Manchester United Talk/Gossip/Rumours - 2013/14

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,902 ✭✭✭MagicIRL

I think United are in with a very decent shout this year, despite the hole in midfield, purely because, in my opinion, after watching Lingard, Januzaj and Zaha in pre-season, I think the attacking options coming from midfield have greatly improved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,071 ✭✭✭✭titan18

Atm, I'd have

1. Chelsea
    2. City
    3. United
    4. Arsenal
    5. Spurs

Bale being kept at Spurs or else him going for these crazy prices being mentioned could bring Spurs closer to us, and same with Arsenal if they signed someone like Suarez.

Atm, I'd have Chelsea and City battling for the title, about a 7-10 point gap to us, and then about a 7 point gap back to Arsenal and Spurs battling for 4th. I'd put us top if we fixed the midfield problem, and miles top if we brought back Ronaldo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,338 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

MagicIRL wrote: »
    I think United are in with a very decent shout this year, despite the whole in midfield, purely because, in my opinion, after watching Lingard, Januzaj and Zaha in pre-season, I think the attacking options coming from midfield have greatly improved.

I agree.

For the PL we have a very good squad. The best imo.

I think we will be there abouts, but think it may be Chelseas turn. However to progress in Europe we need to buy CM or ideally 2.

EVENFLOW

United should win the league easily. No big losses to playing staff now that it looks like Rooney and Nani are staying. Chelsea's only significant signing is Mourinho and even he's not worth that much improvement for them to win the league. City will still struggle with the players they have though Navas offers something different that may stop them falling off this year. Arsenal would be my dark horses, if they can keep up the form they finished the season with they will be up there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭VW 1

Team v. Crewe.

BQXB8k9CEAA0U5B.jpg:medium

Pogba's older brother still plugging away at Crewe I see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,338 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Liam O wrote: »
    United should win the league easily. No big losses to playing staff now that it looks like Rooney and Nani are staying. Chelsea's only significant signing is Mourinho and even he's not worth that much improvement for them to win the league. City will still struggle with the players they have though Navas offers something different that may stop them falling off this year. Arsenal would be my dark horses, if they can keep up the form they finished the season with they will be up there.

wow. steady up there lad

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭F.J.

Times reporting United will bid £25m for Modric.

https://twitter.com/JoeTaylor84/status/361965949215207424/photo/1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

so far the consensus is that as it stands we wont win the league next year, yet on the other hand theres alot of people who think there is nothing wrong with how the club has acted in the transfer window so far.

really baffling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,902 ✭✭✭MagicIRL

I agree.

For the PL we have a very good squad. The best imo.

I think we will be there abouts, but think it may be Chelseas turn. However to progress in Europe we need to buy CM or ideally 2.

I agree with Europe. Playing with a four in front of the two CMs really helps to bridge the gap between the forwards and midfield. Now, if a creative midfielder can partner Carrick in their, God help the rest of the teams.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,832 ✭✭✭✭Blatter

F.J. wrote: »
    Times reporting United will bid £25m for Modric.

https://twitter.com/JoeTaylor84/status/361965949215207424/photo/1

James Ducker is decent I find.

Modric would be a brilliant alternative to Fabregas. Really not sure about his situation at Madrid though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,626 ✭✭✭double GG

Predictions:

1. Man UTD
    2. Chelsea
    3. Man City
    4. Arsenal

Anderson will have a top season along side Carrick and our new signing which will come.

RVP and Kagawa to light the whole place on fire.

Zaha to have a very good debut season and to win young player of the year.

De Gea to have an outstanding season again and be spains 2nd choice next WC.

Welbeck to score 10 PL goals.

Both Keanes, Janujaz and Lingard to have a good few appearances.

Blatter wrote: »

Modric would be a brilliant alternative to Fabregas. Really not sure about his situation at Madrid though.

i honestly dont rate modric, but i am hoping to be proved wrong on this one. the thing is, considering how allegidly these things take so long, will united have enough time to sign him?

what happens if madrid then reject and we end up with nothing again? i honestly hope that this time, if we go after him, we only do so if we are fully sure he will sign, if the fee is correct.

according to that article, we didnt go for him before as we were not sure of his ability, so why change this now? accepting second best due to first choices not happening?

If we got Modric along with more physical presence like Fellaini I be over the moon.

I would rather Fabregas, but would not complain.

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,822 ✭✭✭✭Paul Tergat

Both please :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,134 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

I think if we sign Fabregas or Modric we will win the league.

If we sign Fellaini, Chelsea will win the league.

There's one position in the team that needs to be filled by a world class player if we want to compete with Bayern and Barca.

MagicIRL wrote: »
    I agree with Europe. Playing with a four in front of the two CMs really helps to bridge the gap between the forwards and midfield. Now, if a creative midfielder can partner Carrick in their, God help the rest of the teams.

Yep bar CM we have a excellent team/squad.

I think bar CM positions and GK(at present) we have a team to match Bayern.

But dont strengthen the most important area of the pitch and we will be left behind. Again!

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,177 ✭✭✭TheTownie

With Ancelotti just starting he'll likely be hesitant to letting a player like Modric go.

Modric will think he has a chance under new management.

So in the end it will take a big bid to convince Madrid to sell. If Utd go low balling again I really hope they don't spend another 2 to 3 weeks finding out they don't want to meet Real's valuation.

Modric and Fellani would be excellent, but come on...do ye really expect this? im sorry lads, but we have been burned too many times before to expect united to spend £50million plus on 2 CM's.

at this stage, one is our lot and ive no idea who we can turn to at this stage apart from Fellani. would think that our ship has sailed with Modric also.

Modric and Fellani would be excellent, but come on...do ye really expect this? im sorry lads, but we have been burned too many times before to expect united to spend £50million plus on 2 CM's.

at this stage, one is our lot and ive no idea who we can turn to at this stage apart from Fellani. would think that our ship has sailed with Modric also.

What happened to not discussing transfers for the 13 days!? You didn't make the end of the first day!

I don't see Modric coming off, but again if we are going for him it is a positive sign. What else can we do but try to sign the top midfielders that are available? By all indications we tried for Thiago, have bid twice for Fab and are potentially interested in Modric. Who knows what else is going on behind the scenes that we aren't privy to. But what morecan be done/would you like to see done?

I still have nightmares that players like Roy Carroll and Liam miller played for us. Bellion too.

what would your worst 11 be, in your lifetime as a United fan?

for me it would be

Taibi

Fortune
    Blanc
    Prunier
    Richardson

Bebe
    Djemba X 2
    Obertan

Forlan
    Dong
    Bellion

i am sure theres some other players in there that i forgot.
    VW 1 wrote: »
    What happened to not discussing transfers for the 13 days!? You didn't make the end of the first day!

:o:o:o

tis very hard though it looks like people seem to be a bit less defensive and more realistic today which makes talking about it easier.

dont think ive slagged off the board or questioned our ambition since i said id not talk about it...i think :confused:

Oh deep down I know that. But if we want to be solid top 5 team in Europe thats what we need.

I know only too well im hoping against hope.

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,213 ✭✭✭ITT-Pat

for me it would be

Taibi

Fortune
    Blanc
    Prunier
    Richardson

Bebe
    Djemba X 2
    Obertan

Forlan
    Dong
    Bellion

Very harsh on Fortune!

And Forlan too, but I can see where you're coming from

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,822 ✭✭✭✭Paul Tergat

Harsh on Fortune there HJ

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 32,453 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

Stuart Holden only came back from an injury he picked up following the injury he got in a clash with Jonny Evans and he's already torn an ACL in his knee. The lad has no luck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,825 ✭✭✭Timmyctc

Mars Bar wrote: »
    Stuart Holden only came back from an injury he picked up following the injury he got in a clash with Jonny Evans and he's already torn an ACL in his knee. The lad has no luck.

Ah no. Are ye serious? Feel for the lad. Hes only young too isnt he.

for me it would be

Taibi

Fortune
    Blanc
    Prunier
    Richardson

Bebe
    Djemba X 2
    Obertan

Forlan
    Dong
    Bellion

:o:o:o

tis very hard though it looks like people seem to be a bit less defensive and more realistic today which makes talking about it easier.

dont think ive slagged off the board or questioned our ambition since i said id not talk about it...i think :confused:

I agree, it's impossible not to become caught up in it man, at the end of the day everyone wants to see world class players sign for us but i guess everyone reacts differently to how events unfold which is what makes the discussion around here so interesting at times.

I think a bit of realism is needed though, it's looking less likely as time goes on that we will capture one of the top targets and I think at this stage people will be happy with a signing that will improve our first 11 (as long as that player is a CM).

ITT-Pat wrote: »
    Very harsh on Fortune!

Forlan, is all things considered, one of the worst players to play consistenly for the club over a 2 or 3 year period.

he played almost 100 games i think and he was, for the vast majority of that, absolutely pityful.
    ITT-Pat wrote: »
    Very harsh on Fortune!
    Harsh on Fortune there HJ

ya. ye are probably right there, originally had Chris Casper in there, but took him out as he didnt play enough, though that was down to him being absolutley awful..

struggle to find a player to put at right back.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,996 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

so far the consensus is that as it stands we wont win the league next year, yet on the other hand theres alot of people who think there is nothing wrong with how the club has acted in the transfer window so far.

really baffling.

Is it really so hard to grasp that some people are waiting until the end of the transfer window to decide what labels to attach to it?

I'd be right beside anyone who says our CM needs some major money spent on it, and that if come the end of the window we've signed no one, it is a disaster. But some people aren't panicking because there's still quite a bit of time left, and Moyes is making all the right moves towards addressing that issue, something Fergie hasn't done in years. In terms of actually trying to deal with our main weakness, this has been the most productive transfer window in quite some time, and I'm fairly confident we'll be getting someone before the window ends. But even in his very first presser, Moyes said it could take time, and I believe that to get the world class player we need, there's going to be weeks and months of negotiations. Thats part and parcel of getting world class talent.

Do I want someone to come in? Yes. Will I be angry if it doesn't happen? Very much so. BUT some people don't feel the need to cry the sky is falling, and can look at the directions we're heading in positively.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 32,453 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

Timmyctc wrote: »
    Ah no. Are ye serious? Feel for the lad. Hes only young too isnt he.

Yeah it happened against Panama. He's only 27. He really could have brought the U.S national team to another level. He's a great player.

Forlan, is all things considered, one of the worst players to play consistenly for the club over a 2 or 3 year period.

he played almost 100 games i think and he was, for the vast majority of that, absolutely pityful.

ya. ye are probably right there, originally had Chris Casper in there, but took him out as he didnt play enough, though that was down to him being absolutley awful..

struggle to find a player to put at right back.

DeLaet foun himself thrown in to the first team at times when he was originally only intended to be a signing to plug a gap in reserves. Did he feature at RB or LB?