Best method for dusting inside computer? - boards.ie
Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
24-08-2009, 13:35   #1
py2006
Registered User
 
py2006's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: I don't know where I am! :(
Posts: 5,806
Best method for dusting inside computer?

Hi all,

One of the side panels of my case wont go back on so the internals have been exposed for a while now. I do have it up against a wall so its not all that bad now!

However, there is an awful lot of dust in there! I am afraid to take the hover to it in case it causes damage and don't want to use a cloth for same reason.

What is the best method for this or does it really matter at all?

Cheers!
py2006 is offline  
Advertisement
24-08-2009, 13:54   #2
GerardKeating
Registered User
 
GerardKeating's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Connemara
Posts: 4,434
Send a message via ICQ to GerardKeating Send a message via AIM to GerardKeating Send a message via MSN to GerardKeating Send a message via Yahoo to GerardKeating Send a message via Skype™ to GerardKeating
Quote:
Originally Posted by py2006 View Post
Hi all,

One of the side panels of my case wont go back on so the internals have been exposed for a while now. I do have it up against a wall so its not all that bad now!

However, there is an awful lot of dust in there! I am afraid to take the hover to it in case it causes damage and don't want to use a cloth for same reason.

What is the best method for this or does it really matter at all?

Cheers!
I always use the hover and as long as you do not actually make contact with any innards you should be fine.
GerardKeating is offline  
24-08-2009, 14:07   #3
Tallon
Closed Account
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 22,926
use the hoover for the outside and canned air for the inside.
Works a treat
Tallon is offline  
24-08-2009, 14:08   #4
mark renton
Closed Account
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,652
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tallon View Post
use the hoover for the outside and canned air for the inside.
Works a treat


air in a can??
mark renton is offline  
24-08-2009, 14:10   #5
Auvers
Closed Account
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,938
Quote:
Originally Posted by john47832 View Post


air in a can??
well not excatly air, have a read
Auvers is offline  
Advertisement
24-08-2009, 14:13   #6
Tallon
Closed Account
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 22,926
Quote:
Originally Posted by john47832 View Post


air in a can??
Tallon is offline  
(2) thanks from:
24-08-2009, 14:14   #7
polyfusion
Closed Account
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 653
Compressed air is the best way to go about it. I normally strip them down completely (short of taking the heatsink off the CPU), and blow the air into all the nooks and crannies, through the heatsink and PSU as well. I wouldn't try pushing air through an optical or hard drive though - remove them and just dust them off. Give the inlets and outlets a good doing over too.

Best to do it outside as well (or well ventilated garage). Get the side panel back on though. As well as stopping dust getting in, the cases are usually designed to allow exchange of air from outside, through the case, and then exit. Interrupt this airflow, and some parts of the system may not get sufficient cooling air.

Using a vacuum wouldn't be recommended - if your vac is powerful, you could run the risk of having the nozzle impact the motherboard, crushing a component perhaps.
polyfusion is offline  
24-08-2009, 14:19   #8
mark renton
Closed Account
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,652
I knew that
mark renton is offline  
Thanks from:
24-08-2009, 14:48   #9
Overheal
MegaMod X
 
Overheal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Clemson, SC
Posts: 37,294
Send a message via Skype™ to Overheal
air can blast, hoover to gooble up the floaties
Overheal is offline  
Advertisement
25-08-2009, 08:26   #10
py2006
Registered User
 
py2006's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: I don't know where I am! :(
Posts: 5,806
Thanks guys, good advice!

I am sure they sell that can of air in pc world??
py2006 is offline  
25-08-2009, 08:46   #11
cruizer101
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Dublin/Limerick
Posts: 850
I heard once that using a vacumm can cause a build up of a static chrge on the tip due to the fast flowing air, wondering can anyone confirm this.

Also would a clean air pump of some sort work, such as a football pump.
(I realise the kind of people who clean their computers may not be the kind who generally play football but something along those lines)
cruizer101 is online now  
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet