Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
07-07-2008, 16:47   #1
JohnCleary
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 8,539
Has anyone used a USB extension cable for 3g dongle?

OK now I realise it just looks ilke i'm spamming the forums but I couldn't find any other thread that may suit, and this could benefit others too!

I was looking at getting an extension cable for my O2 3g dongle:
http://cgi.ebay.com/10FT-USB-2-0-EXT...QQcmdZViewItem

Now, the problem here is that you can only use 1 USB port, and sometimes it's better to use the 2usb ports for extra power

Does anyone know if there's such a thing as:
A 10-15ft USB extension lead
That uses the 2 USB ports (Like: http://cgi.ebay.com/USB-AM-Male-to-M...QQcmdZViewItem )
That has about 20cm distance between the 2 Male-To-Male connections (My USB ports on teh laptop are a fair distance from each other )

I've been googling for a while now and I don't think such a cable exists Or should I not be worried about using the 2 USB ports?? (Compaq Presario M2000 laptop)
JohnCleary is offline  
Advertisement
07-07-2008, 16:57   #2
nuxxx
Registered User
 
nuxxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: On a boat
Posts: 7,839
funny u shud mention this.
i just picked up a usb extension today.
gona test it in about 20 mins.
will let you no how it gets on.
its about 3 metres in lenght.
nuxxx is offline  
07-07-2008, 17:00   #3
JohnCleary
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 8,539
Quote:
Originally Posted by nuxxx View Post
funny u shud mention this.
i just picked up a usb extension today.
gona test it in about 20 mins.
will let you no how it gets on.
its about 3 metres in lenght.
Cool would appreciate you letting me know. I take it you're just using 1 USB plugged into your pc/laptop?

I think 5m is the limit on USB cables without using a repeater
JohnCleary is offline  
07-07-2008, 17:25   #4
nuxxx
Registered User
 
nuxxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: On a boat
Posts: 7,839
lo

just tested it

i needed it cause iv got a desktop and best signal at the window

im getting 150 kb/s down and the same upload, so ye its working perfectly

just a standard 3 metre usb cable

hope this helps , nuxx.
nuxxx is offline  
Thanks from:
07-07-2008, 21:15   #5
JohnCleary
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 8,539
That's great I think i'll buy one sure it couldn't do any harm
JohnCleary is offline  
Advertisement
08-07-2008, 16:05   #6
Mlo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 128
I bought a 15m extension off ebay, works some of the time but no real improvement to be had. (I'm on three btw)

But then again squeezing the modem can improve the speeds too ???
Mlo is offline  
08-07-2008, 16:24   #7
Mayo Exile
Closed Account
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,627
Quote:
Originally posted by Mlo: 15m extension off ebay
As JohnCleary already says above, I thought a 5m cable was the longest you could use with USB devices as any longer you begin to lose signal? Are you using a repeater?

I used just a 1.8m USB cable that came with my digital camera and put the dongle as high as i could. Got a dramatic improvement compared to the standard runt of a cable that comes in the dongle pack! Getting 3 and 4 bar 3G strength, unlike before was only getting zero or 1 (v. rarely 2) bar strength even at off peak hours. Often it dropped into EDGE reception. I am in Dundalk Town centre. Will check again at peak hour usage tonight.
Mayo Exile is offline  
08-07-2008, 19:51   #8
Mlo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 128
My bad, I'm thinking 15 feet and typing metres, it was of course 5m and didn't do anything for my 3G signal.
Mlo is offline  
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet