both local and remote. The images are for itunes and firefox and some where the image is blank?

I'm running windows7.

should I be worried? any ideas?
eske is offline  
Advertisement
09-08-2010, 20:51   #2
jpl888
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: johnlewis.ie
Posts: 403
Look at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Loopback especially the virtual interface bit.

I wouldn't be worried about it.
jpl888 is offline  
09-08-2010, 21:03   #3
eske
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 115
thanks @jpl888

i had seen the article on wikipedia but I wasn't sure -

I only recently noticed this behaviour - it certainly hasn't been happening in the past

think it might be tied into an android emulator I attempted to setup as a lot of the loopbacks are to port 5037 (used by adb - android debug bridge)

just unsure how to stop it
eske is offline  
09-08-2010, 21:18   #4
jpl888
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: johnlewis.ie
Posts: 403
Are you not able to uninstall the stuff you tried to setup?
jpl888 is offline  
09-08-2010, 21:27   #5
eske
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 115
nope ( I know what a muppet)

there doesn't appear to be anything to uninstall in windows - remove programs

here's what I was attempting to do

http://www.lorinbute.com/posts/how-t...-on-froyo.html

- but I couldn't get to step 5 as the drivers wouldn't install - I'mn not even sure the phone i have the Desire is compatible with the nexus 1 setup ... anyway

since then I've noticed this ipv4loopback business and a lot of images reference port 5037 - used by android debug bridge

but there is noting in the recently installed list for me to remove

there's nothing i see unusual in the startup list in msconfig ? so I'm not sure where to go from here
eske is offline  
Advertisement
09-08-2010, 21:36   #6
jpl888
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: johnlewis.ie
Posts: 403
According to the link it installs 3 drivers maybe the loopbacks are to do with them.

If you can identify which they are remove them. If not it may be a good idea to remove any Android related software that you can and then see what drivers are left in device manager, removing them, and putting your other software back on then.

To be fair to you it isn't clear how to remove any of that stuff so your muppetism is in doubt.
jpl888 is offline  
09-08-2010, 21:42   #7
jpl888
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: johnlewis.ie
Posts: 403
Sorry ignore my last post I saw you didn't get as far as step 5.
jpl888 is offline  
09-08-2010, 21:44   #8
jpl888
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: johnlewis.ie
Posts: 403
I'm just reading up now and it appears those loopbacks are definitely to do with the emulator. Give me a few minutes.
jpl888 is offline  
09-08-2010, 21:47   #9
jpl888
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: johnlewis.ie
Posts: 403
This is from the android developers website
Quote:
If you are working in Eclipse, the ADT plugin for Eclipse installs your application and starts the emulator automatically, when you run or debug the application.
Check for "emulator" processes in task manager.
jpl888 is offline  
Advertisement
09-08-2010, 22:10   #10
eske
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 115
thanks dude - I found a legit htc process that adb was using - killed it and the tcp connectons dropped right down on post 5037 to zero

annoyingly there are still legit processes itunes, firefox, dropbox, logmein
which still have the local and remote ipv4 loopback

will have to dig a little deeper here
eske is offline  
09-08-2010, 22:11   #11
jpl888
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: johnlewis.ie
Posts: 403
It could be installed as part of eclipse so you could remove eclipse to get rid of it.
jpl888 is offline  
09-08-2010, 22:18   #12
eske
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 115
don't think i have eclipse installed but I'll keep plugging away - many...many thanks for the assistance
eske is offline  
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet