Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
09-04-2010, 22:08   #1
iPink
Registered User
 
iPink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Co-Offaly
Posts: 309
Cydia error message- no ultrasn0w... unlock help?

I've installed 3.1.2 firmware in my 3g

Jailbroke it using Redsn0w but Cydia is acting up (stupid error message) and can't d/l ultrasn0w...

Blackra1n isn't working either, something about a missing dll file, so no blacksn0w...

Is there anyway to unlock fone without wifi or internet connection direct on fone (have laptop but no wifi)?

Have looked for a way to d/l ultrasn0w or blacksn0w to laptop without blackra1n or Cydia & transfer over to iPhone using Diskaid but can't find anything except info for doing it with a MAC...

Thanks in advance...
iPink is offline  
Advertisement
09-04-2010, 22:35   #2
Mr.S
Moderator
 
Mr.S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Dublin
Posts: 12,357
Did you download the latest version of iTunes?

If so, this "breaks" blackra1n as far as i know.
Mr.S is offline  
09-04-2010, 23:42   #3
iPink
Registered User
 
iPink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Co-Offaly
Posts: 309
oh thanks, yeah I did
Is there any way of rolling that back do you know??
iPink is offline  
10-04-2010, 00:04   #4
Jax Teller
Closed Account
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 8,353
Don't know if this ya problem but worth a go
http://m.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthr...8#post65308888
Jax Teller is offline  
Thanks from:
10-04-2010, 01:01   #5
iPink
Registered User
 
iPink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Co-Offaly
Posts: 309
+1 you're a genius, thanks!!
Wouldn't mind but I actually commented on that thread lol totally missed it
iPink is offline  
Advertisement
10-04-2010, 01:05   #6
Jax Teller
Closed Account
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 8,353
Quote:
Originally Posted by iPink View Post
+1 you're a genius, thanks!!
Wouldn't mind but I actually commented on that thread lol totally missed it
So phone sorted now yeah ?
Jax Teller is offline  
10-04-2010, 09:24   #7
Leiva
Closed Account
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 10,641
iPink STOP a sec....

You are already jailbroken using redsn0w , no need to use blackra1n , that's just another jailbreak method ? ... You are risking bricking your phone ! And a official restore to 3.1.3 may be on the cards if you get problems.

You just need to install ultrasn0w to unlock .


To use ultrasn0w unlock , you will need to get it from CYDIA so do this first.

1. Launch Cydia on iPhone and add “http://repo666.ultrasn0w.com” as the new repository URL. You can simply tap “Manage” -> “Sources” -> “Edit” -> “Add” to add the repository URL.

2. Then tap “Search” and search for “ultrasn0w” application
3. Install “ultrasn0w”
4. Reboot your iPhone 3G after installing ultrasn0w and enjoy!

Last edited by Leiva; 10-04-2010 at 09:30.
Leiva is offline  
10-04-2010, 16:09   #8
iPink
Registered User
 
iPink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Co-Offaly
Posts: 309
Quote:
Originally Posted by iPink View Post
I've installed 3.1.2 firmware in my 3g

Jailbroke it using Redsn0w but Cydia is acting up (stupid error message) and can't d/l ultrasn0w...
Mixenuts- that's EXACTLY the problem... Cydia won't work... getting that annoying message for a while now 'error netdb open nodename or servname provided, or not known'

Done a search for it and it seems to be a common problem with no way of resolving.. wasn't even able to d/l 'appbackup' before trying to restore phone, so will have to re-install everything again manually

Anyway it's not a problem with Cydia on MY fone cos it was the same thing before and after the restore ie with a wiped-clean fone... seems it's a network problem...

Whatever the reason, I can't d/l ultrasn0w using Cydia and there seems to be no other way... I've done EXTENSIVE research believe me lol

So Blackra1n/blacksn0w looks like it might be the only way out for me as I don't need Cydia for them... the problem was with the new version of iTunes... I have blackra1n installed now but still no blacksn0w.... I need to find a wifi hotspot I can use for that....
iPink is offline  
10-04-2010, 16:13   #9
iPink
Registered User
 
iPink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Co-Offaly
Posts: 309
Quote:
Originally Posted by keysersoze_88 View Post
So phone sorted now yeah ?

Not quite.. but getting there....

Had already JB with redsn0w, blackra1n didn't like that so after a couple of software refreshes on iTunes and running Blackra1n from the iTunes folder I now have BR on the fone... but no wifi... just have to find a hotspot and then should be able to get Blacksn0w running and all will be well I'm sure... hopefully....
iPink is offline  
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet