Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gyno visit

• 04-07-2010 8:39pm
    Registered Users Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

My girlfriend is going in for her first gyno visit ever in a few days time. She's a bit nervous of course, but here is probably the shocker.. Im in pieces over it. Iv never been so anxious over something in my life.
    My girlfriend is only 18 years old and besides her Mother, Im the only one that has ever seen what's in her underwear.
    Im thinking this is just a protective kind of issue? Shes a good looking girl, so she gets the odd look from lads when we're out, that I can handle.. but, knowing that a complete stranger is going to be prodding around down there on her is making me feel like Im going to vomit.

Can anyone tell me exactly what your first gyno visit entails? so I know whats going to go on?

and just as a PS. I think its fúckin creepy that a grown man can decide someday that he wants to specialise in vaginas and the like.. queer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 595 ✭✭✭George Orwell 1982

My girlfriend is going in for her first gyno visit ever in a few days time. She's a bit nervous of course, but here is probably the shocker.. Im in pieces over it. Iv never been so anxious over something in my life.
    My girlfriend is only 18 years old and besides her Mother, Im the only one that has ever seen what's in her underwear.
    Im thinking this is just a protective kind of issue? Shes a good looking girl, so she gets the odd look from lads when we're out, that I can handle.. but, knowing that a complete stranger is going to be prodding around down there on her is making me feel like Im going to vomit.

Can anyone tell me exactly what your first gyno visit entails? so I know whats going to go on?

and just as a PS. I think its fúckin creepy that a grown man can decide someday that he wants to specialise in vaginas and the like.. queer.

Get over this issue quickly. It is a non-issue.

The doctor will be totally detached in making his examination. He will see many women each day, young and old, and will be completely de-sensitised and removed from what he is seeing.

There is nothing queer about a man specialising in gynacology. Its a perfectly honourable profession.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 392 ✭✭Denimgirl

How do you know the doctor is not a woman? a lot of woman opt for woman when they go for these things, well i do anyway! I would'nt feel comfortable at all with a man doing it!even though he's a professional.and it's silly to think a man is gay coz he is a gyno!don't be ridiculous!

• Registered Users Posts: 850 ✭✭✭ordinary_girl

I agree with what the previous poster said, this is a non-issue. The gyno could be a woman, could be a man. Either way, it doesn't matter. Going to visit her gyno is completely necessary and if there's something wrong 'down there' wouldn't you be glad it was found, regardless of the gyno she saw?

Think of how much worse it'll be for her! And I don't think you need to know what's "going on" during a gyno visit, just rest assured it's a medical necessity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,485 ✭✭✭✭Ickle Magoo

You do realise how ridiculous you sound, don't you? It's okay for you to know what's in her knickers but a medical professional who has nothing but an interest in her welfare is a complete perv and queer? You're in pieces, huh? Do you really think doctors get off on gynae exams, or breast exams, or perhaps when delivering babies? For goodness sakes, how old are you?

Have a look at a few ovarian and uterine cancer websites and see if you think your misguided pride is even relevant here, I really hope you haven't said anything to your girlfriend that could put her off attending. Rather than requiring a run-down on what a gynae exam entails, I think you need to sort out your own insecurities. It's a medical check, it's for the benefit of your girlfriends health. It's no different to going to see an oncologist or pedologist or whatever other speciality, it's nothing dirty or rude or sexual or whatever other archaic idea you have in your head just because it involves the genitalia.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,519 ✭✭✭✭dudara

Firstly, it's good that she is starting to take care of her reproductive health at a young age.

Secondly, call yourself aside and tell yourself to cop on. She is going to see a doctor - not some lad on the street. Doctors are professionals who do their jobs with impartiality and detachment. The doctor will literally see tens of vaginas a day - much more than you will ever see. Any novelty involved has worn off a long time ago for the doctor.

How old are you? Without meaning to sound rude, you are coming across as immature. Take some time to consider how you feel about all this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭Miss Fluff

And I suppose that makes a female urologist who looks at penises equally "creepy" and "queer". You mark my words if there is some gynaeological issue with your gf or your sisters or your mother, you will be damn glad and damn grateful of all the hard work that gynaecologists and every other medical professional does to be able to help people and cure people the way they do.

Shame on you.

And on a side note, you could seriously do with growing up....with an attitude like that I'm not sure you have the sense or maturity to be in a relationship in the first place. I take it you're about 14?

• Registered Users Posts: 230 ✭✭lilminx

OP I agree with all the posters on this one. It's a medical exam, frankly uncomfortable but very necessary - All women need to have smear tests frequently as a means of early detection of cervical cancer, and the fact that your girlfriend is taking care of her reproductive health should be commended and supported, I hope to goodness you haven't shared your 'concerns' with her.

• Registered Users Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

OP, I think a bit of maturity could be called for here!! And if it's a smear test she's getting done, they're usually done by nurses. It's absolutely nothing they haven't seen before, and to be honest it's nothing to do with you.

Go and have a look around the web and see all the things that can be detected by gyno visits. Also note that apparently, men are the reason why women have to have smear tests - they don't do smears on anyone who hasn't had sex (ie nuns/virgins) because....men "cause" the cancers detected by smears (simplified explanation).

Think long and hard before you go around talking like this OP, because you could be the cause of something detected by the gyno you seem to have such a problem with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,308 ✭✭✭Hersheys

My first trip to the gynae he didn't do an internal.

Frankly if you see yourself having a future with this girl you need to get over it. S/he's a medical professional there to help your gf with whatever issues she's having. Also, it will be the first of many exams - regular smear tests, gynae visits, and baby doctors - get used to the idea, the gynae ain't gonna be pervin' on your woman!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 62 ✭✭Ms_Taurus

Do not mention this to your girl friend and try to get over it as it will ruin your relationship

I went to my gp with my boyfriend at the time, the gp was male & I had to get undressed down to my underware I was wearing a see through lace bra, my boyfriend took an issue over it, why I don't know as he was not the only one to see me undressed, I just got sick of his attitude & we split up over it

op it's a medical exam you need to mature, what if your girlfriend wore a bikini on holidays would you behave the same

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭sam34

Ms_Taurus wrote: »
    Do not mention this to your girl friend and try to get over it as it will ruin your relationship

actually, i think the girlfriend should know, so she can decide whether she wants to conyinue seeing someone so jealous, controlling and possessive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭fakeaccent

You do not sound mature enough to be in an adult relationship. What happens in your gf's procedure is between her and her doctor. If she wants to share that with you that's her prerogative. This is a regular and normal part of being a sexually active woman, and I'm sure gynecologists wouldn't appreciate being called 'queer' for looking after their patients' welfare.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,723 ✭✭✭Cheap Thrills!

Listen OP, you may think what's in your GF's knickers is really special but to the Gynae it's just another body of 20/30 or 50 she or he will see that day.

Medical professionals have far more important things on their minds than whether patients are attractive or not. And to be honest, its not the most attractive part of the body now is it. So relax.

Being a gynacologist is about everything to do with reproduction, including birth, pregnancy, disease etc so believe me any heterosexual man going into it for kicks would find himself confronted by a lot of raw human ugliness. STD's, smelly people, people soiling themselves during birth....yada, yada...do you get the picture? It's not a parade of playboy bunnies all day long.

Grow up, your girlfriend sounds like a sensible young woman, let her look after her health in peace and get a bottle of cop on lad !

• Registered Users Posts: 33,305 ✭✭✭✭Penn

Agree with everyone here. What's your problem? Firstly, the gyno might be female. Secondly, even if it is a male, what of it? You think he's going to get aroused in the middle of a standard medical procedure? One which he might do dozens of times every day?

You seriously need to wake up. If you're 18 like your girlfriend, I'm assuming that every little bit of cleavage excites you. Most people aren't like that, especially medical professionals. Grow up and support your girlfriend through this procedure. You don't need to know what the procedure entails, the doctor does

• Registered Users Posts: 6,645 ✭✭✭IzzyWizzy

Ms_Taurus wrote: »

I went to my gp with my boyfriend at the time, the gp was male & I had to get undressed down to my underware I was wearing a see through lace bra, my boyfriend took an issue over it, why I don't know as he was not the only one to see me undressed, I just got sick of his attitude & we split up over it

op it's a medical exam you need to mature, what if your girlfriend wore a bikini on holidays would you behave the same

That's downright pathetic! It never occurred to me that someone would have a problem with their partner seeing a gyno. It's in a medical setting, for God's sake, how sexy can you be in a gown with your feet up in stirrups. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 10,658 ✭✭✭✭The Sweeper

As a flip side to this (in case the OP isn't harbouring feelings of sexual jealousy), a gynaecological exam is not a sexual assault. The medical practitioner should be extremely professional and these days, most of them have a halfway decent bedside manner and will do their best to put you at your ease. If there is an internal examination, it is over and done with quickly.

It's hardly 'fun', but it is important to be responsible about your sexual health, especially if you're sexually active.

So your girlfriend won't be at the mercy of some unscrupulous practitioner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,556 ✭✭✭the_monkey

COP ON .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,376 ✭✭✭metrovelvet

I don't even know where to start.

• Administrators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,947 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Neyite

what goes on in the gynae exam:

the medical professional - doctor or nurse depending on the type of consult, for their part, are professional in the extreme, they ensure that the patient is comfortable at all times, explaining the procedure, so there are no surprises, and there is generally a female nurse/chaperone offered if the patient wishes.

the girl is usually very self conscious, probably embarrassed, and hoping that any intimate exam is over quickly. it usually is. the majority of the consult is where the patient is dressed, and discussing the relevant medical issue with the doctor.

there is no 'exactly' to the exam -it varies depending on what the complaint is.

as for implying that there is something seedy/sexual about the exam - if any boyfriend had ever had the stupidity to say this to me, he would probably be an ex before long. i hope your girlfriend is smart enough to put her sexual health before a boyfriend.

why not book in for an STD /urologist exam yourself and see how 'sexy' that is - it might give you some perspective on what your girlfriend will experience in her exam.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,788 ✭✭✭ztoical

Is this a wind up?

Your girlfriend is 18 and going for gyno visit....seeing as free smear tests are only offered to those over 25 and you imply she's going to a specialist in OBGYN and not just her GP I have to say I smell a troll either that or her GP has referred her meaning there's an issue that needs to be checked.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,411 ✭✭✭ABajaninCork

If the gynae's male, then he'll usually have a (female) chaperone anyway...

If he doesn't, then your GF can ask for one to be present. Mind you, I would say it's for her own comfort rather than yours. You can fend for yourself!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,485 ✭✭✭✭Ickle Magoo

Stanley666, please don't bump threads that are three months old to have a rant about the medical profession or insult other posters in this forum.

If you haven't already done so, please take the time to read the [URL=" http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056181484"]forum rules[/URL] in the charter.

Many thanks.