Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
16-10-2008, 10:27   #1
kleefarr
Registered User
 
kleefarr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Please wait! Searching....
Posts: 4,327
Using an ADSL Gateway/Modem router

I just had a quick chat with Linksys online. They suggest getting an ADSL2+ router would improve things...

Linksys: Did your ISP provide any dedicated speed?
Me: 8MB
Linksys (30047E): It should work normally
Me: With ADSL2+?
Linksys (30047E): Yes
Me: That's fine. Thanks for checking for me.
Linksys (30047E): But it is not ADSL2+ device, you won't get full 8Mbps speed
Me: The speed is up and down a lot.
Linksys (30047E): Yes that's correct because BEFDSR41W is not a ADSL2+ device
Me: I suppose things would improve if I got an ADSL2+ device then?
Linksys (30047E): Yes
Me: Ok. Thank you very much for your time. Bye.
Linksys (30047E): Welcome!


Would they stop all the disconnects and improve speeds?

Last edited by kleefarr; 16-10-2008 at 10:34.
kleefarr is offline  
Advertisement
16-10-2008, 10:49   #2
jor el
Closed Account
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 16,422
Who is your ISP, and is it ADSL2+? eircom and all the resellers are ADSL, only BT's up to 24M, Smart and Magnet do ADSL2+ (that I know of).

If you're on ADSL2+, and using an ADSL modem, then that could well be an issue as the modem might be trying to sync at a higher speed than it's capable of, hence the drops.
jor el is offline  
16-10-2008, 10:56   #3
kleefarr
Registered User
 
kleefarr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Please wait! Searching....
Posts: 4,327
With BT and I have recently changed to their Kilkenny 24Mb service, but when they tested the line they said I could only get 8MB, which is the max of the Linksys BEFDSR41W ADSL Gateway, so I suppose that's why they could only get a max of 8Mb.
kleefarr is offline  
16-10-2008, 11:48   #4
jor el
Closed Account
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 16,422
Did they not supply you with a new ADSL2+ modem then? They probably should have, in order to use the service.
jor el is offline  
16-10-2008, 12:57   #5
kleefarr
Registered User
 
kleefarr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Please wait! Searching....
Posts: 4,327
They did offer me one at the discount price of €49.99, but I thought I would try out my own one.
I would rather stick with a Linksys one as I have been using Linksys networking gear for six years or so without any problems and think they're great.

Was looking at Linksys WAG354G, WAG200G and WRT54G. Just need to decide which one is the best/fastest all in gateway.

Although, I just saw this... WAG160N

Last edited by kleefarr; 16-10-2008 at 13:02.
kleefarr is offline  
Advertisement
16-10-2008, 13:20   #6
dub45
Moderator
 
dub45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Dublin
Posts: 9,874
www.broadbandbuyer.co.uk can be good for user reviews.
dub45 is offline  
17-10-2008, 21:39   #7
kleefarr
Registered User
 
kleefarr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Please wait! Searching....
Posts: 4,327
I have noticed that speeds are generally worse at night. I assume this is due to the contention ratio as more people go online after coming home increasing. Would a new ADSL2+ modem improve speeds in this regard?
kleefarr is offline  
06-11-2008, 15:43   #8
kleefarr
Registered User
 
kleefarr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Please wait! Searching....
Posts: 4,327
Modem arrived about 45 minutes ago. About to set it up. I suppose I should use all of the bits that came with it, like the micro filter and cables etc?

Will let you know how it goes later.
kleefarr is offline  
13-11-2008, 19:50   #9
kleefarr
Registered User
 
kleefarr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Please wait! Searching....
Posts: 4,327
Well I have had this new modem for week now... WAG160N

All in all I am very impressed. Were as I would suffer numerous dropped connections and speed losses everyday around this sort of time, I am no longer suffering anywhere near as much as before.
I have very rarely reset the modem to get a good connection and speeds have been markedly better. Although I do notice a slight drop in speed around this time, but only down to 4MB at the worst so far.

I'm very glad I took the step and bought it.

Now to post some speed test results in the other thread.

Next week I will be contacting BT again and asking them to check how capable my line is and I fully expect them to say something in excess of the 8MB they quoted me a couple of months ago.
kleefarr is offline  
Advertisement
13-11-2008, 23:27   #10
dub45
Moderator
 
dub45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Dublin
Posts: 9,874
[QUOTE=kleefarr;57895148]Well I have had this new modem for week now... ....................
Next week I will be contacting BT again and asking them to check how capable my line is and I fully expect them to say something in excess of the 8MB they quoted me a couple of months ago.[/QUOTE]

Your line stats availabe from the Linksys should give you a good indication of what your line is capable of.
dub45 is offline  
14-11-2008, 14:39   #11
kleefarr
Registered User
 
kleefarr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Please wait! Searching....
Posts: 4,327
I can't find them on the modem interface.
My old BEFDSR41W had a page where it was shown, but I can't see them anywhere on this one. I would have thought that they would be there somewhere.
kleefarr is offline  
14-11-2008, 19:19   #12
Alun
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Bray, Co. Wicklow
Posts: 13,345
Quote:
Originally Posted by kleefarr View Post
I have noticed that speeds are generally worse at night. I assume this is due to the contention ratio as more people go online after coming home increasing. Would a new ADSL2+ modem improve speeds in this regard?
It can also be down to increased noise levels at night due to street lighting and other sources. My own SNR margin starts to drop pretty much as soon as it starts to get dark, and I've been monitoring it over a few months now and notice it starting earlier as the nights draw in. I'm lucky in that my router (a Cisco) hangs on for grim death before resynching, but some others might drop the connection and resynch at a lower rate as a result.

Here's mine today, for example ...




As others have said, if you're not on an ADSL2+ enabled connection an ADSL2+ modem won't make a jot of difference, nor will it cause any problems either as others have said. ADSL and ADSL2+ are backwards compatible. Pretty much any ADSL modem or ADSL router/gateway bought in recent times is ADSL2+ capable.
Alun is online now  
15-11-2008, 10:16   #13
kleefarr
Registered User
 
kleefarr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Please wait! Searching....
Posts: 4,327
Quote:
Originally Posted by kleefarr
With BT and I have recently changed to their Kilkenny 24Mb service
That should be ADSL2+ shouldn't it?
kleefarr is offline  
15-11-2008, 11:37   #14
Alun
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Bray, Co. Wicklow
Posts: 13,345
Quote:
Originally Posted by kleefarr View Post
That should be ADSL2+ shouldn't it?
Sorry, yes, I hadn't spotted that. I seem to have missed reading a post or two of yours where you said you'd got a new modem already

See this post http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin//show...php?p=56974440 to see how to get the line stats from your router. they've hidden them for some obscure reason in this model.

Also try downloading RouterStats from here http://www.vwlowen.co.uk/internet/files.htm and look at how your line stats look over a period when you're getting the disconnects / slow speeds.

Last edited by Alun; 15-11-2008 at 11:43.
Alun is online now  
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet