Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Killarney Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 423 ✭✭madrabui

xxyyzz wrote: »
    And tearing a chunk out of a mountainbiker's calf recently above Torc. :rolleyes:

Is mountain biking allowed up Torc?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,173 ✭✭✭xxyyzz

madrabui wrote: »

Is mountain biking allowed up Torc?
    The trails over torc are ok. Not allowed on the old kenmare road though.

• Registered Users Posts: 423 ✭✭madrabui

xxyyzz wrote: »
    The trails over torc are ok. Not allowed on the old kenmare road though.

I never knew that. Thanks!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,173 ✭✭✭xxyyzz

madrabui wrote: »

I never knew that. Thanks!
    Killarney cycling club run beginner mtb spins from the flesk bridge every Saturday morning @ 10.30 if anyone is interested. Byob.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,939 ✭✭✭goat2

i am sitting here watching the game between dr crokes and dingle, what a game, edge of your seat stuff,

they will be celebrating in killarney tonight.

good luck to all

• Registered Users Posts: 579 ✭✭✭chalkie 501

goat2 wrote: »
    i am sitting here watching the game between dr crokes and dingle, what a game, edge of your seat stuff,

they will be celebrating in killarney tonight.

good luck to all

Just back from it,Crokes are different class in fairness
    Spa were robbed in the Intermediate game,finuge were awarded a point that was clearly wide,
    town will be nuts tonight alright i reckon:p

Axel Lamp wrote: »
    1)Yes of course
    2) In theory yes. At the moment it's the Deer Rutting season so I would advise to keep your dog on a leash for his and the safety of the deer (they can be a bit tempermental this time of the year)

In practice yes. They have had signs there for a few years now on the gate above Torc showing what can and can't be done in the NP, and dogs must be on leads. Not that it stops the large number of people who think their dog is some special case and the rules should not apply because their dear pooch has some understanding with deer.

• Registered Users Posts: 315 ✭✭travelledpengy

Anyone know of any places hiring staff for the Christmas season?

• Registered Users Posts: 579 ✭✭✭chalkie 501

Havnt heard,but Argos usually take on a few

Argos took on their staff at the start of last month.. I missed out!!

• Registered Users Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

Just saw a sign on the front-door of Dunnes on New Street this evening that they are hiring for the Christmas period.

kerry4sam wrote: »
    Just saw a sign on the front-door of Dunnes on New Street this evening that they are hiring for the Christmas period.

Great thanks, I'll pop in tomorrow!

Many Congratulations to all involved!
    The Ballyspillane estate have won the Estate Category at the 32 county Pride of Place Awards in Thomond Park in Limerick last night. Over 900 people attended the awards which saw Rathmore take the runners up spot in the previous winners category. Sean Chairde Active Retired Group and Beaufort were also nominated to represent the county on the night. All Kerry representatives were nominated through the Kerry Community Awards. Mayor of Kerry Cllr Terry O’Brien congratulated Ballyspillane and all nominees, pointing to the strong community spirit necessary to be nominated in such a keenly contested awards ceremony.

from radiokerry.ie

• Registered Users Posts: 2,492 ✭✭✭trotter_inc

Anyone recommend any pubs in Killarney for folks in their 30s? Heading down this weekend.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭Prop Joe

Anyone recommend any pubs in Killarney for folks in their 30s? Heading down this weekend.

O'Connor's on Main Street always good craic Live Music every night

the-oconnors-outside-oconnors-killarney-o-briens-bridge.jpg

Murphy's College Street good spot aswell

Murphys-of-Killarney---Exterior---gas07751.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 525 ✭✭✭Halo Kitty

Courtney Bar in Plunkett, and Scotts Hotel and the Failte Bar in College Street, Late Bars are Mc Sorleys,in College street, The Grand Hotel, Main Street, and the Tatler Bar in Plunkett Street, Also Scruffy's in College Street. Don't know what is on in the INEC / Gleneagle.
    Above all enjoy the weekend..

A few people have got in touch with me about some localised flooding in varying places around Killarney, but I am sure it is very possibly elsewhere also though.

Please just exercise due care and caution if taking to the roads.

• Registered Users Posts: 477 ✭✭ciaeim

huge huge funeral in killarney yesterday evening anyone know who it was ?

ciaeim wrote: »
    huge huge funeral in killarney yesterday evening anyone know who it was ?

Kathleen O’Donoghue, Ath Solus and formerly of Rockfield, Faha, Killarney. May she Rest In Peace.

407756_484401008258750_505934461_n.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 469 ✭✭Janedoe10

Do any of ye know when the Christmas fair thing is on at the malton ? Last year it was a Sunday .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 748 ✭✭✭Axel Lamp

Janedoe10 wrote: »
    Do any of ye know when the Christmas fair thing is on at the malton ? Last year it was a Sunday .

Tomorrow

http://www.christmasinkillarney.com/events.php?item=20&full=y&date=1353844800

When did they place the second speed-ramp on Countess and the place the speed-ramp on Mill Road also does anyone know?

None as yet for Woodlawn eventhough they have been looking for at least one with years now.

Great thanks, I'll pop in tomorrow!

Hope you had luck with this?! :)

Yes! Thanks for the tip I owe you a weeks wages ;)

Aww Congrats travelledpengy :)

oh! Welcome to Killarney all those here for the Killarney Historic Stages Rally 2012 :)

Safe Driving out there everyone & Hope you all have fun!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭stop animal cruelty

anyone know if the ice rink will be in killarney this year? :D

afaik it won't be due to budget constraints but Killarney will have a skating-pond this year though, as of last Friday*.

* info direct from Tourist Office

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭stop animal cruelty

afaik it won't be due to budget constraints but Killarney will have a skating-pond this year though, as of last Friday*.

* info direct from Tourist Office

a skating pond? its not what l think it is, is it:confused: