Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

John O'Donavan from Cork

• 25-01-2013 1:14am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 36

Why is he on the radio all the time?

• Registered Users Posts: 12,309 ✭✭✭✭Bard

As a former producer of a couple of different talk shows that he has appeared on as a caller, I can tell you he's not the only one.

Some people either have little else or little better to be doing (possibly not working) - or they have an opinion on everything and just get a kick out of appearing on radio to share it.

In fairness to John, he's harmless and usually has something valid to say which is relevant to the topic at hand. You're right though... he does appear on air a LOT!

• Registered Users Posts: 736 ✭✭✭Big Tone

I think it's worth saying here that certain radio stations regularly call up guys like John, outline what the topic is to be discussed, ask them if they'll go on air and agree to give their opinions..it happens..a lot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,758 ✭✭✭Temaz

I can't stand him! He's always on 96fm and Redfm here in Cork, I've heard him on
    Joe Duffy and Niall Boylan as well.

He was challenged one day about being on the radio non stop and was asked
    did he have a job, he hesitated for a second and said he was a painter/decorator.

I switch off when I hear him on the radio recently. Overkill.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

I reckon he's got his own personal line to the Neil Prendeville Show.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,758 ✭✭✭Temaz

He was just on Niall Boylan, go away John!!

• Registered Users Posts: 25 tapit54

He does my head in!!

You will never guess who's on with Prendeville as we speak? lol!
    Turn-off time methinks! lol

You will never guess who's on with Niall Boylan just now, talking about just one of the things that he's an expert in...legalising drugs! lol

• Registered Users Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Between him and Coogan and their personal politics I would love to bang their heads together :)

• Registered Users Posts: 43,027 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

The was an aul one from Dublin called Bernie who used to be on FM104 and Gerry Ryan all the time

• Registered Users Posts: 3,984 ✭✭✭mikeym

He should have his own twitter page or blog.

I remember Victor Barry getting cranky with him one morning about gay couples adopting kids.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

"You see it is like this *pause* "
    I've heard him on various 4fm shows and Liveline

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 MOONBABY240

I think yer man aubrey has overtaken John as the most frequent liveline caller this year

Waffling again on 4fm
    "It's like this.."

• Registered Users Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

Lads, This thread reminds me of the Mary O'Rourke Watch thread :D

Ye should think about changing the title of this thread to John O'Donovan Watch :pac:

"You see it's like this.."
    Just now on 4FM waffling about er something

• Registered Users Posts: 10,704 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

snubbleste wrote: »
    "You see it's like this.."
    Just now on 4FM waffling about er something
    FFS.

He was on again on the late night phone in, bluffing about the abortion legislation.

"Right"

• Registered Users Posts: 5,362 ✭✭✭ofcork

He was on with neil on 96fm this week and was taking part in a protest in a bank.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,362 ✭✭✭ofcork

Thats a different guy i believe.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭BobbyPropane

ofcork wrote: »
    Thats a different guy i believe.

Ah ok

You see it is like this..
    Now giving expert opinion on rape, sex & contraception on 4fm

• Registered Users Posts: 4,425 ✭✭✭telekon

snubbleste wrote: »
    You see it is like this..
    Now giving expert opinion on rape, sex & contraception on 4fm

Unbelievable, he was only on Neil Prendeville this morning. Imagine getting stuck beside him on a flight to Australia....

"....and I tell you another thing, right..."

:mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 39,559 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

The John drinking game. Take a drink every time he says "right." it would be a short game.

On Neil Prendeville (again) at the moment. Saying some lad won't get elected in the locals next year and generally slagging him off.

The fella comes on the air and says to john to put himself up for election and all hell breaks lose. Going on now how he's a "loud mouth wind bag, lol.

The texts are giving out about him always being on the air on 4fm and Joe Duffy.

Give it up john, everyone is sick to death of you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

The was an aul one from Dublin called Bernie who used to be on FM104 and Gerry Ryan all the time

I remember her. She had some very old-fashioned opinions, a very strong Dublin accent, and the sort of voice that would make Marian Finucane sound like Kate Bush.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

John's on Liveline now!

• Registered Users Posts: 8,741 ✭✭✭withless

Hopefully, 'the powers that be' will turn their attention to this mouthpiece for 'theplainpeopleofIreland'.

• Registered Users Posts: 2 spillers

heard Des cahill rambling on yesterday on 96fm about erecting a statue to Ronan O Gara and Peter Stringer for their contribution to cork blah blah
    No way!!!
    a bronze statue to the curtain peeper "john o Donovan"!--no that would be more beneficial to cork....

On Neil Prendeville at the moment. Going on how Regina Doherty should suck it up as he gets abuse going down Patrick Street on a daily basis and takes it on the chin...

Yeah, except you deserve the abuse you boring windbag.

You see it's like this
    It's like this
    Waffling on about various subjects on 4fm nightly show this week

I'm pretty sure they call him at this stage to fill airtime