Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda escort down the canal past 2 evenings

• 19-08-2015 6:08pm
    Registered Users Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭

Serious Garda escort of 6 bikes, a Garda SUV, then an Audi Q7 and a BMW X5 both with blue lights followed by an empty mini bus down the Canal from Ranelagh to Leeson St. Bridge the past 2 evenings. Anyone know what that's about? Never seen one like it before

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

There's always escorts down the canal, all the way down as far as blackhorse. Could be somebody on their way to baldonnell from town.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭gaiscioch

I felt like such an honoured equal citizen of our republic on the three occasions a garda waved me off that particular road to allow another citizen, who's in receipt of a €250k salary with no household expenses, be driven past. Our very own royalty. Alas.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,299 ✭✭✭moc moc a moc

There's always escorts down the canal

Especially around the Leeson St / Baggot St end

"Are ye lookin' fer bizness..."

• Registered Users Posts: 76 ✭✭The boarder

I was in the park this morning at 830 and that same convoy came out the chapelizod exit

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,764 Mod ✭✭✭✭ToxicPaddy

Is it something to do with the American ambassador?

I remember seeing his convoy a few years back and apparently it was some US VIP who was staying in the Ambassadors residence in the Phoenix park heading to the embassy in Ballsbridge with the full cards escort, outriders stopping traffic, the works.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,378 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

ToxicPaddy wrote: »
    Is it something to do with the American ambassador?

I remember seeing his convoy a few years back and apparently it was some US VIP who was staying in the Ambassadors residence in the Phoenix park heading to the embassy in Ballsbridge with the full cards escort, outriders stopping traffic, the works.

yeah its an American Military VIP

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 11,803 Mod ✭✭✭✭BeerNut

Presumably the same person who visited the Jameson museum this afternoon. Full-on convoy and six Garda bikes hanging around Bow Street.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,700 ✭✭✭tricky D

Chocolate biscuit for the 1st person to guess right. Work the puzzle out.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,747 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

Trump?

Joe Biden?

Big Bird?

tricky D wrote: »
    Chocolate biscuit for the 1st person to guess right. Work the puzzle out.

I told ya who it was. I'm just not going to say exactly who it is.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,399 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

Saw it on Merrion Square earlier. It was from a distsnce so these may be wrong. Garda TC Landcruiser, black Audi Q7 and BMW X5(?), a grey BMW 5 Series, some American SUV, a media bus and 6 Garda outriders.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,191 ✭✭✭Eugene Norman

Reggie. wrote: »
    I told ya who it was. I'm just not going to say exactly who it is.

Is it illegal to even speculate?

• Registered Users Posts: 17,761 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

FBI have been known to monitor this site daily. Even have a few usernames AFAIK.
    It's illegal to know who the garda escort was for and to even speculate could be a life sentence.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Closed Accounts Posts: 758 ✭✭✭Rakish Paddy

A motorcade matching that description came tearing down Amiens St. the day before yesterday too.

Nope. Just I wont say till the visitor is gone.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,407 ✭✭✭OldBean

General Dempsey? Highest ranking officer in the US afaik.

If so, they've posted it on their social media.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Martin_Dempsey

• Registered Users Posts: 1,850 ✭✭✭dball

would it be the new rose of tralee?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,969 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

They're staying in the Conrad Hilton on Earlsfort Terrace ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 500 ✭✭✭Sham Squire

Saw it go over Leeson St. bridge yesterday evening. This is not something that "always" happens around there. I drive that route daily, weekly, and have been for over a year. First time I've seen an escort like that was yesterday. Small grey mini bus. Be curious to know who the gardai think it's ok to courier through rush hour traffic at our expense? Could they not plan the journeys to cause the least disruption, or are we not worthy of consideration when it comes to the powerful people?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭cgcsb

Does the department of defense have to apply to Dublin City Council to do this?
    Surely if you need permission to close a section of the public path/road for essential works then you also need one to close off the public path/road for precious guests?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,420 ✭✭✭✭athtrasna

cgcsb wrote: »
    Surely if you need permission to close a section of the public path/road for essential works then you also need one to close off the public path/road for precious guests?

Nothing to do with the department of defence. They look after army, navy and air force

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 11,803 Mod ✭✭✭✭BeerNut

Saw it go over Leeson St. bridge yesterday evening. This is not something that "always" happens around there. I drive that route daily, weekly, and have been for over a year.
    I see it a few times a year, and I've been crossing the canal every day for 15 of them :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,865 ✭✭✭✭January

cgcsb wrote: »

There's a difference between road works and a rolling roadblock.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,417 ✭✭✭Miguel_Sanchez

Mesrine65 wrote: »
    They're staying in the Conrad Hilton on Earlsfort Terrace ;)

Is the two lads from It's Always Sunny in Philidelphia who I saw photos of on Grafton Street the other day?

It's got to be them, right?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,882 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

2pac

• Registered Users Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭cgcsb

January wrote: »
    There's a difference between road works and a rolling roadblock.

Indeed, which is more severe? I think both should be regulated by the local authority. If it's an emergency then fine, but superstar foreign politicians and their Irish counterparts trying to impress them, should be left wait in traffic with everyone else.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,685 ✭✭✭jd

athtrasna wrote: »
    navy and air force
    ahem, naval service and air corp :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

jd wrote: »
    ahem, naval service and air corp :)

ahem, Air Corps :D

• Registered Users Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

ahem, Air Corps :D

Air Korps......dammit, that means Superman is in town. He'll be disguised as Clark Kent therefore the ground based limo thing. But you'd never know when he'll get the urge, therefore the eye in the sky routine. Clever use of the taxpayers money, Enda.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,299 ✭✭✭moc moc a moc

Reggie. wrote: »
    Nope. Just I wont say till the visitor is gone.

If you say who it was after they are gone I will report you to the authorities.