Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

This weeks Classic Irish bargains that i'm not buying

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,080 ✭✭✭W123-80's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭gyppo

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 536 ✭✭✭ahal

gyppo wrote: »

That's a stunner. Didn't Rory Gallagher have a thing for them, or was it Bristols he was into? No doubt some top brass knob owned that back in the day! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭johnos1984

It's a nice car but can someone point the guy in the direction of carandclassic so he can learn how to create an ad deserving of the car.

I can never understand how someone can have such a nice car, high price and then turn out such a poor ad for it.

I bet the ad costs him money and buyers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭stackerman

He can't even figure out that interior pictures come out better, when taken IN the car :rolleyes:

Not sure I like it myself, but interesting. Would love a good look round it though. As Johnons said . . . Doing himself no favours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 494 ✭✭68deville

nice car alright,even for 1965 it looks dated to lets say a jag e-type of
    the same era,wonder who was the local Alvis dealer back then!!??:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,318 ✭✭✭✭carchaeologist

ahal wrote: »
    That's a stunner. Didn't Rory Gallagher have a thing for them, or was it Bristols he was into? No doubt some top brass knob owned that back in the day! :)

Don't think Rory could drive. He had the use of a Zephyr or Zodiac in the 60s as Transport and the song 'Souped up Ford' on the Against the grain album is apparently a tribute to it, though he mentions the car in the song is front wheel drive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,953 ✭✭✭aujopimur

Don't think Rory could drive. He had the use of a Zephyr or Zodiac in the 60s as Transport and the song 'Souped up Ford' on the Against the grain album is apparently a tribute to it, though he mentions the car in the song is front wheel drive.

Rory could drive, he had a Ford Escort which rotted away outside his mothers house, he would'nt sell it because Muddy Waters once sat in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,565 ✭✭✭Blue850

Full-10436239.jpeg
    Lancer Turbo

Love the GTF OUTTA MY WAY!! mirrored script on front spoiler :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,761 ✭✭✭pappyodaniel

No genuine pics.
    http://www.adverts.ie/vintage-classic/ford-fiesta/1422082
    If what the seller says is true, then it's a bargain.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

Dades wrote: »
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/vintagecars/2614691

€5K to swan around in this!
    Would love to have one of these for a year or so and move it on.

I just googled the tank size and got 108 litres. At €1.60 a litre, that's €172 to fill it!
    I'd love an old convertable Rolls, but they're fairly pricey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,069 ✭✭✭Tzar Chasm

heres an interesting one for a Project,
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/vintagecars/3099423

500 Lids for an 83 SAAB, granted it looks like it needs SERIOUS bodywork, but as projects go its got potential

Tzar Chasm wrote: »

500 Lids for an 83 SAAB, granted it looks like it needs SERIOUS bodywork, but as projects go its got potential
    Good for parts only I'm afraid.

I've never seen a 99 that wasn't riddled with rust

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,790 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

johnos1984 wrote: »
    Tzar Chasm wrote: »

Good for parts only I'm afraid.

I've never seen a 99 that wasn't riddled with rust

Indeed, the pile that is at the end of my dad's garden is testament to that fact.......once a glorious 99 EMS....

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

galwaytt wrote: »
    Indeed, the pile that is at the end of my dad's garden is testament to that fact.......once a glorious 99 EMS....

Pics!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭bijapos

ahal wrote: »
    aujopimur wrote: »
    Rory could drive, he had a Ford Escort which rotted away outside his mothers house, he would'nt sell it because Muddy Waters once sat in it.

There's a nice reprint of an article on Rory and his cars in "Reeling in the Gears" that cam out last year. Seems he could drive, the Muddy Waters car was a 6 cyl Ford Executive, that both Waters and Jerry Lee Lewis sat in. he says the car was "dying day-by-day in his mothers garage" and that was around 1993 so I wonder what happened to the car?

He is pictured beside what looks like a Bristol 410 reg XYX 96 G, I can scan the article in this evening and post it up if the mods are happy on the copyright.

Anyway, haven't seen one of these for a while, pre 87 plate makes it rare but it seems well overpriced at €3,000?

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/vintagecars/3080835?cid=3080835&

Full-10327070.jpeg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭JJJJNR

I love these.. and not a bad price either.

1fc1c1c2db5852e08ffc380475e26336f883b1557313b397c779299704cacfc2.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭Frankie Lee

Nice Supra up North for £1100, too cheap surely.
    2622043.jpg
    http://www.carandclassic.co.uk/car/C285867

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,374 ✭✭✭Saab Ed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,497 ✭✭✭✭Esel

JJJJNR wrote: »
    I love these.. and not a bad price either.

1fc1c1c2db5852e08ffc380475e26336f883b1557313b397c779299704cacfc2.jpg
    Looking at the picture of the wheel, the word 'immaculate' comes to mind.

Not your ornery onager

Saab Ed wrote: »

SOLD, How much was that???

Best of luck to the new owner
    He fecking needs it........I wonder will it crop up again with two doors, a rooof and a normal floorpan.

TBH it looks like scrap to me

nah they're a fairly straightforward car fair as easy to patch together, it would be an interesting little project even for a shift on for a few hundred quid

Saab Ed wrote: »

Wonder what NCAP rating that would get??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,499 ✭✭✭Capri

Looks clean and original
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/vintagecars/3112303

83 MK 1 GOLF 1.6 Dsl original irish taxs book this car is very original. €2000 ono

Which version? The E10 or the FII?

E10 2dr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,347 ✭✭✭si_guru

johnos1984 wrote: »
    He fecking needs it........I wonder will it crop up again with two doors, a rooof and a normal floorpan.

TBH it looks like scrap to me

Agreed... a good example of why the NCT should be applied back to earlier cars!

Capri wrote: »
    Looks clean and original

Did'nt last long, must have been a good one...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭Seweryn

Did'nt last long, must have been a good one...
    Must have been like a new one. Crazy asking price...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,699 ✭✭✭Brian

That is gorgeous! You could nearly live in it :p

Baza210 wrote: »
    That is gorgeous! You could nearly live in it :p

Must admit I would happy to have that on the drive..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭shawnee

si_guru wrote: »
    Must admit I would happy to have that on the drive..

Yeah, they would go forever and were a very comfortable motor. Mind you like many big engines and its only 2 litre , they ain't selling too well at the moment , probably lucky to get 20 mpg I suppose :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,080 ✭✭✭W123-80's

This looks better http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/vintagecars/3109150[/QUOTE]

It sure does.

That is lovely.! Tempting.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭cdublin

2131483_03_product_detail_large.jpg?1331632135

Don't think i'd buy these two but they're fun all the same!

2131483_02_product_detail_large.jpg?1331632133

2131483_04_product_detail_large.jpg?1331632137

I quite like that Bond Minicar.

• Registered Users Posts: 30 HMTurbo

A good offer will buy this lads, its a great car

• Registered Users Posts: 191 ✭✭jvc

Ad says 131000 miles but is that 431K on the odometer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭Carazy

jvc wrote: »
    Ad says 131000 miles but is that 431K on the odometer?
    No 131, it's just the light from the flash I'd presume, says 131 on the NCT cert also.

• Registered Users Posts: 30 HMTurbo

Carazy wrote: »
    No 131, it's just the light from the flash I'd presume, says 131 on the NCT cert also.

Correct :D

Seller being a little bit optomistic that a respray will sort it!!!

Full-10544279.jpeg
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/vintagecars/3126679

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭Seweryn

Seller being a little bit optomistic that a respray will sort it!!!

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/vintagecars/3126679
    Oh jeezzz...
    I would say --> http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056504121

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,944 ✭✭✭Bigus

Here you go Carky a Datsun to end all Datsuns fitted with a mid engine T5 Turbo

http://www.carandclassic.co.uk/car/C278887#

2552108.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭JJJJNR

Esel wrote: »
    Looking at the picture of the wheel, the word 'immaculate' comes to mind.

Not just that check out this one... man.. would seriously love that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

JJJJNR wrote: »
    Not just that check out this one... man.. would seriously love that.
    I hate to be awkward lads, but i'm seeing no air conditioning, peeling lacquer on the wood, no fewer than three holes drilled in the dash/console, and a nasty aftermarket stereo. And as for the pic of the wheel, i'm seeing a cheapish tyre that to me doesn't instil confidence in the owner's willingness to spend money on the car. Just sayin'. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Paparazzo wrote: »
    Lot of car for the money. Looks like decent condition and not a bad price.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/vintagecars/3039891

Full-10133029.jpeg
    Hifive wrote: »
    Indeed I do:D
    As the man said, sold now and the phone hasn't stopped ringing since the ad went up. She's off to Derry on a trailer with her new owner who will pay just £220 (sterling) to tax her.
    I had loads of enquiries from the UK and now I see why!

It is a lovely car and I had some great years with it, but the 928 is a real hoot to drive and I'm very priveleged to also have the stag for the fine weather, so that and the extortionate road tax led me to move her on.

I probably priced it a bit low judging by the phone calls, but after five years the car owes me nothing and it's gone to a very good home so well wear Kevin.

Mark.

No sooner sold than being sold on for twice the price

http://classiccarsales.ie/buy/view/BMW_hightline/2205

Classic model parts from VW - http://www.vw-classicparts.de/

http://www.volkswagen-classic-parts.de/shop/

Golf Syncro Country in it's proper enviroment - http://hooniverse.com/2012/02/23/hooniverse-truck-thursday-volkswagen-golf-country/#more-83062

South Africa - Citi Golf is the Mk1 Golf made up to 200*

http://www.vw-classicparts.de/ Go to Special 02 - Kraftkafer for the rare Beetle SP1600 made in South Africa / Nigeria . 5 stud wheels and grafted on late model lights

LOVE this one -
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3035661
    this caddy is for parts only, or very,very,very brave restoration, The caddy is an absolute shed...to say the least. but all parts are there..a brand new clutch was fitted before she was parked up, i doubt if it had done twenty miles...there is no log book present. got lost many many moons ago..there is also a truckmans top which in it's own is pretty hard to find for this pickup. it is fibreglass and in good condition c/w glass backdoor, also a bed liner in the back...will take offers, swaps but no mothers,grandmothers or nigerian bank drafts..so there ye have it...a shed that might give ye some good parts....thanks for looking... ps, van is in west cork.. 14th.march battery fitted and started first turn of key and drove out of her slumber.. 89c registration>>OFFERS<<

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 dilaws

macplaxton wrote: »
    Last time I saw a RM710 (NOS) a few months ago, it went for around 700USD.:eek:

Is it a US-spec FM PLL tuner? (88.1, 88.3, 88.5 - odd numbered tenths /200Mhz jumps)

As I have an interest in late 70s/early 80s car radios, particularly very early PLL digital display tuners, I've got a few radios around - including a Panasonic RM310.

[dilaws=:cool:panasonic overhead console 310 if someone wants to sell I'm interested