Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Have You Ever Visited The Deep Web?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭Mickey H

TheFarrier wrote: »
    How does one access this deep web ??

Never heard of it before now, it has piqued my interest slightly.
    Is it worth a snoop around??
    syklops wrote: »
    As opposed to the regular web which is...?

This one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭whirlpool

I saw screen shots of forums from it on another forum a few weeks ago. Nearly made me get sick. Reading this thread has creeped me out all over again. It's infuriating that it's untraceable as it seems like a haven for rapists, violent criminals, paedophiles and child abusers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Smidge wrote: »
    I don't know anything about it tbh but was just thinking having read through this thread.......

If there is so much CP and images on it would agencies not use it to find missing children etc?
    Can it not be hacked or traced?

It's almost impossible - even the NSA are having massive trouble trying to crack it, as evidenced by one of Snowden's leaked slideshows called "Tor Stinks". It details several possible ways of trying to identify Tor users but concludes by telling analysts that if their target is indeed using Tor, they're better off looking for slip ups than trying to crack the network (for example, Tor isn't going to help you if you do something silly like using a personal email address when registering on a hidden forum, etc).

For example, the owner of Silk Road was caught because he used a personal gmail account in his early days when asking a question about setting up his server on a dev forum. The Irish guy Eric Eoin Marques, who ran Freedom Hosting, was caught through a combination of tracking his financial accounts and an exploit in a particular version of the Tor browser which allowed users to be tricked into leaving the deep web.

In other words, Tor is secure apart from personal screwups and the occasional exploit. The majority of users will not be caught - that is, unless intel agencies' capabilities increase substantially.

One thing to bear in mind is that Tor hides where connections are going by encrypting the routing information in packets which travel through it. From Snowden's documents we know that the NSA et al are attempting to essentially destroy the concept of asymmetric encryption using super computers and attempting mathematical breakthroughs - if they ever succeed, everything on the internet which relies on encryption is f*cked, including Tor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

Mickey H wrote: »
    This one.

You dont share video and images on this "one"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,310 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Bloody hell, just had a look at the hidden wiki on it. Clicked a link which was like a normal wiki page but just a list of child pórn sites. Even the names of them are sickening :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

kryogen wrote: »
    I like it, there is an alternate boards there, very dark place

You can get that by using the Cloud skin here. :p

Cienciano wrote: »
    Bloody hell, just had a look at the hidden wiki on it. Clicked a link which was like a normal wiki page but just a list of child pórn sites. Even the names of them are sickening :(

In some ways, the so called deep web is one of the last bastions of a free internet. Unsurprisingly the powers that want to control the internet surround the "deep web" in child porn and sex traffcking and drugs to discredit it. From you're reading of that "hidden wiki", everyone who goes to the deep web is a pervert by association.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

I bet you feel warm and safe now that you're back on goold ol' boards.

In some ways, the so called deep web is one of the last bastions of a free internet. Unsurprisingly the powers that want to control the internet surround the "deep web" in child porn and sex traffcking and drugs to discredit it. From you're reading of that "hidden wiki", everyone who goes to the deep web is a pervert by association.

There was a time when I would have dismissed this as an unproven conspiracy theory, but Snowden's latest releases actually prove, in writing, that intel services do plant various things in order to try and control public perceptions of various events and parts of the internet. The latest documents show a very chilling attempt at mass mind control - not in the sense of directly f*cking with people's minds in a sci-fi manner, but in the sense of trying to control the public discourse and misrepresent popular opinion using censorship, massive hoards of fake social media accounts to add voices to one side of various debates, etc etc etc.

It now wouldn't surprise me at all if Tor and others, while undoubtedly attracting a fair amount of pedos and criminals on their own, had their ugly parts enhanced artificially in order to scare people away from them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,363 ✭✭✭✭Oat23

The Irish guy Eric Eoin Marques, who ran Freedom Hosting, was caught through a combination of tracking his financial accounts and an exploit in a particular version of the Tor browser which allowed users to be tricked into leaving the deep web.

Never knew freedom hosting was owned by an Irish guy. I remember first hearing about it when Anonymous started attacking it.
    Freedom Hosting has long been notorious for allowing child porn to live on its servers. In 2011, the hactivist collective Anonymous singled out the service for denial-of-service attacks after allegedly finding the firm hosted 95 percent of the child porn hidden services on the Tor network. In the hearing yesterday, Donahue said the service hosted at least 100 child porn sites with thousands of users, and claimed Marques had visited some of the sites himself.
    Reached by phone, Marques’ lawyer declined to comment on the case. Marques faces federal charges in Maryland, where the FBI’s child-exploitation unit is based, in a case that is still under seal.
    Never been a fan of extraditing citizens to foreign countries. But ship this c*nt out to the Americans. He'll get 10 years here probably :rolleyes:.

Lemonparty, all is forgiven!

Just found silk road. Very strange looking at a shopping website with "1g of pure uncut peruvian cocaine" on it. Everything priced in bitcoin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

Have only heard of it now reading this thread. I'm too big of a wuss to download the browser and have a look :o

• Registered Users Posts: 650 ✭✭✭csallmighty

if they ever succeed, everything on the internet which relies on encryption is f*cked, including Tor.

I've no real knowledge in this area but could the encryption methods be improved to combat this?

I think encryption based privacy is a good idea when it comes to protecting yourself but I abhor some of its uses too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭Stavros Murphy

There was a time when I would have dismissed this as an unproven conspiracy theory, but Snowden's latest releases actually prove, in writing, that intel services do plant various things in order to try and control public perceptions of various events and parts of the internet. The latest documents show a very chilling attempt at mass mind control - not in the sense of directly f*cking with people's minds in a sci-fi manner, but in the sense of trying to control the public discourse and misrepresent popular opinion using censorship, massive hoards of fake social media accounts to add voices to one side of various debates, etc etc etc.

It now wouldn't surprise me at all if Tor and others, while undoubtedly attracting a fair amount of pedos and criminals on their own, had their ugly parts enhanced artificially in order to scare people away from them.

So it Is like being on Boards? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

Chances are if its on the deep web its because the person/people involved do not want to be found. I avoided it, even if I am curious as one slip could lead to clicking on something I shouldnt and the authorities knowing about it. I can watch things that dont have an affect on me but I dont want to find out if something out there can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,246 ✭✭✭ardinn

Just seen the screen shot on the aids forum

HO LEE FUCK

Im waiting for the mods of AH to go on strike Aer Lingus style. Then we will see how safe he is/feels.

Bloody hell, that reddit page of the most fúcked up stuff on the deep web is mental. One guy posts up screenshots (all text) of message boards where people with HIV go around infecting as many other people as possible.
    Link to the link here, worrying that people like this exist
    http://www.reddit.com/r/AskReddit/comments/1873tw/what_is_the_thing_which_you_came_across_in_the/c8c6qr1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,039 ✭✭✭face1990

It's almost impossible - even the NSA are having massive trouble trying to crack it

You can get enough info to identify people if you're running lots of the servers that the TOR network uses (usernames and passwords have been gotten). Surely most of them must be run by the NSA or similar.

"If you actually look in to where these Tor nodes are hosted and how big they are, some of these nodes cost thousands of dollars each month just to host because they're using lots of bandwidth, they're heavy-duty servers and so on. Who would pay for this and be anonymous?"
    link

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

Bloody hell, that reddit page of the most fúcked up stuff on the deep web is mental. One guy posts up screenshots (all text) of message boards where people with HIV go around infecting as many other people as possible.
    Link to the link here, worrying that people like this exist
    http://www.reddit.com/r/AskReddit/comments/1873tw/what_is_the_thing_which_you_came_across_in_the/c8c6qr1

Very strange world alright. How many would be trolls though? People probably go on that and try live out a fantasy without actually doing anything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

ardinn wrote: »
    Just seen the screen shot on the aids forum

HO LEE FUCK

Yeah, that annoyed me more than I thought it would, still hope it's fake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

I remember seeing that a while ago, indeed crazy stuff.

The world is full of dark, dark people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,524 ✭✭✭con___manx1

i seen ken bigleys head been choped off when i was a teenager. just after it happend.i havent been back to the deep web since. scared me for life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 491 ✭✭spitfireIRL

That AIDS infecting thing is some of the sickest sh!t I've ever read.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,973 ✭✭✭Sh1tbag OToole

Yes I go on tor the odd time. Some ordinary, some mental sh1t on there. I can only recommend you check it out for yourself

That AIDS infecting thing is some of the sickest sh!t I've ever read.

Going around empty houses and empting used condoms in his ass! :eek: sweet mother of jebus.

I wouldn't believe everything I read on it though.

I heard the drugs part on it works pretty well though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,973 ✭✭✭Sh1tbag OToole

face1990 wrote: »
    You can get enough info to identify people if you're running lots of the servers that the TOR network uses (usernames and passwords have been gotten). Surely most of them must be run by the NSA or similar.

"If you actually look in to where these Tor nodes are hosted and how big they are, some of these nodes cost thousands of dollars each month just to host because they're using lots of bandwidth, they're heavy-duty servers and so on. Who would pay for this and be anonymous?"
    link

If you look on torstats.blutmagie.de you find everything from residential connections to VPS and dedicated servers all over the world and there's thousands. Sure a few fistfulls are probably run by the NSA but i doubt even the majority are

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 161 ✭✭Beargrylls01

I see it every week or so, I know people that use it in college regularly. It's really not difficult to get onto, you just need a steady internet connection. I've seen most of it, silkroad, thehiddenwiki, etc etc, it's really not that bad, it's concentrated alright, but not scary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,069 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Very strange world alright. How many would be trolls though? People probably go on that and try live out a fantasy without actually doing anything.

Tbh I think putting that sort of stuff down to trolls is pretty dangerous in itself. We live in a big world, and some people deal with the hand life has dealt them in different and sometimes shocking ways.

We'd all feel better if we convinced ourselves that such people don't exist or occupy their own small realities, but they do. Look at some of the **** that's common on the 'clear' web.. forums and sites which advocate anorexia, home abortions, suicide and the likes. It's not that big a stretch to assume that people with severe mental problems have carved out their own niches on the parts of the web that remain hidden from most people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,753 ✭✭✭Vito Corleone

Yeah, I don't see how people are that shocked by the whole aids thing. Sure there's worse things said on mainstream forums.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,934 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

That's a very respectable name, I'll have you know. I've had worse.

Ill say..... :p. Lads, Id be careful on the deep web/darknet/whatever. Sign out of everything beforehand and delete any caches too. Its easy to pick up something nasty and even easier to happen across stuff that no one here really wants to see:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,339 ✭✭✭Artful_Badger

Tbh I think putting that sort of stuff down to trolls is pretty dangerous in itself. We live in a big world, and some people deal with the hand life has dealt them in different and sometimes shocking ways.

We'd all feel better if we convinced ourselves that such people don't exist or occupy their own small realities, but they do. Look at some of the **** that's common on the 'clear' web.. forums and sites which advocate anorexia, home abortions, suicide and the likes. It's not that big a stretch to assume that people with severe mental problems have carved out their own niches on the parts of the web that remain hidden from most people.

All you need to do really is have a look at the news and see the disgusting and depraved crap people are caught for regularly. With the internet what it is and a part of it unindexed like the dark web then its not just probable its inevitable that those types of people will find a place to gather on it.

Yeah, I don't see how people are that shocked by the whole aids thing. Sure there's worse things said on mainstream forums.

That and trolls are not just a boards thing.

Anyone here could go on the deep web, and create a page that says Miley was gay and was forced to ride Phidelma by RTE producers.

Just because it is on the deep web does not mean it is true.

Going around empty houses and empting used condoms in his ass! :eek: sweet mother of jebus.
    Ah now, we've all done that at some point. Just a normal part of discovering your sexuality :pac:

In your ass though? I though the norm was in your mouth?!*

EDIT:* think I just sank to a new level and I'm going to vomit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

A lot of those HIV posts on the forums, like anywhere, are probably a mix of fantasy and reality but it's a very real subculture though, plenty of news stories and documentaries on it. Bug chasers is the name for people who get a thrill out of it.

Hell, there's a even forum on the normal web that's dedicated to everything poo from food recipes to how to "farm" from public toilets and store your goodies with the right tupperware.

One guy gave an account of how he likes to go to his small town's sewage plant and swim in "human butter" :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,916 ✭✭✭shopaholic01

In your ass though? I though the norm was in your mouth?!*

EDIT:* think I just sank to a new level and I'm going to vomit.
    Stop swallowing.

I just do what you taught me.

Duggy747 wrote: »
    A lot of those HIV posts on the forums, like anywhere, are probably a mix of fantasy and reality but it's a very real subculture though, plenty of news stories and documentaries on it. Bug chasers is the name for people who get a thrill out of it.

Hell, there's a even forum on the normal web that's dedicated to everything poo from food recipes to how to "farm" from public toilets and store your goodies with the right tupperware.

One guy gave an account of how he likes to go to his small town's sewage plant and swim in "human butter" :pac:

What sort of google searches do you be doing?

I've no real knowledge in this area but could the encryption methods be improved to combat this?

To a point. Longer keys will combat more efficient computers, but if a new mathematical theorem is discovered which allows easy factoring of large prime numbers without the need for brute force calculations, we're screwed. And the NSA is working very hard on this.
    I think encryption based privacy is a good idea when it comes to protecting yourself but I abhor some of its uses too.

Anything that can be used by political dissidents to protect themselves can also be used by criminals - in my view, the benefits far outweigh the drawbacks.

face1990 wrote: »

Funnily enough they're not, the Snowden slides state that they have access to an extremely low number of nodes.
    link

Ironically, Tor gets a huge amount of funding from the US Navy, who use it for confidential communication while abroad. Since they need to make sure it's uncrackable up to the highest standard they know of, by definition they're going to be trying to make it stronger than the NSA's ability to crack it, which would be the US military's "benchmark" for how strong encryption should be.

It's essentially a big dilemma - the US government wants easy access to identifying Tor users, but they know that if they make it accessible for themselves, it will also be accessible for others. So you effectively have the Navy actually competing with the NSA in trying to help develop stronger encryption and easier cracking respectively. Nice balance really :D

It must also be pointed out that large criminal gangs of various kinds also use Tor and they would presumably be more than happy to fund their own anonymity, so that's probably where the rest of these nodes are coming from.

Funnily enough they're not, the Snowden slides state that they have access to an extremely low number of nodes.

but if you include all the nodes accessible by all of the US intelligence service, lets just say I wouldnt want to bbe on the FBI's most wanted list and depending on Tor for my freedom. NSA, ONI, CIA etc etc.

Well, it's fair to say that the Dread Pirate Roberts of Silk Road had been on their most wanted list for years, and in the end the only way they could get him was when he ****ed up with his personal email address, they never actually managed to target his Tor connection... Same seems to apply to the Irish guy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,270 ✭✭✭tin79

The Th!ng wrote: »
    The net is like an ocean, much of what happens is below the surface.

That's generally how nets work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

Vivienne23 wrote: »

One thing I did see which I thought was shocking was PayPal accounts that you could buy and "cash in" , I.e hacked accounts with an amount for sale , I shuddered to think that could be me someday ...

Just a thought, but if you had access to such accounts why wouldn't you just empty them yourself rather than sell that option to a third party - presumably for less money?

There's the presentation released by the Guardian:
    http://www.theguardian.com/world/interactive/2013/oct/04/tor-stinks-nsa-presentation-document

http://www.theguardian.com/world/interactive/2013/oct/04/egotistical-giraffe-nsa-tor-document

Obviously though if you're into serious crime you'd want to be using Tor and something else. Using Tor through a public wifi hotspot in a cafe or something is a good example. One does not simply rely on just one method of maintaining anonymity. But if you're just using it to get to blocked Torrent sites, ban evade on websites or sh!t-talk on Twitter, it's probably enough. ;)

Just a thought, but if you had access to such accounts why wouldn't you just empty them yourself rather than sell that option to a third party - presumably for less money?

Obviously because by using that "hot" money you're taking a substantial risk, by selling it for Bitcoin they're washing their hands of it, and the eejits who buy from them are getting "hot" money which is almost certainly the subject of theft investigations. :pac:

As always, a lot of successful crime relies on a steady supply of gullible muppets. :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 48 UtopianWarlord

Went on it mainly to have a look at the Silk Road. Never actually bought anything on it, just browsed for months, went down before I committed to it. Fascinating to look at though, basically any drug you want and whatever quantity you want, with all the sellers rated like ebay. Strange seeing stuff like heroin openly for sale and people giving their feedback on its quality. Couple of sellers from Ireland too selling pills, acid and speed. Also had a forum to waste a bit of time on.

I have zero idea how to get on it. I'd be afraid in case I clicked on something I shouldn't and the door gets kicked in! Just because your paranoid it doesn't mean it won't happen!

Would some of the links on Reddits spacedicks count as the dark web? Half that stuff should be in the deepest darkest corners of the web.

You download Tor, which is an opensource browser based on Firefox. It makes your activity on it anonymous.
    The chances of you just clicking on something are very slim. All the sites have weird addresses, so you'd need someone to give you a link to the site before you go. The hidden wiki contains a list of websites and what they do, so you know what you're going onto before you click.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,040 ✭✭✭gw80

To me it's a lot like Waterford. I have absolutely zero interest in ever going there.

ignorance is bliss,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 226 ✭✭oak5548

I like how most people talk about it like its some super mysterious mystical place!
    When really its just like the rest of the internet, except slower and without moderation .

99% of the stuff on the "deep web" you can find on the normal internet. Also that aids crap is something that is many many years old, and not exclusive to the deep web.