Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

drink and drive

• 19-07-2005 12:18am
    Registered Users Posts: 6,800 ✭✭✭

be honest, have you ever driven knowing you're over the limit?

have you knowingly driven over the alcholic limit? 31 votes

yes
    0% 0 votes
    no
    100% 31 votes

• Registered Users Posts: 3,968 ✭✭✭jcoote

well not that night but maybe the next mornin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 688 ✭✭✭skye

Have done so knowingly - much to my shame - not being pissed out of my head but after a few pints... that's all it takes at the end of the day isn't it? Live in a small town where garda prescence is low and pretty much know I will be ok to drive the few hundered metres to my house - if there were a more recognisable garda prescence I would not even think about it... Policing issues need to be addressed in this country...Being from the north originally I would never dream of doing this up home.. police presence is too high to "get away with it". Where are they down here??

• Registered Users Posts: 3,968 ✭✭✭jcoote

i heard of a guy who didn't drink and used to fall out of the pub spinnin his head,sit on his bonnet for 2 mnutes and get in the car and drive off...the garda would see him and stop him and all his drunk mates would fly by in the cars...he was a decoy...madness :D

• Registered Users Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

skye wrote:
    Have done so knowingly - much to my shame - not being pissed out of my head but after a few pints... that's all it takes at the end of the day isn't it? Live in a small town where garda prescence is low and pretty much know I will be ok to drive the few hundered metres to my house - if there were a more recognisable garda prescence I would not even think about it... Policing issues need to be addressed in this country...Being from the north originally I would never dream of doing this up home.. police presence is too high to "get away with it". Where are they down here??

problem with that is its hard to justify more police in a very small town with little or no crime when large cities are crying out for more police, so you'll probably be stick with ols seamus for a few more years to come. Incidentally is he also the postman and milkman? :D

Much as I dont like to admit it, I have done it once or twice (literallyonce or twice)

• Registered Users Posts: 6,800 ✭✭✭county

i dont drive,bit of a lazy bastard!

• Registered Users Posts: 224 ✭✭crazymonkey

have done it, to my shame, actually more than once,

• Registered Users Posts: 10,246 ✭✭✭✭Riamfada

im ashamed that I have done this more than once. Actually thats more than 8 times. I dont really care what you think so F off if you feel like quoting this from your high horse! :P

most people i know have done it including family

jcoote wrote:
    i heard of a guy who didn't drink and used to fall out of the pub spinnin his head,sit on his bonnet for 2 mnutes and get in the car and drive off...the garda would see him and stop him and all his drunk mates would fly by in the cars...he was a decoy...madness :D

ingenious.

Grimes wrote:
    im ashamed that I have done this more than once. Actually thats more than 8 times. I dont really care what you think so F off if you feel like quoting this from your high horse! :P
    your taking it the wrong way its just a poll,no need to insult me

county wrote:
    your taking it the wrong way its just a poll,no need to insult me

Hey sorry. I wasnt refering to you county mate. I just didnt want anyone judging me. And getting all high and mighty at a later stage :) . Sorry dude. Chill.

Grimes - just want to say that just because someone is not a driver doesn't make their opinion on this topic invalid. I know pleanty of people who do not drive but would accept a lift home of someone - knowing they were over the limit which IMO is equally as bad. To accuse County of being on a high horse on this issue is wrong as he has not defined how he stands on it - so, question to county, as a non-driver - would you accept a lift home of someone knowing that person was tanked??

Quick sorry to you grimes - jumped the gun and didn't see your post till I had posted!! Question for County still stands though!!

skye wrote:
    Grimes - just want to say that just because someone is not a driver doesn't make their opinion on this topic invalid. I know pleanty of people who do not drive but would accept a lift home of someone - knowing they were over the limit which IMO is equally as bad. To accuse County of being on a high horse on this issue is wrong as he has not defined how he stands on it - so, question to county, as a non-driver - would you accept a lift home of someone knowing that person was tanked??
    yes, my missus has taken my home many a night with a few drinks in her and i have never objected even though I know I should...I need my sleep :D

Grimes wrote:
    Hey sorry. I wasnt refering to you county mate. I just didnt want anyone judging me. And getting all high and mighty at a later stage :) . Sorry dude. Chill.
    sorry man i took you wrong ;)

I guess the problem is that in this country drinking is an "essential" and accepted aspect of society. For example spainish drunks on a street in spain are hard to see and frowned upon. Whereas here the town is awash with people staggering left and right. The dangers of alcohol are not recognised and therefore people are less inclined to see the effects it has on their driving. However! People will not change and drink driving will never be eradicated . The effects of alcohol result people who would never condone it actually doing it! Therefore the only way to cure drink driving is to remove alcohol.

Therefore the only way to cure drink driving is to remove alcohol.[/QUOTE]
    true point but totally unrealistic,to be social in ireland you gotta have a drink - but in most towns in this country the guards have bigger fish to fry : ie: the "crack down" on drugs ( pardon the pun...), social disorder etc... Aside from that how many people do you know who do not drink? I would bet it's fairly few.. Not to say that they should all drink and drive but either a fair number of them do or you have gotten into a car with someone who has, be it a pint over or X amount over the limit... People in this country look at someonewho doesn't drink as a freak...what does this say about us as a nation?

County this is a woeful nation in that regard. Since 1900-1990 the only activity in both rural and urban ireland was the local. This mentality has not evolved with an evolving society.Therefore we have people with large amounts of disposable income hitting the pubs as our primary form of socialising and entertainment because ( lets face it ) thats all there ever really is!

Ireland needs late night activities that dont revolve around alcolhol.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,440 ✭✭✭Dizzyblabla

I won't even drink if I have work the following morning, in case I still have too much alcohol in my system!!

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Done it knowingly twice. Once to after a night out after a taxi left us stranded. I was pretty drunk at the time and it was a very stupid thing to do.

Second time was when myself and my dad were in town for a few drinks, we got our wires crossed as to who was the designated driver (we were in different pubs). I had about five pints and when we were to meet to go home he was well pished, so I had to take to the wheel but very reluctantly.

I hate doing it, and I don't intend on doing it ever again but its sadly a fact of life when you live in the countryside.

By the way, I never drive anywhere the day after I've been drinking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 176 ✭✭shacko

I can't belive your acyually polling this course you cant drink and drive. You only end up spilling ur drink all over the place

• Closed Accounts Posts: 83 ✭✭Skip

Seriously though, I would never ever drink and drive, not that I couldn't die on the road when sober, but still. It happened once that I accepted a lift from a pissed driver, and I was praying for my life all the way, so I won't do it again :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 5,618 ✭✭✭Civilian_Target

Never drunk and driven - not even the morning after a night on the lash.

I've cycled pished on occasion though - its illegal but its much harder to kill anyone (except yourself...)

• Registered Users Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Grimes wrote:
    I guess the problem is that in this country drinking is an "essential" and accepted aspect of society. For example spainish drunks on a street in spain are hard to see and frowned upon. Whereas here the town is awash with people staggering left and right. The dangers of alcohol are not recognised and therefore people are less inclined to see the effects it has on their driving. However! People will not change and drink driving will never be eradicated . The effects of alcohol result people who would never condone it actually doing it! Therefore the only way to cure drink driving is to remove alcohol.

Actually an easier way would be to remove cars, how do ye like those turnips? :D

cue rantyrantidyrant on right thinking people:

Thanks all the same but we dont need a mammy state telling us what we can and can't do in our own time. If entrepeneurs want to set up said late night activities and see who shows up fine but I dont want some fecking latter day pioneers dictating my lifestyle. "too much bleddy drinking going on, tewwibly backwards dont you know? wouldnt see it on the continent of course, measure need to be taken..etc etc"

Last thing i want is the editorial board of the irish times settling into the role of moral gaurdian of the nation that the catholic church once held :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 70 ✭✭Stuff

I won't even drink if I have work the following morning, in case I still have too much alcohol in my system!!

I drink more if I have work, helps the day frly by :D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭toiletduck

i did it once, was out in the country with a friend, went to the pub for one pint which turned into a lot. at the end of the night he was completely f*cked but was institing on driving but he was barely able to walk. i wasn't half as bad though still drunk so in my infinite wisdom, i decided that i would drive. so i did and nothing bad happened. i know it was stupid...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 114 ✭✭GOAT_BOY

No. Never have. Never will.

If i go out i drink water, simple as. Anyone who does it deserves to be locked up as an insult to stupidity.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,092 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

Well I voted yes, but I would not say that I did it knowingly.

I have always refused to drink anything if it involved the possibility of me having to drive back from the pub or wherever. But the one time I was drunk driving I was at a mates house, had been drinking all day, didn't know which way was up, saw the car keys and must have thought it would be a good idea to go for a drive...

... and promptly crashed into the side of an off duty copper!!

If I'm with someone else who I know will be driving me back somewhere after they have a few pints in them I make sure that I have a few more in me though so that it hurts me less when they crash.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,790 ✭✭✭cornbb

I never drink and drive. I strongly disapprove. I don't normally judge people but I'll make an exception when my life is at stake.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,884 ✭✭✭grumpytrousers

Bambi wrote:
    Actually an easier way would be to remove cars, how do ye like those turnips? :D

cue rantyrantidyrant on right thinking people:

Thanks all the same but we dont need a mammy state telling us what we can and can't do in our own time. If entrepeneurs want to set up said late night activities and see who shows up fine but I dont want some fecking latter day pioneers dictating my lifestyle. "too much bleddy drinking going on, tewwibly backwards dont you know? wouldnt see it on the continent of course, measure need to be taken..etc etc"

Last thing i want is the editorial board of the irish times settling into the role of moral gaurdian of the nation that the catholic church once held :mad:
    I know this is slightly o/t from 'have you drank and driven' but I think, Bambi, you're overreacting. :D I think the point trying to be made was that in certain parts of the country there is little else to do bar going to the pub. Don't get me wrong. I love the pub. I love drinking. I love getting drunk, being drunk and having a kebab on the way home. I, for one, am not some latter day pioneer/McDowell-type that thinks we're all going to hell in a handcart if we continue to drink as we do (And if we are going to hell, I'll be the one sitting down the back with the slab of Dutch Gold trying to start another rousing chorus of Four And Twenty Virgins Went Down To Inverness...)

On the other hand, I would like an alternative to the pub...a choice, if you will. I'm 35 miles from the nearest cinema, and any other sort of recreational activities in smalltown ireland don't exist. I think that Grimes may have been saying that this is a shame, and that as long as the pub is the ONLY outlet in a lot of places, then a lot of people will end up driving home with a few too many inside 'em...